Burt's Bees • Deep Cleansing Cream with Soap Bark and Chamomile • Cleansers

rated 3.5(265 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Mssugaree423 on 4/14/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Mssugaree423

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product did not remove my makeup. I needed to add an extra step in my routine to remove the makeup this would not. My makeup was not waterproof and easily comes off with other cleansers. Also, this product contained menthol, which is a strong irritant. It doesn't work against everyone, but for me it did. My mild acne worsened with use. I used this product for one and a half months.

However, I liked that this product did not make my sensitive skin feel dry, tight, or tingly after use, except for the harsh luster of the menthol that made my skin feel like peppermint for about five minutes. It also had a pleasant, fresh aroma.

Overall, this was a nice gentle cleanser, but with the alcohol and menthol, was not quite gentle enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katiemuffin on 3/23/2014 3:35:00 AM more reviews by katiemuffin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me start by saying I very rarely write reviews on here. To be honest, I just can't be bothered unless I feel really really strongly (one way or another) about a product... and I am absolutely in LOVE with this cleanser. I'm not sure whether it's the non-synthetic nature of the product or what, but it has worked wonders on my dry, acne-prone skin! I cannot rave about this stuff enough.
I heard about this product on youtube and thought it was worth a shot seeing as my skin seemed to be in a perpetual state of dull, mild break out. And dry. So, so dry. I was super happy to find that it was on sale at target when I went to go pick it up on tuesday. I used it that night and it was really unlike anything I had tried on my skin before. It smells sort of minty but sweet- not an offensive smell at all. Although it does remove makeup, I would still suggest removing your makeup prior to using the burts bees. Anyway, I wet my face, squeezed a good dollop of the cleansing cream onto my hand, and began applying it to my face. It does definitely tingle on the skin, but it is not irritating and I have sensitive skin. The only thing I can liken it to is medicated lip balm. Both products contain menthol which I find to be very soothing. My advice with this product is to apply a fairly thick layer all over the skin and spend a decent amount of time working it into your face, then rinse. When I did this, my skin felt instantly rejuvenated. It left my face clean as a whistle without feeling the slightest bit tight, and brightened and moisturized without leaving a residue. I applied my simple brand toner and my josie maran argan infinity oil and went to bed.
In the morning when I woke up my acne was almost GONE. The bumps were shrunken down so that they were barely even visible. I was absolutely amazed. It's saturday now, and i've been using this product morning and night since tuesday. My acne is basically cleared up except for a little bit of scarring, and I would barely even call my skin dry anymore. If you're dry and acne prone and things with salicylic acid make your skin horrible, buy this product. I just went back and purchased 3 more bottles today because I don't foresee myself ever turning to another facial cleanser again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arielleem on 2/17/2014 12:57:00 PM more reviews by arielleem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I adore this face wash. I use in the mornings and it leaves my face feeling tingly clean! I love feeling products working and this one you can see and feel the difference. It leaves my skin smooth and soft and it smells fresh. I wouldn't recommend using more than once a day for it is a very extreme clean feeling but I just love it and will continue to use it forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tia347 on 2/2/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by tia347

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this face cleanser. I bought it for my dry winter skin, and its just too thick for me. I have oily skin that gets dry every now and then, I thought this would be soothing but it broke me out and I just didnt feel clean after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 1/27/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My usually oily, acne-prone skin has finally met its match with this winter's harsh conditions. (Tomorrow is supposed to be -21F plus a 20 mile an hour wind causing near-blizzard conditions, and its been like this on and off for weeks). I now have dry still-acne prone skin, which, I have found, even more difficult to deal with. Usually, I have a cleanser that works great to dry up oil and kill acne, and I'm all good, for the most part. But now, my cleanser is killing my healthy skin badly, plus I'm still breaking out ocassionally. So I have been looking for a gentle cleanser, with a smidge of moisturize, that won't give me extra acne. This product has worked so-so. In its favor, it does not make my newly-found dry skin worse. It does seem to cleanse gently with jusy a little moisture. My skin feels relatively soft after. It doesn't seem to be making my acne worse. It has a very thick consistency, which I basically just mush around on my wet face and then rinse. I don't notice any tingling sensation at all, or really any fragrance either (it has one, but it's really, really faint). My concern is, that it kind of feels like the "softness" it leaves behind might actually be some kind of residue or pore-clogging layer. It just doesn't feel like it has rinsed clean and that makes me nervous. I bought this also because of its natural ingredients, which I also hoped would help ensure I would not break out. I will keep using this only intermmitantly until I can find another gentle cleanser with natural ingredients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MiMiHere on 1/21/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by MiMiHere

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Don't use this around your eyes because this lathers up and creates a tangle-ly feeling. I like Burt's Bee for its natural ingredients and great results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leahmarie365 on 1/14/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by leahmarie365

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The first time I used this product, I was in love with it! I gave me fresh, clean skin and it left my face feeling tingly (the menthol) and soft. But soon after a few days it made my skin irritated and red. I found my normally oily, acne prone skin doesn't like harsher products and I think it was the menthol that pushed it over the edge. My skin became dry and itchy and got very red. I was sad that it didn't work, because I love the company, but it just didn't work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LaOreja on 11/28/2013 5:26:00 AM more reviews by LaOreja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product regularly for about 6 months, I really liked it, it left my skin feeling soft and tingly and fresh. The reason I have only given it 2 however is due to the fact it gave me spots around my jawline. My skin is fairly dry and does not break out easily but i think the fact It is quite difficult to rinse properly and leaves a slight residue even after washing well caused this. I didn't realise the spots were being caused by this product at first but I stopped using it for a few days and the spots immediately started to clear. As soon as I began using it again the spots reappeared. It's a shame as I did like this face wash, especially as it is made from natural ingredients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crazyartfreak on 11/20/2013 12:06:00 PM more reviews by crazyartfreak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've bought this at Walmart five months ago and have been using the cleanser along with Cetaphil. With my acne-prone, sensitive skin it's hard to find a product that causes no irritation. I don't use this much anymore because when I went to my dermatologist the other day, she said that my face broke out into a big rash. My skin felt extremely dry and there were areas that was peeling. I think I'm allergic to the ingredients (possibly witch hazel or cetearyl alcohol) but I do like the fact that Burt's Bees is a fairly reliable source for natural products.

I was a bit skeptical of the "tingling" sensation afterwards, and I even bought a silk facial mitt from a health food store to try to rub off the product better. No matter how much time I spend rinsing my face, there's a slight film of the cleanser left on my skin. I don't know why, but that part bugs me.

I'm not entirely sure if I should search for another brand products, but since my brother hasn't had many issues with his BB items (he also has sensitive skin), I may stick it out and then see what else could help me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnikaLynn on 11/1/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by AnnikaLynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff! Usually cleansing cremes like this are torture on my skin but, this doesn't irritate my skin at all. I love he cool feeling that it gives after I rinse it off as well and it makes my skin fell very soft. I typically use this a night ater removing my makeup or whenever I feel that my skin needs more of a deep clean than what my Cetaphil can gives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Cleansers products