Burt's Bees • Deep Cleansing Cream with Soap Bark and Chamomile • Cleansers

rated 3.5(268 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 janeen83 on 7/12/2014 11:03:00 AM more reviews by janeen83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I initially liked the product because I like that clean and fresh, almost tingly feeling it gives your face. But after a few months of use it just doesn't clean my face well. I feel as if I have to wash my face at least 3 times to get everything off my face -makeup, oil, sunscreen etc.
I put 2 lipsticks for the packaging because mold grows around the cap. This didn't just happen to mine but my sister's one as well.
Overall, it o.k.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itiselizabeth on 6/23/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by itiselizabeth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG cleanser. I'm on my fourth tube so I feel it's safe to finally write a review for it. I have used this for the past year and a half on and off but I always return back to this. Even though it's a deep cleansing cream, it's still gentle enough to use daily (morning and evening if you want). I think it's great for all skin types. When my skin is drier in the winter, this cleanser doesn't dry me out or leave my face feeling tight. I have always had blackheads on my nose and this didn't completely get rid of them but it has reduced the size of them. I tried the oil cleansing method (OCM) recently, looking to completely get rid of my blackheads but instead they've gotten larger, and on top of that my face broke out horribly with pimples and whiteheads all over. I went back to using this along with Dickinson's Witch Hazel and my skin has been greatly improving. :) This has never failed me and has proven to work great and yet be gentle enough to use in EVERY issue that arises with my skin (dry winter skin, oily summer skin, pimples, whiteheads, and blackheads). When I first started using this cleanser, I had this very intense tingly feeling (not painful or unpleasant) and then when I rinsed my face, it felt like I had washed it in the fountain of youth then dunked it in the snow haha! I guess my skin has gotten used to this product because it no longer feels like that when I use it.:( Oh well. It also has a really nice smell to it. I'd recommend giving it a try!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deciduousforest on 6/1/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by deciduousforest

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This works well for me. I have sensitive, easily irritated skin and this leaves it clean without being drying. Takes off MU and sunscreen well and makes my skin feel refreshed. Con-- It does have a slight methol smell and can tingle if I use too much. So I just use a small amount and rub it in well, then rinse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wenyuzhang88 on 4/29/2014 3:23:00 AM more reviews by wenyuzhang88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I take my skincare routine very very seriously, and this is one of my favorite everyday products.

I don't really use this to remove makeup, at least, not by itself. Usually, I will have wiped off excess eye/lip makeup with a cotton sheet soaked in Missha's oil cleanser before. I use this cleanser in conjunction with my Clarisonic and it always makes my skin feel so lovely and fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mssugaree423 on 4/14/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Mssugaree423

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product did not remove my makeup. I needed to add an extra step in my routine to remove the makeup this would not. My makeup was not waterproof and easily comes off with other cleansers. Also, this product contained menthol, which is a strong irritant. It doesn't work against everyone, but for me it did. My mild acne worsened with use. I used this product for one and a half months.

However, I liked that this product did not make my sensitive skin feel dry, tight, or tingly after use, except for the harsh luster of the menthol that made my skin feel like peppermint for about five minutes. It also had a pleasant, fresh aroma.

Overall, this was a nice gentle cleanser, but with the alcohol and menthol, was not quite gentle enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katiemuffin on 3/23/2014 3:35:00 AM more reviews by katiemuffin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me start by saying I very rarely write reviews on here. To be honest, I just can't be bothered unless I feel really really strongly (one way or another) about a product... and I am absolutely in LOVE with this cleanser. I'm not sure whether it's the non-synthetic nature of the product or what, but it has worked wonders on my dry, acne-prone skin! I cannot rave about this stuff enough.
I heard about this product on youtube and thought it was worth a shot seeing as my skin seemed to be in a perpetual state of dull, mild break out. And dry. So, so dry. I was super happy to find that it was on sale at target when I went to go pick it up on tuesday. I used it that night and it was really unlike anything I had tried on my skin before. It smells sort of minty but sweet- not an offensive smell at all. Although it does remove makeup, I would still suggest removing your makeup prior to using the burts bees. Anyway, I wet my face, squeezed a good dollop of the cleansing cream onto my hand, and began applying it to my face. It does definitely tingle on the skin, but it is not irritating and I have sensitive skin. The only thing I can liken it to is medicated lip balm. Both products contain menthol which I find to be very soothing. My advice with this product is to apply a fairly thick layer all over the skin and spend a decent amount of time working it into your face, then rinse. When I did this, my skin felt instantly rejuvenated. It left my face clean as a whistle without feeling the slightest bit tight, and brightened and moisturized without leaving a residue. I applied my simple brand toner and my josie maran argan infinity oil and went to bed.
In the morning when I woke up my acne was almost GONE. The bumps were shrunken down so that they were barely even visible. I was absolutely amazed. It's saturday now, and i've been using this product morning and night since tuesday. My acne is basically cleared up except for a little bit of scarring, and I would barely even call my skin dry anymore. If you're dry and acne prone and things with salicylic acid make your skin horrible, buy this product. I just went back and purchased 3 more bottles today because I don't foresee myself ever turning to another facial cleanser again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arielleem on 2/17/2014 12:57:00 PM more reviews by arielleem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I adore this face wash. I use in the mornings and it leaves my face feeling tingly clean! I love feeling products working and this one you can see and feel the difference. It leaves my skin smooth and soft and it smells fresh. I wouldn't recommend using more than once a day for it is a very extreme clean feeling but I just love it and will continue to use it forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tia347 on 2/2/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by tia347

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this face cleanser. I bought it for my dry winter skin, and its just too thick for me. I have oily skin that gets dry every now and then, I thought this would be soothing but it broke me out and I just didnt feel clean after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 1/27/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My usually oily, acne-prone skin has finally met its match with this winter's harsh conditions. (Tomorrow is supposed to be -21F plus a 20 mile an hour wind causing near-blizzard conditions, and its been like this on and off for weeks). I now have dry still-acne prone skin, which, I have found, even more difficult to deal with. Usually, I have a cleanser that works great to dry up oil and kill acne, and I'm all good, for the most part. But now, my cleanser is killing my healthy skin badly, plus I'm still breaking out ocassionally. So I have been looking for a gentle cleanser, with a smidge of moisturize, that won't give me extra acne. This product has worked so-so. In its favor, it does not make my newly-found dry skin worse. It does seem to cleanse gently with jusy a little moisture. My skin feels relatively soft after. It doesn't seem to be making my acne worse. It has a very thick consistency, which I basically just mush around on my wet face and then rinse. I don't notice any tingling sensation at all, or really any fragrance either (it has one, but it's really, really faint). My concern is, that it kind of feels like the "softness" it leaves behind might actually be some kind of residue or pore-clogging layer. It just doesn't feel like it has rinsed clean and that makes me nervous. I bought this also because of its natural ingredients, which I also hoped would help ensure I would not break out. I will keep using this only intermmitantly until I can find another gentle cleanser with natural ingredients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leahmarie365 on 1/14/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by leahmarie365

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The first time I used this product, I was in love with it! I gave me fresh, clean skin and it left my face feeling tingly (the menthol) and soft. But soon after a few days it made my skin irritated and red. I found my normally oily, acne prone skin doesn't like harsher products and I think it was the menthol that pushed it over the edge. My skin became dry and itchy and got very red. I was sad that it didn't work, because I love the company, but it just didn't work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Cleansers products