MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

NYX • Chaos • Lipstick

rated 4.3(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ninimercy on 8/7/2009 10:55:00 PM more reviews by ninimercy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

In my NYX 12-lippie ebay haul, the two reds i ordered were Chaos and Electra. Very similar of course because they are both true blue-based reds. Electra is brick where Chaos is pink. But both total retro/pin-up whatever you'd like to call it shades. Today I'm wearing Chaos and judging solely based on the color, you really couldn't ask for more from a blue-based lippie. I slightly prefer Electra, but it is just personal preference.. they're both great. Don't ever let anyone tell you NYX isn't pigmented! Is it ever.. The color glides on effortlessly, so much so that for a red lip, you'd want to keep it in control with a pencil. I highly recommend a lip-liner and surrounding your lips with cream concealer as well, as both of these are messy. Sorry, I've never tried a higher-end red lip like MAC (not that into reds), so I can't compare it to a "golden standard", but these are messy. They come off on your coffee cup. However I do think the staying power is pretty good. It is almost 8pm and I last applied at around 4pm, and still going strong! Give em a shot!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rachell32480 on 4/27/2011 3:27:00 AM more reviews by Rachell32480

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm a NW45 for reference. This color is a bright blue-based red. I bought it on a whim, but it looks beautiful on my deep brown skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lipglossjunkee on 4/28/2008 9:38:00 PM more reviews by lipglossjunkee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to mess up a perfect rating for a great product, but in truth I would NEVER repurchase this again. The shade definitely lives up to it's name (Chaos is such a fantastic name for a lipstick!) The formula is fantastic (as are all of the NYX round l/s)....the scent & texture are phenomenal....the staying power is AMAZING (especially with the reds)....but this shade is just TOO MUCH for me. In the tube it looks to be a rich red, until you look at it up close, or apply it to your lips. Then it becomes a bright fuschia-red (blue-toned & quite cool) that is very dramatic and says "Hello, these are my lips. They'd like to make your acquaintance Right. Now." You cannot apply this sloppily as it 'sets' quite quickly & sort of stains and then you look like the crazy cat lady who sits on the stoop next door talking to herself. It's truly a gorgeous shade, but not for me. If you crave bright bold shades, then please go for it, you will not regret it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sedillman on 5/13/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by sedillman

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm pale with red hair and always have a hard time with red lipstick. I need something good for my pale skin, but also something that is not so matchy-matchy with my hair color. This is a beautiful blueish-red and goes on very smooth. It definitely comes off on cups, but it doesn't appear to disappear from my lips for at least 5 hours. My first NYX products, can't wait to try more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyFanatic101 on 7/14/2011 11:54:00 AM more reviews by BeautyFanatic101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

FAV RED LIPSTICK OF ALLL TIME!!!! chaos is a highly pigmented cool blue based red lipstick that is very suitable for warm, yellow, golden skintones in my opinion....nyx lipsticks are my favss cuz they're cheap and come in a variety of colourss....chaos in particularly is something very special and is a red lippie 2 surely invest in if ur a woman of colour....it goes on smooth and for me it lasts through eating and drinking...however if u do hav small lips like me i dont recommend applying it straight from the tube, i like to use a lip brush to apply mine soo i cud get precise lining of my lips and control...otherwise great investment!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 strawberryswing on 7/4/2011 2:22:00 AM more reviews by strawberryswing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

After reading reviews about how this lipstick has a blue undertone, I went ahead and purchased it because I have a cool undertone which means I should wear red lipstick with a blue undertone. Unfortunately I didn't do enough research to realize that this lipstick color is more of a dark fuchsia than red. When I first applied it I was amazed at how pigmented and creamy the formula was, but did notice that it wasn't completely red. I applied it again after I cleaned off my lips and then noticed how it's more fuchsia. I'm a bit upset that it didn't turn out red, but I can see myself wearing this lipstick color from time to time. Next time I'm going to do better research and get the perfect red lipstick color for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieRoxx on 12/6/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by KatieRoxx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nice blue-toned red lipstick that works well if you have fair skin that leans towards the cool side. With no sparkle, sheen or pearl in it, it works well as a daytime red by keeping the rest of makeup light and neutral with the focus on just the lip color. Got a lot of compliments from women and men on this shade. Chaos applies creamy but stays put for a relatively good amount of time - lasted through coffee and even after lunch still some showed up. Agree with previous poster that it wears off from the center and will leave a ring around outer edge of lip so you'll need to reapply at some point if eating or drinking a lot. Paid half price for this at drugstore (just over $2), but even at full price, I would not grouse about having to reapply after several hours of wear. This is the first NYX creamy formula lipstick I have tried. I have some of their matte shades which are also priced very well and the color wears a long time. I'd definitely try other lighter shades in this formula to see if they also stay put for as long as Chaos does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 audra72ad on 10/13/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by audra72ad

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite red lipstick of all time. I've always had a hard time finding the perfect red lippie because of my dark skin. Most of the reds I've encountered have too much orange and I hate that! I recently came to the realization that I need a blue red lippie. Then I found this one and it's perfect. This is a very sexy color and I feel sexy wearing it! This is the red lippie I reach for the most even though I have other reds I enjoy wearing also. I love the way it brightens up my face! I always look forward to wearing this lippie!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bitterrose1025 on 9/23/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by bitterrose1025

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have 3 of NYX round lipsticks. I love the formula and texture. They feel like a high end lipstick without the price tag. This color is a beautiful old hollywood red. It has great pigmentation. It stays on for awhile and as the perfect finish, It isn't matte but it isn't shiny either. I had wanted to get Chanel Pirate lipstick but when I swatched the two side by side I see any difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ParisTroika on 5/19/2010 8:16:00 PM more reviews by ParisTroika

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic, intense, blue red. I wore this the very first time for my burlesque show and loved it. You MUST wear a lipliner to prevent migration, but otherwise its a keeper. I always wear lipliner under my red lipsticks. It's so easy to apply and not overly drying. I love matte reds, but this is much creamier and works really well with my fair skin and currently black hair.

Love it! It's going to be a staple in my performance makeup bag. Lovely on stage!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products