Sally Girl • Sally Girl Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 3.7(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cwinter on 4/22/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by cwinter

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

matte very light taupe, when tan I can use this as an all over lid powder base. I don't use this color often mostly I use at as an underbase for other eyeshadows that may not have a lot of pigment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 11/11/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really do love the Sally Girl single shadows, they are awesome quality for such a great price & Taupe is one of my favorite shadows, yeah i love & adore any Taupe shadow, polish, shirt anything taupe i love it so onto my review...
=PRICE & AVAILABILITY=
The Sally Girl single shadows can be found exclusively at Sally Beauty Supply Stores or online at sallybeauty supply website. My local stores carry most of the shades so you may have to look in several to find a particular shade or find them online. These singles are only $1 well 99cents so yes, less than $1 or its 97cents if you have the Sally card. Either way, its so worth every penny you use!
=SHADE & FORMULA & PERFORMANCE=
Taupe is a great cool toned gray taupe shadow. Its a lighter shade of taupe but def very beautful. Its finish is more natural, no huge glitters or shimmer. It goes on almost matte but natural. I love using this shadow for the lid for a daytime smoky eye or even in the crease to blend out a darker smoky eye. This is a really nice light taupe shadow. I use it alot since i have really pale skin but it shows up how it looks in the pan on my lid. Wow, its so nice. even if i use this on my lid paired w/ a thicker liner its great! On its own, these last on my lid for around 5-6 hrs with no fading. I dont experience much creasing since i have normal to dry lids but def use primer & maybe even a cream base. W/ primer and/or cream base, this shadow will stay put with no fading or creasing for over 8-9 hours, have to remove w/ wipe or makeup remover. I love the staying power. These single shadows are pressed pretty well. I do have a little tiny bit of loose powder in the pan after i tap my brush in them but Taupe is pressed nicely. the shadow is soft & applies well & blends well. They dont overblend or disappear. I think these are def better than some drugstore shadows i have bought. The formula is actually really nice alot better than what i was expecting! I love it & think is a really nice shadow.
=PACKAGING=
The Sally Girl single shadows are rather unique meaning they are meant to be slid or connect together so that you can create your own custom trio or compact. The shadows come in a hard plastic square compact that snap shut or open. The lid has a lip almost that will allow you to slide it onto the next shadow. Its so hard to explain so i hope you understand. The bottom is black shiny plastic with a sticker w/ logo/name shade/ info on back. The top snap lid is see thru w/ small logo so you can see which shadow is inside. Nice if you have more than 1. The plastic is sturdy so they will go safely in makeup or travel bags. Great for on the go since they are about 3 inches big. They are def bigger than a quarter. The shadow pan takes up the whole compact. no excess packaging. The pan runs pretty deep so you get alot of shadow esp for the price. I have used these alot & have yet hit pan on any of them. They do give you alot of shadow. I love it. Be careful not to nick the shadow when opening or closing the lid. Great concept that you can connect as many as you want together. you can pair whatever shadows you like for any certain eye look. cant believe these are only $1
Overall, Taupe is an amazing shade that i use alot & def love. Its a staple of mine. Great on its own or added to any look. Can be sheer or built up. Its not a dark shade. I love it! i will def repurchase if i ever get thru this. you get alot of shadow but i can def repurchase for the price. I love it & def think these are well worth it. I think Taupe is a great shade to add to your collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 igimmeMAKEUP on 12/5/2010 2:39:00 AM more reviews by igimmeMAKEUP

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

like others have said this stuff dosent really show up much on your eyes. but thats kinda what i like about it. its super subtle for everyday. but its best for light skin tones probably. otherwise, its useless
i even use it to contour sometimes cus its so neutral and it works slightly. and yeah its more of kind of grayish taupe

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mandiluk on 9/19/2010 6:37:00 PM more reviews by mandiluk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this shade! I use it as a everyday all over the lid color and it's just enough to give my eyes definition. One swipe over the shadow is all you need. it's a build able color so don't swipe too many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iramasson on 9/7/2010 2:18:00 AM more reviews by iramasson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

To me this color seems more gray (slightly muted) then taupe. I imagine taupe slightly more brown but maybe I am wrong... Anyway this eyeshadow hardly shows up and the surprising thing is that this is what I like about it. Grays always make me look weird and dirty therefore the intensity really has to be very subtle to wear it and this shadow fits the bill. In the pan you see the most subtle sheen but on the skin it mostly looks matte. I pair it with Sally's Bark in the crease and it gives a very subtle gray look. I probably won't buy again though...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Justin11 on 3/7/2010 4:44:00 AM more reviews by Justin11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this to click onto my trio of beiges as a crease color for a natural/nude, no-makeup EOTD. It doesn't have great pigmentation, which I actually like. It's a nice addition to my (now) quad, it adds the perfect bit of depth to my e/s. I suppose it could be used wet for more color payoff, but I haven't tried it that way. For 94 cents, you really can't beat the quality...over primer they last all day and (most) have pretty decent pigmentation. I also love the fact that they click together, it's a nice way to put together a duo, trio, or quad, without having to buy a palette or be limited to just 4 shades in a quad or have a half empty larger palette.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Orangedot on 6/9/2009 1:39:00 PM more reviews by Orangedot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I made an online order from Sally's, and saw the 99cent eyeshadows. I decided to get an all over 'lid' color, and picked taupe. I was pretty disappointed when it came, and I opened it up. It doesn't show up on my skin at all. I swatched it, and I couldn't even tell where I had put it. I tried it on my lids with a base, and wasn't pleased. I wouldn't buy taupe again. I'll probably give it away to someone who doesn't wear much makeup, or to my little sister. She can use it as play makeup I suppose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 judymomocoa on 2/14/2009 12:13:00 AM more reviews by judymomocoa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I heard great things about these Sally girl's connectable e/s single and regrettably i dont think i like it, its just has the poor color payoff and dont even show up on my coloring (NC40, asian). Its looked ashy on my lid and just completely a let down. But i will give it another shot for other colors as i heard the pigmentation is much better on brighter colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Steffani14 on 11/1/2007 3:08:00 PM more reviews by Steffani14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this color for an eyebrow color. I have blondish light hair, but my brows are slightly darker. This shade is exactly what the name implies, taupe. I can use it on my brows for the slightest bit of definition, but its barely noticable, which is exactly what I like about it. I then follow with a bit of brow gel and get exactly the eyebrow look that I'm wanting. The packaging is small and its cheap. Every other time i define my brows I think its just too much, too over the top, and doesn't look right. This is perfect though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 10/30/2006 6:29:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Picked these up at Sally's for only 99 cents each. The quality is okay for a 99 cent eyeshadow. These lack major pigment, and at least for the matte shades I bought- dont come off very well. This is a true taupe color but has the tinest amount of shimmer to it. A lot of of their neutral looked like mac knock offs and I love that. I was very pleased with the color selection, price, and how they come in individual compact but can connect to each other.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Sally Girl products

More Eye Shadow products