Cover FX • Cover Fx Skin Prep Fx • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 blush1989 on 7/9/2012 7:39:00 AM more reviews by blush1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Although I really dislike cover fx's makeup, I really like this primer. It makes my skin feel so soft, smooth, and makes my complexion look very healthy. Helps makeup blend smoothly. A little goes a long way.

Sometimes I use this as a moisturizer overnight as well if my skin is especially dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shourek on 3/25/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by Shourek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I only started using this product because of the Cover FX foundation, which only works properly with products from its own line.
I do not have wrinkles, and I used this primer in the past when I had acne prone skin, and now I just have "normal" or "dermatologically regularized" skin, and I honestly believe this could work for anyone, since none of the ingredients can cause a reaction unless you are allergic to them of course.
Let me say this first: This is the only product I have ever come accross that actually does what it says.
Moisturizes your skin? Check.
Regularizes skin texture? Check.
Preps skin to extend wear? Check.
Helps blend foundation? Check.
The only thing I can't really "check" is the anti aging claims, but even on the bottle it has "anti-aging" in quotation marks.
It is expensive, but the bottle lasts a long time and I rather pay more now to have good products and maintain nice, clear, beautiful skin than buy cheaper or even more expensive "branded" skin products that will end up costing you more to fix your skin later on.
Cover FX is a Canadian dermatological brand, and the reason I discovered it is because my dermatologist recommended it to me as a foundation when I had problematic skin.
When it comes to facial skin, I only use dermatological products: whether it be for creams, foundations, primers, treatments, anything really. This is the best tip I have for a nice complexion.
The only con to this product: I really miss the pump bottle they had in the past! The new tube, while probably cheaper to produce, doesn't give the same "bathroom look".
Apart from that, I can't picture myself without this primer for even a second.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 11/1/2011 10:21:00 AM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This may not be something I would ever purchase, per se, but it is a damn good product. I used this under my MAC Pro Face and Body Foundation in White for my Columbia makeup for the Rocky Horror ball this past Saturday, and, for the first time since using that makeup, it didn't migrate everywhere else all night! When I got home almost 12 hours later, my foundation was still flawless, which is quite a feat for my very oily skin. I also love Laura Mercier's primer though, and I've been using an Amazing Cosmetics primer sample from sephora...so I'm really not in the market to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WhackyAki on 4/6/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this serum! It does a great job under makeup, my skin is incredibly soft, too. I started using it as a night time moisturizer and I noticed my skin even out, and it gets rid of blemishes quickly. A must buy, but be careful not to use too much...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 froggiegirl621 on 3/17/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by froggiegirl621

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first primer I have ever used, so take this review with a grain of salt ;)

I personally LOVE this. It is a serum, essentially, and absorbs so nicely into the skin leaving my face feeling incredibly soft. My makeup applies so nicely and evenly whenever I use this. I have combo/oily skin, and on days I use this primer I very rarely have to blot, powder or touch up. It does an incredible job at keeping my makeup from settling into my lines too.

I bought a smaller, travel-sized tube from Sephora pretty inexpensively, and when I realized how much I liked it I looked into getting a full-sized tube...it's pretty pricey! I'm not completely sure if I'll attempt some other less expensive primers first or if I'll just decide to shell out the money for the Cover FX since I like it so much. I still have a good amount left in the travel-sized tube and I've had it since December I don't use it everyday), so a little goes a long way...the full-sized tube would certainly be worth it if you take that into account.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess101 on 2/11/2011 6:25:00 PM more reviews by princess101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on and off for a few months, depending on what type of foundation I am using. I typically use this with foundations that are lighter in coverage, and require light oil-control for my combo skin.

This is great at filling in the fine lines on my forehead, and blurring the appearance of the larger pores on my nose. A little of this goes a long way; do not apply too much as it will make your foundation gummy. I use pea size amount for my entire face.

This absorbs almost instantly, but does have a greasy feel upon application. This works best for me in the colder months, when my skin requires a bit more hydration and is not as oily as it can be in the summer. My face looks smooth and healthy and not completely matte, nor dewy---just skinlike. I do require one or two blots throughout the day though. Not good for summer though as it does not absorb enough.

It is quite costly, but I got this while on clearance as Cover Fx changed their packaging and older stock was drastically reduced in price. Usual retail that I've found in Canada is $42 1 fl. oz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 11/4/2010 12:34:00 PM more reviews by jarona

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, I'm a big fan of the Cover FX brand. I love the creme foundation and the blush. Both are well-worth the money, last a long time and are skin-friendly. Now on to my review of the CoverFX Skin Prep FX.
I have used quite a few primers. Among them Revlon, Smashbox, Laura Geller and Cover FX. Off the bat, I'll tell you the best of the lot is the cheapest--Revlon!
This primer is extremely "liquid-y". It isn't clear--has a transparent yellow color, which blends right into the skin. This is rather pricey--I shelled out $39.00 at Sephora.
What really annoys me with this product is the time it takes to absorb into the skin and "dry". It takes about five or six minutes into my morning routing. That, in my opinion, is too long to wait--especially on a work day! When applying, it just feels kinda oily at first, but once it absorbs, the oily feeling is gone.
In all honesty, I feel that the less expensive primers work better to "grasp" the Cover FX creme foundation AND the other liquid foundations I may be wearing on any particular day.
I would not purchase this again as I truly believe this is a very overpriced and "eh" type of product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snowbunny27 on 9/13/2010 2:36:00 AM more reviews by snowbunny27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Hi I got the small sample as a gift and have never used anything like this no primers but I have used it for 2 days and 1 night now and what little redness I had is gone. I do break out like maybe 2 bumps a month when its around that time of the month but I used this and it even cleared them up also. I have sinitive skin so I will see in a week what happens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joyousjoy88 on 8/7/2010 12:27:00 PM more reviews by joyousjoy88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Surprised about the good reviews on this. It didnt work for me. I think it is only good for the coverfx foundations. This primer is like a vegetable oil in terms of its texture. It also is yellow-ish, totally looking like vegetable oil. It feels very greasy. I have very dry skin so I thought this would prevent my skin from drying out when if I used a foundation over it. But no, it did not help at all. It has Q10, for anti-aging purposes but I am not sure if it does anything. This also does not have spf. It takes a while to dry. Also I find that my make up balls up when using this and does not help fill in pores. Overall, this primer is good if you are using the Coverfx make up products. I found other products were not compatible with this primer. Becuase of its oil-like texture I donn't think it provides much of a barrier or protection on your skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BrookeBuchanan on 7/13/2010 3:47:00 PM more reviews by BrookeBuchanan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Worst cosmetic experience ever.....this is a great product for many it seems but I got an allergic reaction on my face for the first time. Ladies, it was fierce! Most my face was covered in tiny, itchy red bumps. My pharmacist recommended Benadryl for relief and that took the itching away but it was days before the bumps settled down and dried up, then I was left with a pile of pimples.

On the up side.... I emailed CoverFX and a lady was very prompt and helpful in getting to the bottom of what ingredient may have caused this. Turns out I am allergic to coenzyme Q10 (ubiquinone). So... an awful experience but the customer service was very much appreciated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Primer/ Corrector products