Schwarzkopf • Bonacure Color Save Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.9(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BoneyMaroney on 8/7/2014 9:18:00 AM more reviews by BoneyMaroney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been searching for a purple shampoo that will keep my blonde dyed hair from turning brassy/yellow/gold. I have well water and although I do use a water softener and a special shower head filter, I was still was noticing that my blonde color was turning a little brassy. I have tried many many products, and none of them have worked as well as this one!

After reading many great reviews on this shampoo, I thought I'd try it. I LOVE IT! I noticed after the first use that it really took out some of the brassiness and my blonde was much truer to the color it should be. Also, I like the way the texture of my hair is as well, very managable and lustrious. I shampoo my hair about three times per week and use this shampoo once or twice a week. I have very fine, straight, oily, long, color treated hair. If you are blonde and want to keep your color true - try this shampoo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jtobs on 9/29/2012 2:29:00 AM more reviews by Jtobs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

As a stylist I like to try products before I will recommend them to clients, I personally liked this shampoo. The Schwarzkopf products I have tried are high quality and produce positive results. After trying this product on my own color treated hair I would recommend this shampoo to those who are looking for a color care shampoo to preserve color and shine. My scalp was left feeling clean and not dried out, my hair felt smooth and free from residue, and my ends felt moisturized and frizz-free.

I used this in conjunction with Bonacure Color Save Conditioner

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 visageaparis on 9/14/2012 11:47:00 AM more reviews by visageaparis

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Do you color your hair and have oilier roots and dry ends? Try this!
I had been posting on the hair board on the cafe from time to time looking for a product that was for color treated hair and effective on an oilier scalp with dry ends.....this one fit the bill. I am very impressed with the Bonacure Color Save Shampoo.
I haven't purchased Schwarzkopf products before but they used to be used at a salon that I went to way back when Macy's was still Marshall Field's.....the Field's salon had Schwarzkopf at the shampoo bowls and it always smelled fresh and like a "beauty salon" plus it left great results. I think that I drifted away from products that had a more traditional shampoo smell for a time in favor of Aveda or fruit smelling hair products

I have thick highlighted hair that is below my shoulder- it is thick in that I have a lot of it, but the actual hair is fine. I have to be careful with some products because they can build up.
It was this build up from some shampoos that I think was the culprit to my oilier scalp.
I decided to get this when Ulta had a liter sale and I liked it so much that I went back and bought another one plus the conditioner while it was still on sale. I will review the conditioner separately. (it is a heavier product that you need to leave on longer,so I don't use the matching conditioner every day).

Bonacure Color Save is sulfate free but gives plenty of generous lather....you only need to use a bit. It leaves my hair looking healthy, shiny and without any product residue. I always was fighting the oily scalp but dry ends, the Redken Color Extend shampoo never got my scalp really clean and left a film even though I rinse thoroughly.
I like to pair the Schwarzkopf Bonacure Color Save with the Redken Color Extend conditioner which finishes it off perfectly.
It has a UV filter to protect your hair from the sun and it really does make your color stay more true
No oily scalp, no dry ends......just great hair! I
love for my hair to smell good and fresh....pretty, but not overpowering because I wear perfume every day. This one is perfect.....makes me feel feminine and fresh and leaves my hair looking healthy.

I will repurchase, but not until it goes back on sale--I am on my second liter already though!
A big thumbs up for Schwarzkopf Bonacure Color Save shampoo!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miki19 on 6/21/2012 7:59:00 AM more reviews by miki19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product because I colour my hair and my mom had used it on her colour treated hair as a recommendation from her stylist. I thought too that originally it didn't work! It wouldn't lather on my thick hair and it would leave a residue. I talked to my mom and this is when I realized I wasn't properly using the product. You have to always rinse and repeat with this shampoo and I promise you it will give amazing results! The first lather is removing all product and dirt which is why it doesn't lather. Once you rinse and repeat the second wash it lathers up like no other! super sudsy. My colour looked so vibrant, lasted longer, and it makes your hair feel super light weight and healthy. It is slightly pricey but if you buy the jumbo size with the shampoo and conditioner together you can get the two for $30 combined. Definitely recommend this product and will be repurchasing :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jayescott on 4/25/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by jayescott

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My hairdresser recommended this shampoo to me because I color my hair, and also because it's a gentle shampoo and my hair is a bit damaged from having gotten relaxers done for many years. I have had a very good experience with it. My hair feels soft and clean when I use this shampoo, and it doesn't feel dry. I like the scent - although it doesn't stay - and while sulfate-free shampoos don't lather as much, this one has enough lather to make me feel like I'm really washing my hair! My color is definitely not fading as quickly as it was when I was using Aveda Color Care (which I found fairly worthless). I would recommend this product not only to people who color their hair, but to anyone who wants a really gentle but effective shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tina68 on 7/20/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by Tina68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo on the recommendation of my stylist. I've been using it for about two months. I bought the larger-sized bottles because they were on sale. The scent is pleasant and doesn't linger. This shampoo doesn't lather well at all. I apply a small-ish amount to wet hair, lather, give my hair a quick rinse and lather up again. I don't feel like this shampoo cleans my hair well at all. I use it with its matching conditioner. Using it more than two days in a row leaves me with limpy hair. I will finish up what I have (maybe), but won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abelharainha on 3/19/2011 8:39:00 AM more reviews by abelharainha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This shampoo is very gentle and has no sufaltes. Schawrzkopf claims this formulation has the abilty to hold color untill thirty washes.... whilst repairing hair... Well, that's a lot of promises for a simple shampoo, right? LOOL

OK, jokes aside, I am now going to descibre my experience with this sulfate-free shampoo. Well, first of all, as all sulfate-free shampoos, it does not lather properly. You have to use a hudge amount of this in order to obtain a substancial lather, wich is wrong. I mean, let's face it, we all know a sulfate-free shampoo won't provide loads of lather. No sulfates, less lather.

The other thing I don't particularly like about this shampoo is the smell. It's just... weird, I guess... Wich is just too bad because I absolutely love the way my hair feels after using this. My hair feels well moisturised, shiny and extremely light! Fortunatelly the smell doesn't linger... looool

Anyway, I can't tell if this really holds the color that much, because I only color my hair now and then and I also alternate shampoos. About the repairing factor, well I don't believe a shampoo is capable of such thing as repairing hair.

So, I recommend it to sulfate-free lovers, because this is really good. The quality of this is remarkable and you won't regret buying it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletBick on 5/27/2010 12:03:00 PM more reviews by VioletBick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Just OK. I try to only shampoo 1-2 times a week (very blonde, dry highlighted hair) but using this makes me have to way more often. My roots start getting greasy w/i a day and my hair just feels coated. It's gentle & preserves the color but I am just left w/ limp hair. I don't have that just left the salon feeling from this shampoo like I do my Jason Naturals Tea Tree. I am also not able to tell if this company tests on animals. I have been recently been trying to make an effort to avoid beauty products that do. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nell_daisy on 9/5/2009 5:35:00 PM more reviews by nell_daisy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Hands down, favorite shampoo. UV protection, sulfate free. It smells like a salon. This is the first shampoo I have used that I actually noticed a difference in color fading. It cleans, but doesn't strip the color. It moisturizes well, yet still gives oomph to my very fine hair. The matching conditioner is fantastic as well. I can't imagine using another shampoo now that I have tried this . =) HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DebWil on 5/13/2009 6:32:00 PM more reviews by DebWil

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm not one for long reviews, but I have to preach here ladies. I have been using the Color Save line for about a month, on the recommendation of my stylist. I had searched high and low for a product to volumize my fine, color treated hair without turning it to straw. (I have fine hair but a lot of it, and it's high/low lighted, shoulder length.) After trying volumizing lines from ABBA, Redken, Aveda, and countless others, she said "Have you ever tried just plain color safe line?"

In fact, I had. Redken's was OK but way too moisturizing. My head was like an oil slick, and my hair weighed down terribly. It actually clogged the follicles on my scalp and broke out the skin on my back and chest. Pureology, Aveda, blah blah blah, same thing. My stylist told me that her clients loved the Schwarzkopf Color Save line. Long story short, this stuff is nothing short of AMAZING, It moisturizes well, without weighing my hair down. I have never been able to wash my hair and go to bed with wet hair without looking like a boy with flat, unmanageable hair the next day. Now, when I wake up it's almost like I have product in my hair! It is full of body, not strawlike at all, and I can style it from there. This is HG, and not badly priced if you can catch a sale on liters. I got mine for 29 on Ebay, and a back up for 40 on sale at the salon.(shamp. & cond. liter set) Worth every penny and then some. H to the G.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Schwarzkopf products

More Shampoo products