Laura Mercier Foundation Primer - Hydrating

3.7

74 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, PEG/PPG-18/18, Dimethicone, Sodium PCA, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sucrose Distearate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Polysilicone-11, Phenooxyethanol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Xylitylglucoside, Caprylyl Glycol, Anhydroxylitol, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, C30-45 Alkyl Cetearyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Xylitol, Glyceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Sorbic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 60, Tripotassium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Hyaluronic Acid, Allantoin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Saccharomyces/Xylinum Black Tea Ferment, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Aloe Barbardensis Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Potassium Sorbate, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben. May contain ( /-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Carmine (CI 75470)


on 5/20/2015 12:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i like this . i think it helps to make my foundation last longer. its hydrating and light..



on 5/13/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my holy grail primer I've been using for two years now. It extends the life of my makeup (in most cases) while adding hydration to my lizard-like skin. It's the only one I've come across that works and doesn't break my Goldilocks skin out.

I'm going to sing its praises in the following ways:

1. It's cheap per oz. The product itself is 1.7 fl oz, meaning, more bang for your buck versus Smashbox or other hydrating primers. So if you do the math, it's actually $21.76/fl oz, which is pretty good compared to other mid-to-high end primers.

2. It actually hydrates. I've played with the radiance one, which is well and good, but what's the point of faking radiance when you can actually get your skin more radiant with some hydration? I'm still in my 20's, so I might be changing my tune on this one eventually, but I can notice my cheeks feel less taut and tight when I put some of this on. With other primers (again, Smashbox)--it lasts for a few minutes before soaking in and going away.

3. It works. When I'm trying foundations, I experiment with them to see the most effective way to get the coverage and use out of it. Sometimes, that includes doing the "Goss Method" of powder first prior to the foundation. For people with dry skin, this can suck out moisture if you're not careful, but using this product offers a line of defense against loss of moisture and it's a great base to adhere products. It worked very well when I used mineral foundation.

This product does not always play nice with some foundations, however. I notice if the foundation is marketed as having a primer built-in (e.g. Armani Luminous Silk or Koh Gen Do Aqua), the product disappears faster. So, it will depend on which foundation you use, but I've had success more often than failure.

As with all cosmetics, ymmv, but I'm gonna ride or die with Laura Mercier Hydrating.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Laura Mercier really outdid themselves. This primer is really, really great. I do find that it hydrates my dry skin. It also helps my foundation stay on all day. I don't find that it helps with my skin's texture that much. However, it's a hydrating primer (so I didn't expect it to really help with texture that much).

It's awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2014 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this primer when the 20% Sephora sale was going on. I'm very happy that I did. I have very sensitive dry skin that is easily clogged. This primer has helped me wear the foundations that have been lying around that I've been unable to wear because my skin was just too flakey. I've noticed that I haven't had any new breakouts since using this.

My only complaint is that while it still has some 'cones in it to hide some of the flakiness the witch hazel and alcohol in the primer have a tendency to dry my skin out a bit if I wear it all day every day.

I just need to find a slightly thicker moisturizer and I have a feeling this will be one of my favorite primers!


on 10/8/2014 1:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I decided to splurge on primer and buy this one after reading reviews for it, most if them good. The first day I used it I noticed a difference! My pores looked smaller, less noticeable and my makeup stayed on all day. I have sensitive skin, but this didn't upset my skin at all. Love this primer!


on 8/30/2014 11:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Perfect primer for very dry skin. Primes skin for a flawless finish that lasts all day. Will definitely buy again.


on 7/2/2014 6:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second tube!! I really like this primer because it doesn't have that silicone feeling, which I really don't like. It comes out as a nice refreshing white gel that goes on transparent and sits nicely on my skin. I like how it has some hydration to it, since my skin is starting to get a bit drier as I age.
Packaging could be a bit better, I find a lot of product comes out even with a gentle squeeze. Price is ok ,but it has quite a lot of product, 40mL.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2014 2:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't like this primer because it didn't do justice for my face. Everytime, I put this primer on, I have a burning sensation for a couple of minutes. It didn't hydrated my face. I still have dry patches after using this primer for days. The price is a bit expensive, but I willing to invest something to improve my makeup foundation staying power. It didn't do anything for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2014 7:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I actually bought this primer a couple years ago. Finished it up and forgot about it. I really did not like this primer because it didn't help with the stay of my makeup. It felt more like a moisturizer than a primer. For me it had no properties of a primer (i.e. filling in fine lines, blurring pores, longevity, etc). Maybe it works for others but for me it was a dud.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2014 10:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing primer! I have really dry skin in the winter. So dry that usually no amount of exfoliating and moisturizing will prevent flaking. I recently found a routine that keeps my skin relatively hydrated and flake free (Clairasonic + Clinique moisturizer). However I found that wearing makeup for any significant length of time lead to dry patches and it practically melting off in some areas. I went to Sephora to try to find a primer that would help my make up last and was given a sample of MUFE HD primer. While is was an okay primer it didn't really solve any of my problems. I then got a sample of the Laura Mercier Hydrating Primer after reading a few reviews and it definitely works. My makeup stays on all day, my skin is hydrated and doesn't flake, and it doesn't get that shiny throughout the day. Best primer for dry winter skin, could not be any happier :).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top