Laura Mercier • Foundation Primer - Hydrating • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.6(68 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ymillie on 7/2/2014 6:39:00 PM more reviews by ymillie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my second tube!! I really like this primer because it doesn't have that silicone feeling, which I really don't like. It comes out as a nice refreshing white gel that goes on transparent and sits nicely on my skin. I like how it has some hydration to it, since my skin is starting to get a bit drier as I age.
Packaging could be a bit better, I find a lot of product comes out even with a gentle squeeze. Price is ok ,but it has quite a lot of product, 40mL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jpxstarz on 4/1/2014 2:44:00 PM more reviews by jpxstarz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this primer because it didn't do justice for my face. Everytime, I put this primer on, I have a burning sensation for a couple of minutes. It didn't hydrated my face. I still have dry patches after using this primer for days. The price is a bit expensive, but I willing to invest something to improve my makeup foundation staying power. It didn't do anything for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 1/26/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought this primer a couple years ago. Finished it up and forgot about it. I really did not like this primer because it didn't help with the stay of my makeup. It felt more like a moisturizer than a primer. For me it had no properties of a primer (i.e. filling in fine lines, blurring pores, longevity, etc). Maybe it works for others but for me it was a dud.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carolinka112 on 1/1/2014 10:01:00 AM more reviews by carolinka112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing primer! I have really dry skin in the winter. So dry that usually no amount of exfoliating and moisturizing will prevent flaking. I recently found a routine that keeps my skin relatively hydrated and flake free (Clairasonic + Clinique moisturizer). However I found that wearing makeup for any significant length of time lead to dry patches and it practically melting off in some areas. I went to Sephora to try to find a primer that would help my make up last and was given a sample of MUFE HD primer. While is was an okay primer it didn't really solve any of my problems. I then got a sample of the Laura Mercier Hydrating Primer after reading a few reviews and it definitely works. My makeup stays on all day, my skin is hydrated and doesn't flake, and it doesn't get that shiny throughout the day. Best primer for dry winter skin, could not be any happier :).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 supafob on 7/29/2013 8:23:00 PM more reviews by supafob

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    


Likes:
Hydrating
Lightweight
Dewy finish, but not greasy or oily

Dislikes:
- Texture: it is a little bit too wet for my liking when I first put it on my skin. It takes a few rubs around my face before the product actually absorbs into the skin. Once the product is absorbed, it doesn't feel like I have any product on.


At $32, I wouldn't jump at buying this again once I run out. I would probably spend some time trying to find cheaper options. The stand-out benefit of this product is that it hydrates & nourishes my skin. Yes, this product does its job in creating a smooth canvas for the rest of your makeup, but most primers do that if you compare it to putting makeup on just your bare skin. If you compare this primer with others, I can't say it's at all "amazing" or "does wonders." When I do wear makeup (usually medium to full coverage), I find that my MAC foundation still rubs off, but my Dior Airflash doesn't. Not sure if it's the awesomeness of the foundation itself, or the primer itself, or the combination. Someone told me that most of LM's products work best when used together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nursecatie on 7/20/2013 8:34:00 AM more reviews by nursecatie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

I love Smashbox primer, I love the velvety feel I get with it. However I really have been having difficulty getting my skin to look good again so alas I carted my naked fact to the Laura Mercier counter at Von Maur and she turned me on to this primer. I still use my moisterizer first (as she told me to) and then I apply this. It really does help smooth out my skin for when I put on my foundation. You only have to use a little! This will last me a long time. You get what you pay for with this primer! And if you are looking for something to smooth out your skin and prep for foundation you need to give this a try!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jyfh on 5/29/2013 5:49:00 AM more reviews by Jyfh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Very easy to apply. Makes my face super smooth. Oil free. Holds my foundation in place throughout the days. Cons: It's a bit pricey but for 1.7oz, it's worth it if you have the money to splurge on it! Skin Type I have is combination oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lady_vanilla on 5/2/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by lady_vanilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love love LOVE this primer. I have a very dry skin and unlike most heavy silicone-based primers out there, it isn't drying out my skin. It is moisturizing and have a cooling effect on my skin. Take note that this primer does contain silicone unlike her other primers. However, this don't blur out imperfections or pores like most primers such as Loreal Magic Perfecting Base or Lancome La Base Pro, etc. This does leave the skin moisturized and silky smooth for tinted moisturizer or foundation application after. It did help my tinted moisturizer stay a bit longer and it didn't make my tinted moisturizer or foundation patchy at the end of the day. I didn't break out from this primer either.

For 1.7oz, I don't think this is expensive at all. Will keep repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweetsweetchristine on 2/6/2013 7:28:00 AM more reviews by sweetsweetchristine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the second Laura Mercier primer I've tried after the Foundation Primer-Mineral. And I still cannot convince myself to like their primer even though my best friend is deeply in love with the primer. It is indeed very hydrating that it is almost like a face moisturiser. After using it, I have not experienced anything that it claims. It does not make you skin smoother, doen not contain any sun screen, does not help your foundation to stay longer, and it is very expensive for what it is! 27/30ml and it only lasted me for a month and a half. I really wish I could like this primer but I really can't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mandyfkm on 1/12/2013 11:31:00 PM more reviews by mandyfkm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A good hydrating premier that make ur makeup last long. I have combination skin, and I use it on my dry areas (face) before applying the LM silk cream foundation. For T-zone I use an oil-control premier. With LM's mineral powder as the setting powder, the whole makeup is long lasting and it doesn't oxidise. I haven't given full points since I haven't tried it in summer. Lasting power yet to see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Primer/ Corrector products