Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation (all shades)

3.8

168 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue


on 5/13/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I adore this for my everyday foundation! I have been using this almost every day for several weeks now and these are my pros and cons...

Pros
+ Perfect colour match (shade Blondie for my super pale skin) and lots of shades to choose from.
+ Super light weight so it feels like I've no make up on
+ Flawless finish. I would say it is semi-matte. Non-cakey unless you go crazy with layering it up.
+ Doesn't oxidise
+ A lot cheaper than other brands eg. bare minerals
+ Vegan and natural
+ No break outs!
+ SPF 15
+ Lockable sifter
+ Doesn't irritate my skin (I have fairly sensitive skin)
+ 10g of product will last forever - excellent value

Cons
- Needs a primer to last all day
- Light to medium coverage (which could be a pro or a con) for me it covers all I need which is redness and a few blemishes but doesn't cover under eye darkness so I still need to use a concealer. It is buildable but with the risk of it lwearing badly by the end of the day at least in my experience having oily skin.
- Takes a little time to get used to it to make it work for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Fantastic product. It's easy to build up coverage and it gives a very natural look. There's a large variety of shades too. I first started off with the sample kit which made it so much easier to pick out the right shade for my skin tone and then I went on to buy a bigger version. This was a couple years ago and I'm still using it now so it's lasted me a really long time. Great value for money. This was also the first foundation I've ever used that never made me break out. I use Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer beforehand and my makeup looks fresh all day.


on 3/22/2015 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have this in Blondie which is perfect for my medium skin. It is like a slightly heavier loose powder (which makes a very light foundation). I find it is good for hiding redness and for concealing bad pimples (the kind of pimples that do not respond well to liquid concealer / look cakey). Apply to pimples for a decent amount of coverage with minimal contact. I don't like to have to touch the area too much when I have a pimple because I feel I am massively delaying the healing process. So this is good for just dabbing on with finger before brushing off the excess powder foundation with a big brush.

One thing I don't like however is the packaging. Feels kind of cheap. BUT, to be honest the product isn't expensive at all so who cares. I would definitely buy this again. There are LOTS of different shades so I feel a lot of people would find a perfect match


on 3/3/2015 6:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Good points - fabulous range of shades even for super pale people like me. No fragrance or glitters that might irritate. Good value for money compared to Bare Minerals etc. Bad points- this doesn't have much coverage- I can build much better coverage from mac MSF natural for example. It's also a really dry powder compared to Bare Minerals which has more of a glow- on my dry skin this looked terrible. If you are normal/ combo/ oily and are looking for a light coverage or a setting powder with coverage you might like this. If you have dry skin you may find this just too drying .


on 2/24/2015 9:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Finally....my quest for the holy grail is complete!! This is without fail, the best foundation, mineral or otherwise that I have ever come across. The shade "porcelain" is the only foundation I've ever found that is a perfect match to my almost see-through skin. I have very temperamental skin that reacts to the slightest changes - I ran out of this foundation, so used Loreal one for a single day and the next morning, my skin was a vile mess! But then my Lily Lolo arrived in the post, and my skin settled back to normal within a couple of days. It is so light, yet provides a fantastic amount of coverage with minimal effort. I used this foundation on it's own, with just a light setting spray over it on my wedding day, and it stayed put through all the mayhem and one of the hottest days of the year :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2015 9:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've just received my sample of this foundation to try out the colour Saffron (which btw came with a helpful cute little catalogue of the LL range) It is perfect! I have been looking for a medium coverage natural/non chemical foundation for MONTHS! As all real organic/natural liquid foundations have no silicone so are hard to blend and my bb cream goes streaky and just sits on my skin. I was not expecting this powder to be so good as I've always had my reservations about mineral powders, Lily Lolo is creamy and offer such a good buildable coverage! Needless to say I WILL be ordering a full size pot. I only wish I'd stumbled upon this sooner!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 6:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my favourite foundation. I have been using only organic/natural cosmetics for about 7 years and it took me a while to find items that are both safe and effective. This foundation works brilliantly. It doesn`t cause any irritation whatsoever, is not perfumed and most importantly, it actually works. It covers very well (I get some dark red breakouts on my pale skin sometimes and covering them with this foundation is effortless), looks natural and lasts all day.The range of shades is very good as well and the price is suprisingly low compared to similar brands (it contains exactly the same ingredients as bellapierre foundation but is less than a half its price...) I`m currently on my 3rd pot and will be buying more.
And one more thing, when I decided to switch to gluten free cosmetics, I emailed their customer services to find out whether their products were safe to use. I got a reply within 10 minutes!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my safe foundation. If I don't know which foundation to wear or if my skin's acting out, I reach for this one. I've been using this a bit over a year now and I'm close to finishing it, and I've already bought a back-up. I'm in the shade Porcelain, which is wonderfully pale for my ghostly skin.

As I said, I use this when my skin's not looking so great. It the best foundation at covering blemishes, it really takes the redness down and because it's powder, it doesn't move around during the day. It also stays on pretty long and fades nicely, as it doesn't separate on the skin like liquids can do. If I have gross looking blemishes, I use this foundation on a pencil brush and buff the product on top of the blemish, and it does a really good job covering it even by itself. When I add concealer under it, it becomes really full coverage. It also seems to be the kindest thing for my skin, and I don't know if it's because of the foundation, but it seems to work at healing my skin as well and making it blemish-free again. The only thing that it can do though is adding dryness to the skin. However, it's still the best thing for my dry-skin days as well, because weirdly, I still feel it accentuates the dry patches way less than a liquid foundation would. I apply it with the Real Techniques expert face brush, which is fine, but I could maybe use something a bit softer. I feel like this is a medium coverage foundation that you can sheer out or build up.

It's not the prettiest foundation in the world (personally I love a glowier look and this foundation is quite matte, although in a rather natural way), but it's a really safe and skin-friendly choice. It's a slightly boring product in that sense, but it's definitely a HG product for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2014 4:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I ordered starter sample package in light that consists of 3 small pots of mineral foundation and one small mineral finishing powder in flawless silk that is slightly shimmery and coloured.
Foundation colours are China doll, Blondie and Barely buff.
I also ordered mineral blush in Flushed.

I had to email Lily Lolo customer support since the order did not arrive as fast as expected after receiving their dispatch confirmation email. Their response was super fast and saying if the order does not arrive in 21 days, they will reship it. Fortunately it arrived in 7 working days so no problems. Royal mail is not the best. Proved many times before, so this wasn't Lily Lolo's fault.

Packaging is visually appealing.
Small complain is that two out of three samples did not have a sifter. It is impossible to use loose mineral foundation without one. So after realising china doll is my color i transferred the sifter to this pot.

I never used mineral before so it took me 3 tries to get it right. Lessons i learned are:

- i have to moisturise more than usual.
Might be drying on dry skin. I have sensitive, dehydrated, acne prone skin with shiny tzone in summer and this foundation feels tight on skin right after applying
- little goes a long way. Transfer a small amount of product into the lid. Swirl the brush and tap off any extra product. Buff into the skin with their baby kabuki. I go for light coverage. Not sure how natural it looks after layering it multiple times. But if you go for barely there make up, it's flawless.
- staying power is moderate.

I believe this will work for winter but not sure if it will during summer.
It's more time consuming to apply than regular make up.
My reactive skin has no problem with it, it even seems it helped the brakeout on my forehead to go away.

It's an OK product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2014 8:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Skin type: Sensitive, combination skin, prone to clogged pores.
I wear this foundation in Blondie and Barely Buff. Blondie is my exact skin match, but I feel Barely Buff gives me more of a warmer shade. It really suits my NC15-NC20 skin.
As with many makeup products the right shade and application is key for this product. I didn't really like the Lily Lolo Kakubi brush, I feel like I get such a beautiful, airbrushed finish with the ELF Flat Top Brush. I never knew the perfect brush can make such a difference.

+ massive shade range (neutral, warm, cool tones), they sell sample pots
+ Very good, even coverage
+ Very natural looking, skin-perfecting, never like a mask
+ only contains 4 ingredients, that never caused a breakout for me
+ lasts forever - looks even better after wearing it for a few hours, because it melts into your skin; it's also water-resistant
+ has SPF15
+ super easy to remove, no rubbing!
+beneficial for blemishes, because it contains zinc

- it's quite drying, you need to apply a really good moisturizer -> wouldn't reccomend this for very dry skin types as it may accentuate your dry skin even more

This Mineral Foundation is quite matte and can be drying at times. But if you use a hydrating moisturizer and rosewater spray to fix it, your skin looks natural, glowing and healthy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top