Artdeco • Eyeshadow - General Review • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 innese on 2/10/2014 6:18:00 AM more reviews by innese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I only have one which is a matte pink called rosy starling. It's texture is incredible, so smooth an buttery. I love it, it's a true matte and it makes a great base color that doesn't wear off.
However, I didn't realize when I bought it online that it was going to be this small, It's less than a gram and it's the size of a fingertip. I also dislike the packaging, It's just a pan with a plastic sliding lid that's easy to lose. You're supposed to put it inside an empty palette they provide (no depot necessary) but that case costs about 16$ and each eyeshadow costs 10$ so it could get pricy and I'm not sure it's worth the hassle. I really hate it when companies make you buy a container, it's like signing up to a club, you then have to buy more of their products. I should be able to get a decently packed product without having to buy additional items.
I do like this eyeshadow a lot, and I will go on using it, but I don't think I'll buy any more eyeshadows from them and if I do, I will get an empty palette on eBay, and not any of their expensive ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karmenas on 10/19/2013 12:10:00 PM more reviews by karmenas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

begenerek kullaniyorum

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* winterfairy on 4/25/2012 12:03:00 PM more reviews by winterfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have 10 of them and I looooove them. They're soft, blendable, pigmented and color choice is more than great. I used to avoid shimmery eyeshadows but these ones (that are not from matte line) are with subtle shimmer that revives the eye (if you know what I mean). Not expensive and you can make your own palette. Will buy again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/8/2012 5:28:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have only 4 eye shadows from artdeco, and they are not bad but there are definitely better options. Some of them are too sheer, others too sparkly for my taste, there are not many interesting colors and fallout is guaranteed.
I like the magnetic palette though, cute and handy. When I'm in the mood for sparkly eye make up, use a good brush and primer the result is quite satisfying and I've received compliments, but I don't think I'll repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mcalcia on 9/13/2011 3:50:00 PM more reviews by mcalcia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What attracted me to ArtDeco eyeshadows was a combination of factors:
1) their palette system - super small and travel-friendly palettes
2) packaging - you don't need to depot them to put them on a palette and you can carry them as single eyeshadows too,
3) they don't have a lot of product but still a good amount for the price (I hate huge eyeshadows, I never finish them),
4) they have beautiful shades - lots of neutrals and great non-neutral but wearable colors, matte, satin or shimmery, some even a bit glittery, so there's something for everyone.

As you can see I really wanted to love ArtDeco eyeshadows. But, unfortunately, they were a huge disappointment to me. I have 7 shades: 11, 16, 17, 18 (shimmery beige, taupes, brown), 84 (shimmery purple), 350 (taupe with a bit of glitter) and 514 (matte light taupe) and none of them is a winner.

Their problems:
- really poor pigmentation, even with primer and cream e/s as a base
- they're super powdery and have huge fallout, even in the non-glittery shades. The matte one was specially powdery
- once you blend a little, they become basically invisible and the shimmer is gone
- the glitter is a bit chunky, not as bad as Catrice glittery eyeshadows, but definetely not a fine glitter.

I'm still undecided about repurchasing. I would buy another ArtDeco eyeshadow if I wanted to try some different shade that I'm not sure that will work for me, but only if I don't find anything similar in other cheap (but better) brands like Catrice, Essence or Kiko. I'm definetely not buying any neutrals from ArtDeco anymore since you can easily find good quality neutrals in lots of other brands.

I'll give it 3 lippies because they're definetely not the worst eyeshadows in the world (which would be Maybelline, Cover Girl and the like) and they have a great price and a good variety of shades and finishes.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yuannap on 3/26/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by Yuannap

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These shadows are of very good quality, they blend easily and do not crease. I would really recommend them. They are of much higher quality than other drugstore brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* midnightlouise on 6/11/2010 6:28:00 PM more reviews by midnightlouise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have just realized that HSN is selling ARTDECO products (woo-hoo!) so I figured it might be a good idea to do a review. I have 5 colors in the refill cases. (Which are basically just black cases with clear slide-out covers....the case can be purchased on HSN as well.) I own #44 - pearly white-gold; 218 - shimmery taupe; 233 - shimmery bronze; 211 - shimmery beige; 90 - shimmery medium dark purple with hints of mauve.

Yes, they appear fairly small in size, but keep in mind they weigh in at 0.03oz net weight, and MAC weighs in at 0.04, so not as little product as you think. Also keep in mind the cost of one of these babies is $6-$7 compared to MAC's $10 for the refills. So I think you come out pretty even here.

As for the quality, I have no complaints about the colors I own. The payoff is consistently good, and the staying power is on par with MAC or UD (with UD primer potion underneath as always.)

I used to have to swap with MUAers in Europe to get my hands on these, so I am excited that you can finally get them easily in the U.S. and I'm looking forward to trying new colors!

*edit* Just noticed the ones sold on HSN are actually 0.02 oz, but mine are all 0.03. Interesting, and worth noting.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carita on 3/6/2010 2:53:00 PM more reviews by carita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The four lippies are the grade of the eyeshadows in general. Further in the review, I’ll grade each shade separately (the grade will reflect their blendability, pigmentation and simply how I like the colour).
These were the first “good” eyeshadows that I bought. I’ve heard a lot about their quality and the array of shades is great (I think there are over 50 shades), but I usually stick to neutrals. These eyeshadows are in fact refills. Each eyeshadow comes in its own pan, with transparent cover with the shade number written on it. On the bottom of the pan is a magnet which is used to sticking (attaching) the eyeshadow into a box. You don’t need to buy a palette; basically you could put the eyeshadows into any metal box. The boxes (or palettes, as I like to call them) can be bought separately. There are palettes for two eyeshadows, three eyeshadows, four eyeshadows and eight eyeshadows. The palettes are usually black, with Art Deco signature sign, but you can find palettes with decorative top cover (usually 3 pans palette) which are released with every collection and are LE. I must also mention that the camouflage and blush pans are the size of 2 eyeshadow pans. Every palette has the separate part for the brush (spoonge tip applicator), but the applicators must be bought separately.
The eyeshadows have wonderful, silky texture. Lighter shades are not as pigmented as dark shades. Most of the eyeshadows have pearly finish with some shimmer, although there are some matte and some glittery eyeshadows (I don’t recommend these, because you would end up with glitter all over your face, and their texture is not nearly as nice). Most of the eyeshadows I own blends well. They have pretty good staying power, especially if used with Art Deco eyeshadow base. The price of these eyeshadows is in a medium range – here they cost around $6-7 for a pan. I own these shades: 218, 299, 98, 208, 05, 92, 284 and 93.
218 – a medium to dark taupe brown. It has good color payoff. (4/5)
299 – a peachy pink colour, with a considerably good colour payoff, considering the fact that this is a very light shade. (5/5)
98 – a light greyish-purple shade. it is not very pigmented, but still has a decent colour payoff. Blends easily. (5/5)
208 – a medium to dark bronzey brown. It is my favourite colour, has good pigmentation (it is a bit darker than it seems on the swatch picture). Blends easily. (5/5) 05 – a light grey, medium pigmentation. Blends easily. It looks especialy good with the shade 93 (4/5)
92 – very dark purple (in the pan), which on the skin turns out as a very dark brown with purple sheen. Very pigmented, but very difficult to blend and it can simply look dirty and muddy if it is applied with a light hand (other shades look good when applied lightly). (3/5)
284 – light lavender. I don’t know what was I thinking when purchasing these shade as it completely clashes with my skin tone. The pigmentation is pretty strong. (3/5)
93 – very light pink; it is barely visible on the skin. (2/5)
When I repurchase anothes shade, I will update the review. All in all, I find these eyeshadows are pretty good and worth the money.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* morphinization on 10/23/2009 4:02:00 PM more reviews by morphinization

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have five of these, #36 wich is a deep golden brown, #02 which is a light steel grey, #04 which is a darker slate grey, #249 which is a very light, fresh green and #262 which is a beautiful blue green color (but sadly clashes with my own eye color).
I love these eye shadows, they are very cheap when you look at the quality, and you can buy cases to put them in as well, very original and unlike any other brand!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ljana on 8/2/2009 10:21:00 AM more reviews by Ljana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Artdeco is my favorite med-to-low end brand. If I don't want to splurge on a high end product, Artdeco is always the first brand I turn to. Their star products are the eyeshadows, the eyeshadow base (which many find comparable or even superior to UDPP and Too Faced SI), All in One mascara and the Glossy Lip Care, which is almost identical to MAC's Slimshines.
The eyeshadows are always sold individually and come in small rectangular pans, which are magnetized and are meant to be inserted into Artdeco's palettes. They call this ''Systeme Mosaique'' (similar to Bobbi Brown's customized palettes) and the palettes can also be used for blush, concealer or any combination of the three. The palettes themselves are cute and sleek and well made, but aren't exactly cheap considering you're basically buying a piece of plastic (about 7-15 EUR, depending on size) . They are convenient, but aren't necessary. Actually, you can use any metal case you happen to have (such as a cigarette or pencil case). The magnet is strong enough to hold the pans and they won't fall out.
I currently have about 10 of these and two palettes, a small duo for travel and a large one which can house up to 8 eyeshadow pans or a blush and 5 eyeshadows. (The blush takes up the space of three e/s pans, and the concealer two.)
The eyeshadows are very smooth, silky, blendable and quite pigmented, although some are more pigmented than others. The colour selection is quite large, but doesn't feature many unusual shades. Since I'm mostly into neutrals, I've always been able to find what I need, but I do find some shades a bit dull and/or flat. Artdeco makes 4 types of shadows - pearl (that's actually satin), matte, duochrome and glamour (glittery). I like the pearls and mattes, but the other two tend to be gritty and chunky, and don't blend as well. Still, for that price (4-5 EUR per pan) you can't really go wrong. They stay on and don't crease too much on me, but then I have dry lids. If worn with the base, they'll stay on pretty much all day.
Overall, Artdeco eyeshadows are far superior in quality and pigmentation to any other lower-end brand I've tried. I really appreciate that they offer quality products at reasonable prices - I can't always splurge on, say, Chanel duos, but still want a decent product. Artdeco's stuff fits the bill perfectly.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Artdeco products

More Eye Shadow products