Cargo • Liquid Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.2(56 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jboyle123 on 6/22/2014 4:15:00 PM more reviews by jboyle123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried so many fountains for my sensitive oily skin and have to say that I am massively impressed by this some what unknown/cult product! The foundation is medium coverage (which can easily be built up to full) and is truly one of the only foundations that makes me look like i'm not wearing any foundation at all! For me this is a massive selling point as usually with oil free foundations I end up with a chalky/grey/cakey/1D finish that is awful for summer weather. This foundation manages to leave me looking fresh and dewey (not shiny, didn't even need to set it).

Also with foundations I find I have an oil break through within about an hour. I continually have to blot my foundation with powder which leaves me even cakier looking! I was able to leave this foundation for 7 hours without even touching it.

I have fair skin that goes slightly tan in summer so I opted for F30, I am shade NW20 in mac or BD40/B40 in YSL foundation (just for reference as I couldn't find any swatches online). I think on repurchase I will opt for F20 as it would be a perfect match for my skin.

If like me you have battled with frustrating oily skin but don't want to look overdone and chalky then go for this foundation - hate to say it but it definitely deserves HD status.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Decobalgal on 3/31/2014 12:30:00 PM more reviews by Decobalgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has got to be one of the most underrated, unhyped, quietly overachieving foundations out there. I never hear much about it. It's not all over the place and in your face. Probably hard to find. But wow, do I love this foundation. I'm the biggest foundation slut there is, always on the lookout for the next best, and better foundation. I have many foundations, from drug-store to super-luxe, that I love (Revlon, MUFE and Chanel), and many that I just didn't care for (Covergirl, theBalm, Philosophy). In my obscenely large selection of foundations, this one is consistently the top performer and my favorite. I simply love this foundation.

A foundation's performance is probably the most subjective and individualized than other makeup products because it has to do with its interaction with a specific skin type and tone. If you have dry skin, this foundation is great, although I can see it performing well on normal/combo skin as well. Perhaps not as well on oily skin, since it is very emollient. What sets this foundation apart for me is its creamy, blendable texture and how it becomes one with my skin. Although this is called a liquid foundation, it's not runny or liquidy. It squeezes out of the package with some body, more like a soft creamy mousse. It has medium coverage and blends in effortlessly, and becomes virtually undetectable and leaves a healthy, non-greasy glow. I lightly dust some Laura Gellar Balance and Brighten over it and knock down some of the glow. Then I turn into the evil witch stepmom in Snow White when I wear this, constantly checking myself out in the mirror, in disbelief that my foundation/skin looks this good. No other foundation brings out the monster in me quite like this.

F45 is a perfect match for my skin tone. I will keep going back to this. It's a winner for me.

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zella_angel on 3/30/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by zella_angel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I read all of the great reviews for this product I really wonder at the different experience I have had with this expensive foundation. I may have gotten a bad batch which I know totally happens, but its too expensive to risk buying again. Because it was so expensive I have have tried applying this foundation every which way (3 types of brushes, sponges, fingers, 3 types of primer. no primer, mixed with another foundation) and none of them ever fixed the problems I had with this foundation.
Cons:
- No coverage, and no it does not build to anything resembling coverage. I can still see redness, darkspots, everything after applying 2 generous layers of this makeup.

-What does go on doesn't last past 4 hours, and it has a very unfortunate way of receding in uneven patches.

Pros:
-Made in Canda. I trust their product standards.
- Light non-chemical smell that fades quickly. I get bad headaches from the smell of alot of foundations and this foundation was one of the few that the smell does not cause this issue.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Terese4444 on 3/20/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by Terese4444

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I keep coming back to this foundation, it's natural looking, matches me (nc15 use F20) and smells amazing, like sweet almond oil!
Doesn't settle into lines on my older skin (42yrs), perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luckyjen on 2/4/2014 8:37:00 PM more reviews by luckyjen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a devotee! I always come back to this foundation.

Despite it being a Canadian product, it is difficult to find (especially since Sephora in Canada doesn't carry it anymore, and Sears stopped carrying it. Fortunately London Drugs just start to carry it.

This foundation is the ONE foundation that does not settle into cracks or cake.
It goes on smooth, and is very easy to apply. While it has buildable coverage, it is sheer enough to look very natural (not mask like). The packaging is clever (it doesn't crack, break or leak).

If I have one complaint, is that there needs to be a few more shades that the fair end!
Love Cargo products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 1/17/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I've been using LancĂ´me Teint Miracle. I like it, but I don't love it. I like the finish, but the staying power isn't the greatest even with primer. It also transfers something awful. I've been wanting to try this foundation for awhile now. It got really good ratings on Ulta with 90% saying they would recommend it to a friend.

I wasn't sure what shade I needed, so I did a live chat with a Nordstrom's Beauty Expert. I told her that my shade in Teint Miracle (Bisque 1N) is a perfect match. So she recommended that I purchase Shade F-30 in the Cargo. So that is what I did. But as soon as I squirted it out of the tube, I could tell it was going to be too dark. It looked okay at first, but it did oxidize some and left me with an orange tint. F-30 is the second lightest shade, so I decided to do an even exchange for F-20. But I was afraid that was going to be too light. When it compared it to my Teint Miracle, it was definitely considerably lighter. I did wear it a couple of times to be sure, it was definitely too light.

I like the pouch that is comes in. I was concerned it might squirt out all over the place, but it didn't at all. I also like that this foundation doesn't transfer on your phone or clothes. It seemed to do an okay job of controlling oil, not great, but just okay.

However, there are a couple of major things that I don't like about this foundation. It is buildable, but only to about a light medium. It didn't even completely cover the redness on my cheeks. You could still clearly see it under the makeup. Even after putting on two layers. Any more than that, and it started to look streaky and cakey.

But my biggest complaint about this foundation is the color selection. To be frank, it really stinks. I can see this being a good foundation for women of color, but definitely not for Caucasian women. There is only a very small selection of shades. I really think they need a shade between F-20 and F-30 and they need to make more light and medium shades. This foundation tends to run very dark. Anyway, for me, it's game over. I ended up returning the F-20 as well for a refund. I got a couple of other samples from Sephora and hopefully one of those will work better. As for this foundation, I won't repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 5/19/2013 4:26:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am so pleased with all the Cargo products that I have used so far. I started off purchasing the Blu-Ray concealer and powder and was so impressed that I went back to Ulta and purchased the foundation, bronzer, some eyeshadow and the magic brush. This by far is my current favorite foundation. I have been using some Retinol products at night and while I do apply sunscreen as part of my morning skin care routine, the Retinol is causing some redness on my cheeks. Other foundations were not covering well enough and I was having to use concealer with my foundation. This was fine until the foundation would start wearing off before the concealer and by the end of the day i would be a lotched up mess!

This product provides a medium to high coverage but doesn't feel heavy or cakey on my skin. It goes on smooth, blends well and sets to a velvet smooth finish. When I look at my skin under a 10x microscopic mirror, I can barely see my pores and the foundation does not settle into my pores. I have been using this in tandem with Cargo Blu-Ray activating primer and then take Dr. Brandt's "Pores no More" primer across my cheeks and nose. The combination of all of these products and then set with Cargo Blu-Ray pressed powder makes my complexion look and feel flawless (trust me it isn't). This combination also seems to last about 8-10 hours with no touch-up.

UPDATE: I wanted to add a warning to my review. I still stand by the wonderful quality of this product but am deducting lippies from the packaging rating. I have never cared for the "Baggie" packaging concept that is comparable to one of my nephew's Capri Sun juice "boxes". I traveled via air from Houston to San Francisco last week and needless to say the packaging of the Cargo Liquid Foundation is not meant for air travel! This little "bag" does not withstand the change in cabin pressure and exploded all over the inside of my make-up case. One of the seams around the top corner burst from the pressure and I lost almost the entire content of product. I had to use every towel in my hotel room to clean the mess and I am sure housekeeping was none too happy when they saw the mess I made of the white towels. I packaged what was left in a Ziplock bag and will be returning for exchange of a new package. I will not take this product on any future trips that involve air travel, as I do not want to repeat having to clean up the mess ever again. This product will stay home on my vanity and I will look for an alternative foundation with more rugged and pressure resistant packaging for air travel.

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 10/22/2012 1:56:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I adore this foundation! Let me begin by saying that this is the first liquid foundation that I have purchased and continued to use past a week. I always end up going back to my MAC studio fix powder. I just can't stand the feeling of liquid foundation on my face, and figured that liquid just wasn't for me... UNTIL I tried Cargo. It is so light and dries beautifully without a lot of powder needed to set it. Additionally, I have never been able to find a perfect matched foundation until trying this. F-20 seems to be made just for me :)

I don't find this to be a medium or full coverage... more on the light side, but it is definitely buildable. On areas that I need more coverage I just apply a second thin layer and it covers beautifully. I hated the packaging at first because it isn't very cute, but it is extremely functional and I have grown to prefer this.

Also, I have pretty oily skin and this foundation alone seems to control any shine... I don't use a primer.

Highly recommend!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alldaygirl on 2/15/2012 7:55:00 PM more reviews by alldaygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Probably my favorite summer foundation. It's perfect for hot sticky Southern weather. It's light & I love how easy it is to find a neutral or yellow undertone shade. I apply w/ a beautyblender egg for a light almost not there application & with a foundation brush for a heavier application. It has a dewy finish and I doubt it could ever be a matte look. The tube holds 70% more foundation than the average 1oz bottle/tube at 1.7oz. so it has that going for it in the price department. The smell does take some getting used to. There's just no reason for it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahalthea on 12/16/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by sarahalthea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! The color match is perfect for my fair/yellow toned skin. I love that it has nylon, which helps to make it seemless when blending. I use with my cargo magic brush and this foudation looks airbrushed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cargo products

More Liquid products