Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel

3.9

473 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua (Water,Eau),Glycerin,Propylene Glycol,PEG-8 Stearate,PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide,Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract,Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract,Carbomer,Sodium Chloride,Parfum (Fragrance),Phenoxyethanol,Methylparaben,Propylparaben,Triethanolamine,Diazolidinyl Urea,Mica,CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide),CI 19140 (Yellow 5),CI 42090 (Blue 1),CI 15985 (Yellow 6)(4/26/2015)


on 8/20/2015 4:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This didn't irritate my super sensitive skin. It's not drying at all and made my skin feel soft. However, it really stung my eyes...be careful! It's good for morning use when you need something really gentle, but at night it's kinda hard to take off make up with it. The scent is not bad, and the price is good. I didn't really like the bottle and would much prefer a pump. Overall, it's a good gently cleanser, but I stopped using it because it wasn't cleaning my skin well enough when I wear makeup.



on 8/18/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Wanted so badly to like this more. I have tried a few other MB products and had no problem with them, but this gel cleanser is too drying for my mature skin. My face feels tight and dry after using it, and it has a slight stinging sensation. I may be too old for AHA cleansers (I also use a Vitamin C ester serum), or it just may be too drying for me. For younger skins, this may work very well. The fragrance, while not unpleasant, is a bit too strong for me.


on 7/22/2015 8:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A very gentle cleanser that i'd thought I should try out because it might help to just cleanse and maybe sooth my combination/recently-misbehaving-around-the-forehead skin.

Turns out it was wayyyyy too gentle and didn't even do anything.

A lot of people have been saying that it leaves a slight film, and I can feel what they mean. However, I just ignored it and carried on with my other two baes, toner and moisturiser. My skin was perfectly fine, but I didn't really see any "brightening action" going on, even though the fruit acids are supposed to like make you looky glowy and all.

The scent was strange and very artificially floral/grass like, but I go used to it.

And it certainly didn't clear any pimples up. Going to go try a more brutal scrub now, I think...


on 7/17/2015 4:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Received as a sample but I do not like this at all. No I didn't break out. But it leaves a film on your face afterwards which is so weird and I feel like it would cause you to break out unless you wipe it away with a toner. Also it does not feel like it is cleaning you and it's shocking for me to say that because I remove my makeup before I cleanse. I would never buy this because I feel like it probably does nothing so it is not worth the upped price tag


on 6/28/2015 9:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this along with the buffering lotion. I have sensitive, chin and nose acne prone skin with cheeks that get dry and red. I use a garnier makeup removal wipe before cleansing. This cleanser does not foam. I use as directed on bottle 2x day. I only wash t zone in the a.m.Bottle can be a bit hard to squeeze after you get further down in product.
Cleans my face, does not dry or irritate skin, has helped w acne. My face is very soft and smooth. If i am in shower i put this on and let it sit while im showering. I was skeptical of this bc it has fragrance, but my skin has been ok with it. I think.using makeup removal towel beforehand helps as i am not sure how well this would take all makeup off.
Plan to keep using this.
Pros: non drying, non foaming, my sensitive skin tolerates, skin softening, hasn't clogged pores, nice scent (kind of like cucumbers ) fair price i paid $19 at ulta
Cons: parabens, added fragrance

Only showing 2 lippies but i marked 4?


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This cleanser is definitely not a good everyday cleanser. It leaves a film on you face after you put it on and does not lather. It has fruit in it that is acidic so it makes your face really soft after using it. I purchased this so I can use it occasionally to smooth my face.


on 6/18/2015 11:41:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used to like some of MB's products. Now, I just feel they aren't innovative (I haven't seen them come out with anything new in years), contain some questionable ingredients and are heavily fragranced. I used to like the enzyme mask. I didn't actually feel like it did anything great to my skin, I just really liked the smell. This cleanser has that same smell--herbal and fresh. It isn't foaming, which is not good for my oily skin. But what makes this cleanser problematic for all skin types is the sticky residue it leaves behind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2015 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

super affordably priced cleanser that does not foam- does the job well and keeps the spots at bay! no other cleanser i tried (purity, phisohex, neutrogena) could get rid of the bumpy texture on my skin except this one. also love using this with my clarisonic as it adds an extra exfoliation factor

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Not a big fan of this cleanser....the texture was too thick and it didn't leave my face feeling clean. IMO this is not a good cleanser to use with a Clarisonic since I could not feel the face wash being spread over my face and it led me to using much more product. I also prefer foaming facial cleansers or cream cleansers like Purity Made Simple. Definitely won't repurchase any non foaming gel cleanser again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had pretty frustrating hormonal acne around my lips and chin. I would get painful blemishes and they would spread very easily. I tried several face washes, honestly was obsessed with finding anything that would help. I was told there wasn't much I could do except go on the pill to regulate my hormones. I bought this cleanser on a whim when also buying the blemish drying lotion and I have to say it has done wonders for my skin! Not only does this cleanser make your skin feel soft and fresh but I'm also ance free! Something that hasn't happened in years. I still can't belive it! I love this cleanser and am so thankful I found something that helps my skin!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top