Misa • Wishing On a Star • Polishes

rated 4.6(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 1/12/2012 10:00:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice, gentle-shimmer black that's semi-sheer & builds up to opacity in 2 coats. I'm not impressed enough to be crazy about it. I have other brands of this black that are basically the same, & I don't get any impression of 'stars' in my nails (unless I decide to add a coat of glitter nailpolish over it), so I wouldn't have named this color Wishing On A Star.


I'm on the fence as to whether I'd buy it again since I have to purchase Misa online only - in the meantime I marked Yes. It's a definite black w/a soft finish for daytime wear w/o looking garish or harsh, & it's easy to clean up polish mistakes. I love Misa bottles - the square shape & thick dense glass. Dance Fever is my favorite Misa color (dense pewter glitter in clear base) - I may try 1 thin coat on top of this polish for a dazzle that'll really make my manicure look starry!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 imagination3112 on 11/16/2008 5:33:00 PM more reviews by imagination3112

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The polish I have has a grey\black base with a matt\satin finish with a good sprinkle of micro glitters in turquoise and pink, .

The first coat went on quite streaky, took 3 coats for a good opaque look. A smooth application,

Wear: 3 days no chips, slight tip wear (do a fair amount of keyboard work).



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vbie3714 on 6/21/2008 9:00:00 PM more reviews by vbie3714

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Misa nail polish is probably my favorite brand. Wishing On A Star is almost an exact dupe of Chanel Noir Ceramic. It's a multi-shimmery charcoal. Application, the brush is great. I gave it a 4 on the packaging quality, only because the glass necks are prone to breaking.

http://img.makeupalley.com/2/2/8/7/976372.JPG

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 6/11/2008 11:55:00 AM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Black, with silver microglitter. It's very cool, but does not have as much shimmer as I'd hoped. I layered some Creative Limelight over it, and now it reminds me of the Matrix: that black computer screen with the green characters flowing down it. The hunt continues...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gigglemommy on 9/1/2007 10:39:00 AM more reviews by gigglemommy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

First of of all, Misa's application can't be beat IMO. it's so smooth and creamy, great wear too. Their packaging is really cool too, the bottles feel and look very posh :)
That being said, when i first got this shade i had a moment of dissappointment, i thought is was going to be jet black and it's actually more of a graphite black than a charcoal black. anyway, i was dissappointed for the microsecond it took me to swatch it..then the sparkly glassy gitter knocked my socks off! Definitely different from all the Chanel dupes that popped up all over the place, and totally horrified my preppy little nieces, which makes it a winner in my book ;-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karrieleigh on 2/4/2007 8:24:00 PM more reviews by karrieleigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I found the glitter in this to be kind of disappointing. I don't know if my bottle was part of a bad batch or what, but my bottle had nothing but plain sliver glitter. I've examined my nails closely in every light possible and have never seen anything but silver glitter. I don't doubt others see it as several have, but mine doesn't have it. Also, I don't like the sheerness of the polish itself. I layer it over OPI Black Onyx for the look I want. I do like the polish overall for layering over black. Once all is said and done I get a nice dark look with a good bit of silver glitter. I prefer the shimmer in Chanel Noir Ceramic as I really do see the pink and blue bits in it. And i've seen the multi-colored particles in the bottle of Revlon DP Patent Leather, but it's so similar to Noir Ceramic I've not bought it. I wouldn't purchase WoaS again, but the application is really nice and overall it's a nice polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellocatty on 1/17/2007 5:04:00 PM more reviews by hellocatty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

FINALLY- the color Chanel Black Satin SHOULD have been! Fabulous satiny black with charcoaly micro-micro-glitter. Not rough or chunky, and plenty deep and rich- the color of a starry night, or a sexy evening gown. You need this. The only thing that could make it better would be an OPI Pro-Wide brush, but great application, true to bottle color in 2 coats- no streaking or dents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 netsmad on 11/21/2006 11:31:00 AM more reviews by netsmad

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Misa makes gorgeous polishes, and Wishing On a Star is one of their best. At first inspection it looks like a glittery black/grey. In good lighting, you will see that the glitter is multi-tonal. To me it looks teal and lavender, but the effect is very subtle. Misa polish is formulated thick, but its application is smooth. Every Misa I have ever used obtains the bottle color in two coats quite easily, and wears robustly. I have no idea why this brand hasn't become more popular, since it easily rivals all of the other salon polishes with it's formula. The bottles are beautiful and easy to store as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetcobra on 10/30/2006 1:07:00 AM more reviews by violetcobra

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Fantastic. Just fantastic, and this would be in my Top 20. It's a glittery sparkly greyish black. PERFECT for the Halloween season and into New Years. Incredible genius by Misa.



....the color....



The color has two components. The base color is a greyish black. There are a lot of blacks but nothing light or greyed among them. That makes it unique. But the glitter in this kicks butt, plain and simple. The glitter is one half silver. One quarter is violet and one quarter is bright aqua. Not a turquoise, but a green watery blue. I saw these awesome glitter colors in my compact fluorescent lights that screw into a regular bulb. I took photos of this but it was very hard to capture in bright light by the fluorescent but I'll try again. Anyway, the color is spectacular!!



....the application and texture....



Normally Misas are a dresm to apply but I had to say this one was a little gloppy. It took everything I had NOT to mess up. But since the color was so thick I made very few errors. The texture was a little thick and the application was hard, but I kept a very clean outline for the first coat. The second coat lay down over that and no tremendous issues resulted. Good enough for such a great kick ass color. I like to pull a bit of color over the tip of the nail and that seemed to make the tip uneven. But I just sort of adjusted the tip and all is well.



....the wear....



So far, the wear is not an issue since I just applied this color about 2 hrs ago. I will update if I get horrible chips or peeling or less than average tip wear.



I love this color, and with black being "in" this season I expect this color will be a go to color for months this year and probably next too. Waste no time, it's only about 3 bucks or less, GET IT. I have told you, you need to see this color. I DO HAVE PICS and a bunch of them. Just PM me if you need any.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Misa products

More Polishes products