Paul Mitchell Lemon and Sage

3.6

27 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

For me the shampoo is quite average. Maybe it does thicken the hair a bit, but alongside with this it weighs my hair down. Even though the product has a light consistency (it is clear gel), after using it the hair lacks volume.
The good thing is the smell - fresh and energizing.



on 5/1/2014 1:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I recently bought a travel size bottle of this shampoo. It smells gorgeous to my nose- like fresh lemons or lemon verbena. It leaves my hair squeaky clean but not in a stripped kind of way. My hair air-dries with more body and shine. My roots stay feeling less oily the next day which is nice since I am prone to headaches if my roots are too greasy when I want to wear my hair up. I don't use this daily, just occasionally when I feel my hair needs it and I only need to use a little bit. It lathers very well and removes styling products without leaving any residue. I am looking forward to trying out the matching conditioner and body wash to see if I like them as much as the shampoo. Perfect for fine, oily to normal hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2014 11:00:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have lots of straight, fine, highlighted, dark blonde hair. I have been using Paul Mitchell's Lemon Sage Thickening Shampoo along w/ the Lemon Sage Thickening Conditioner (which I reviewed separately) for about 2 weeks now & I'm really impressed w/ the results. Used together, my hair is squeaky clean and feels much fuller and texturized. At first, I really thought that this shampoo would end up being something that I used a few times a month since it reminds me of a strong, clarifying shampoo but I've used it every day now, for 2 weeks, along w/ the Lemon Sage Thickening conditioner, & my hair does not look dry at all. I keep expecting my hair to appear dried out or to be full of static, but neither of those things have happened. My hair is shiny, clean & bouncy w/ tons of volume and looks as healthy as ever. I honestly am stunned how well these products work.

Pros: really cleans-great clarifying shampoo, adds texture, fresh lemon scent, not ridiculously expensive for a higher-end conditioner

Cons: may be too drying for some, the scent may be an issue for some, pricey compared to DS products, the packaging is not great as the bottle is too rigid to effectively squeeze product out of




on 12/24/2012 12:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty descent shampoo, just a little bit goes a long way. It lathers up nicely and it's very foamy! It's okay for every day use, very light on the scalp. From the "organic" lines, this has been one of the best ones I've tried, it even helped with my 'winter' dandruff, and didn't irritate scalp.
I don't like the packaging thought, I can't control how much comes out of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2012 9:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So I've been trying to save money in the shampoo and conditioner department which unfortunately had been leaving my hair a flat lifeless grease ball. I caved and purchased this with its matching conditioner. This (with its conditioner) makes my hair feel WONDERFUL! The ends have moisture, the top isn't greasy, its volumizing, and MY HAIR IS SO SOFT! It smells very lemony as the name implies, which I enjoy immensely. Definitely would recommend to people whose hair tends to get a little greasy and those who wouldn't mind a little extra volume. Only issue is its rather expensive, $16.00 a bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2012 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love the way this stuff smells. I use it with the conditioner and it's made my hair thicker and shinier. I still use a deep conditioner once a week because it doesn't make my hair as soft as I'd like it to be, but I love everything else about it. I don't find it to be too drying - I have fine, relatively thick, and very oily hair and this is the first shampoo/conditioner combo I've used where I only have to wash my hair a 3 times a week instead of every day without looking too greasy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2012 5:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I didn't know how to rate this product, to be honest. It definitely makes my hair look more voluminous and in that way, it's the best shampoo I've tried, BUT it dries the life out of my hair, and my skin. It's so drying that I get tight palms after using it, which lasts into the next day (that said, I do tend toward dry rather than oily skin.) I don't know if I can actually keep using it in the long term because of this, but it really does get results. My hair has more volume and smoothness after using this with the conditioner, and unlike with other fairly natural shampoos, I'm not left with annoyingly tangly hair that gets into knots for no reason shortly after brushing. This is great because having thin hair means that when that does happen, hair inevitably gets ripped out. I have the driest skin on my hands, arms and legs from this shampoo, but my hair looks really good!

It's a pricey product, but it's cruelty-free and made in America, so there are upsides!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2012 10:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product but don't use it all the time it WILL dry out your hair a lot. It smells very good, and does volumize but after recently taking a break from it i think that it is more of a clarifying shampoo then moisturizing unless you use the conditioner which makes your hair so soft. Just don't use this product all the time it can take a toll.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair: fine, normal, thick, wavy.

The scent is amazing and fresh. Too drying for everyday, but I'm keeping it as a clarifying shampoo for once a week.

Conditioner is wonderful for everyday. I'm pairing it with my favorite Avalon Organics Biotin Thickening Shampoo for great results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2010 8:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Could not get a comb through my fine, highlighted hair. Used a handful of matching conditioner and it was still tangled. Had to put in another heavier conditioner just to comb it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
Shampoo
414 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
Shimmer Lights
335 Reviews
All Soft Shampoo
All Soft Shampoo
738 Reviews


Top Rated Paul Mitchell Products

image

sculpting foam

92 reviews
image

Tea Tree line

161 reviews
Back to Top