Clairol • Herbal Essences-Color Me Happy • Conditioner

rated 3.8(45 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nomayopls on 12/8/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by nomayopls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Cheap and affective - Nearly instant detangling in the shower. Feels slightly weighing on my roots but not terrible, I can live with that. When i use this conditioner and apply my Dove frizz free leave-in cream and allow my hair to air dry my hair feels amazingly soft and looks super shiny! Can't say if it really helps with prolonging your color. Overall great conditioner. Smells okay. I don't really understand why everyone think it smells amazing? Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kanaria on 10/14/2013 6:05:00 AM more reviews by Kanaria

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Used along with the shampoo, my worst hair nightmare come true after this two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 8/10/2013 3:17:00 AM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like how the spout is at the bottom so you don't have to shake or beat the bottle with slippery hands in the shower. Conditions well and smells nice. Tangles just slipped right now. Good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 princessmaria on 4/18/2013 2:34:00 PM more reviews by princessmaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Definitely not the best conditioner out there for coloured hair.
it's full of alcohol and parabens etc
i have coloured hair but it does absolutely nothing for the condition.
will not repurchase, despite it's lovely scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katnattoo on 1/17/2013 11:46:00 AM more reviews by katnattoo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love the smell of Color Me Happy, and have tried to use it over the years, but each time I do, my head itches like crazy and I end up with pimples all over my scalp after only a week of use :( Cheap shampoos almost always do this to me, wish I knew what the igriedient was that causes it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 12/17/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Herbal Essences' Color Me Happy is a line of hair care products for colored hair. This shampoo and conditioner is enhanced with a "fusion of Moroccan rose and passion fruit to keep your color treated hair looking fresh, shiny, and radiant, plus our shampoo and conditioner are infused with hydro-activated silkening ingredients." I'm just gonna go ahead and put it out there now..this shampoo contains sulfates. Its pretty common knowledge that sulfates aren't great for your hair, especially if its colored..so I don't know why Herbal Essences decided to include them in the formula. Maybe they didn't feel confidant about making a sulfate free formula..or maybe they just didn't count on their customers to read the ingredient lists. Either way, I think the inclusion of sulfates probably cancels out any of the benefits the rose or passion fruit. Anyway, both bottle contain 300ml (10.17fl oz), which is slightly less than they used to. I got these at Walmart for a combined cost of $5, with a coupon. Herbal Essences is available at most drugstores and major retailers world wide. Herbal Essences claims that they don't test on animals, but they're owned by Clairol, who isn't a cruelty free company. These products were made in America.
Herbal Essences shampoos and conditioners all have just about the same packaging. Tall, thin, wavy plastic bottles, always recyclable. Color Me Happy's bottles are pink; the shampoo bottle is translucent, and the conditioner's is opaque, both have a green pop up dispenser. The fronts of each bottle features the Herbal Essences logo, the name of the product, and some short claims. back of the bottles are loaded with directs, beauty tips, company info, and ingredients in English&French. I've always been a fan of Herbal Essences' cute, playful packaging.
The scent of Color Me Happy is described as a "sultry scent fused with pink rose, freesia, and lilly with a kiss of citrus and amber." Herbal Essences suggests pairing Color Me Happy with vanilla candles. Do chicks actually burn candles while they bathe? Like is that a real thing? Sorry I just don't understand the candle obsession. Color Me Happy has a light, mostly rose based floral scent. It smells just like their old shampoo for colored hair. My Mum used that shampoo when I was little, so its comforting and familiar. The scent doesn't linger in my hair at all, which is a good or bad thing depending on your personal preference.
The shampoo is a light pink gel. I prefer Herbal Essences' gel formulas over their creamier ones because I use less and it lathers better (even though lather is a sure sign of sulfates). I like the feel of Color Me Happy, it lathers and rinses well. It makes my hair feel cleaner and keeps it that way for about two days. Color Me Happy gets any styling products out without taking my hair color with it. I feel like this shampooo doesn't wash my henna hair color out like some others do *cough* CLEARSCALP&HAIRTOTALCARE *cough*. That being said, I don't feel like Color Me Happy does anything to enhance or protect my hair color. I've used three types of Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner on my colored hair and none of them have stripped my color..so what makes Color Me Happy special? Nothing, so far as I can tell. Just like the shampoo, the conditioner isn't super special, but its nice. This conditioner is thick, creamy, and light pink. It smooths through my hair with easy, but I feel like I use a lot of product each time I was my hair. To me, all of Herbal Essences' conditioners are essentially the same. They never make my hair or scalp greasy, but I find them nicely moisturizing, they make my hair pretty silky. My hair doesn't get dry or significantly damaged when I color my hair with Lush's Henna Hair Color, but those who already have unhealthy hair or use boxed dyes with certainly need a thicker, more nourishing conditioner than this one.
I feel very underwhelmed by Herbal Essences Color Me Happy Shampoo and Conditioner. Its nice..it cleans and conditioner my hair well, and smells nice..but what does it do for my color treated hair? Nothing noticeable at all. Maybe this is better for those who used boxed dyes, but if you color your hair with henna like I do, this hair care duo doesn't really benefit or hinder my colors longevity. The Color Me Happy shampoo contains sulfates which are bad for colored hair, and the conditioner isn't very reparative. I won't be repurchasing Herbal Essences Color Me Happy, but I'll finish both bottle off. I'll probably move on to Honey, I'm Strong. I don't recommend Color Me Happy, Herbal Essences makes better products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Laurend3 on 10/11/2012 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Laurend3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I usually buy Pantene but thought I'd try Herbal Essences because it smelled good. It smells good, and that is about it. I get out of the shower and can't run my comb through my hair without using spray leave-in conditioner, after using the Herbal Essences conditioner in the shower! I was so disappointed. I'll be going back to Pantene.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 natasha102002 on 10/4/2012 4:45:00 PM more reviews by natasha102002

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

My hair is so soft with this. Nothings compares to the holy greatness of this. My hair smells great, and is heavenly soft using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SamanthaJo19 on 9/13/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaJo19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Repurchased this continuously! I have higher end salon shampoo and conditioner available, but for some reason I just love this line! My hair smells SO SO good, and conditions my hair fairly well. My boyfriend always comments on how good my hair smells. The only reason I gave it four stars is because it could hydrate and condition a little better, but I still love it anyway.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starbuck65 on 9/3/2012 2:51:00 AM more reviews by starbuck65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've written a lot of reviews but never for shampoo or conditioner. I heard about this from a gal on YouTube. I DO NOT like the Color Me Happy shampoo at all but the conditioner? It's the best. I have processed (over-processed at times) hair, it's baby fine, this moisturizes better than anything I've ever used without weighing my hair down. If my hair gets particularly dry I sometimes use Hello Hydration shampoo but I hate the smell of that one. The Color Me Happy smells good, works great and I always, always keep it in my shower. I've repurchased so many times. For reference I love Abba, for deep cleansing, PM Shampoo 3, reconstructor I like BioSilk Fruit Cocktail, sometimes Joico K-pak but that dries my hair and that's especially when I use this product (you have to moisturize after protein). BioSilk isn't drying but I always follow with this conditioner, leave in Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Tri-wheat. I cannot stand going to the salon, the conditioners never do well with my hair, I just want to wash my hair and put that back in and get my hair back to normal. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Conditioner products