Prada • Tinted Shielding Balm spf 15 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.8(144 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 9/20/2010 11:26:00 AM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using tint #1 and so far, I am very pleased with the product quality. The balm has a very light tint to it, just enough to give a hint of color. The consistency is *very* thick - almost like a thicker version of vaseline. It hydrates extremely well and really lasts on my lips. With other balms, I find myself reapplying every 30 minutes or so - not with this one. Even after drinking and eating, it still holds up. You need only use a very tiny amount to fully moisturize your lips for hours. The packaging is a bit unusual. This comes in little individual lip balm tubes that are sealed in plastic bags. Good for travel or to throw one in your bag, but I can easily see how they would be misplaced. Although the product quality is very nice, $40 seems steep for the amount of product one receives. Still, I will probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iori on 1/9/2009 12:39:00 AM more reviews by Iori

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Just a note, my review is on the Clear balm.

So here's what I like and dislike about it:

Pros:
-Very moisturizing. I find that the other reviewers are accurate in describing the applicable amount to a "grain of rice". That's all it takes, and I found myself only having to apply it twice a day.
- It's thick and it dries matte, which I really like - (I'm not a fan of shiny balms.) It's creamy, not greasy, and it sinks into your lips within minutes.
- It actually seemed to plump my lips.

Cons:
- The cost is ridiculous. The size of the tubes is ridiculous. I'm glad the product is as good as it is, because even if there are 8 of them per box, if you are prone to losing things, you're bound to go through them quickly, and at $40 a box that's just throwing money away.

That being said, I managed to hold onto a tube the entire time, from start to finish. I wanted to wait until I had used an entire tube to write a review because I wanted to see how long the tube lasted. I recieved my lip balm the day after Thanksgiving (2008) and it's Jan 8, 2009 and I have finally gone through one tube. And that's not due to running out of product, it's because my friend liked it so much he wanted to keep the remainder of that tube (which had at least two or three more days usage out of it). So one tube can last you about a month and a half if you use it like I did.

If you can find it on sale, I recommend it, and to be honest, I'd probably buy it again once I run out. It's a good product, albeit expensive, but you really are getting what you paid for.

Just make sure not to lose it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amygirl3540 on 9/6/2008 7:34:00 PM more reviews by amygirl3540

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

These little baby "monodose" lip shielding balms are ADORABLE and so travel friendly. I would NEVER buy these at full cost. I got one on Ebay for around $2! The consistency is nice. It has great staying power AND some SPF! I have many regular lip balms I like that do not have SPF that I wear at night, but this one is great for day. I still LOVE my Aveda Lipsaver...moisturizing, in chapstick tube form. This little balm from Prada has a screw cap, but I can't apply it directly to my lips, I have to squeeze onto my fingertip and then apply. It is more matte. Do not expect a shiny balm here. It is not a gloss. It stays all day, feels good, and is quite matte, yet moisturizing. Not sure really how moisturizing it is, but it's super cute and convenient for small purses or pockets. The scent is very, very subtle and does not bother me. It doesn't taste anything special, but you're not supposed to eat it, so, who cares? As long as it's not gross tasting (which it's not). I will only purchase again on sale or discount or ebay. Way too expensive retail ($38 for 8 monodoses .5 oz)!!!! So, not my favorite, and too expensive, which is why only 4 lippies instead of 5. Sorry, PRADA...I am not paying extra for your name.

p.s. I have the regular, non-tinting one. I have a tinted one I have not tried yet, but will update as soon as I do! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicole1519 on 5/24/2008 5:38:00 PM more reviews by Nicole1519

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome product! I read about this lip balm in Allure years ago and since I'm a sucker for any lip product, I HAD to try it. I bought my first tube on Ebay and loved it! I ended up buying a box of them (on Ebay) last year and I still have tons left. One little tube goes a LONG way. It's staying power is great but the price is steep. I'd never pay full price so Ebay it is! I don't really care for the tinted ones...they just feel different on my lips. Clear is my fave.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MELACE112 on 5/16/2008 10:40:00 PM more reviews by MELACE112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an amazing product. This is the best lip gloss ever and makes my lips so soft and healthy looking. This is also nice for use under a lipstick to avoid that caked look. I would suggest letting it dry in for about five min. before applying your lip stick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 priyaj1 on 12/13/2007 8:55:00 PM more reviews by priyaj1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, is it just me or do others think that a lot of products do what this one promises? Its not the best - even EL's lip conditioner does a better job, and if you bought it at NM, its definitely over priced. It is a great idea to dispense as a pack of 8 instead of a single, but for the price you pay, you may as well buy extra tubes and leave them around....will save my money for something better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ParisXIII on 11/29/2007 2:44:00 AM more reviews by ParisXIII

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Before I start praising this product, I have to think back to the day I bought my first box of Sheilding Balm...I was 19...had just blown $60 on this thing, and I was shocked to see how TINY the tube was. I remember being so mad!
Well, the next thing I noticed was that the formula was uber moisturizing and the tube lasted me a REALLY long time. I bought that box in 2004, and I still have maybe 4 tubes left in the box. Obviously I don't use it every day, but I use it very frequently during the cold winters here and I've still got plenty left.
The formula reminds me of A&D ointment in its color, consistency, and smell...once it goes on it really softens your lips and sheilds them from the cold wind, preventing painful cracking.
Once I run out of this product, I won't hesitate to buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupMomma on 11/6/2007 8:54:00 PM more reviews by MakeupMomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is quite possibly the best lip balm ever created! I have the clear lip balm, as well as shades 1-7, and I love them all! Each shade is beautiful; they range from pink, peach, red, brown, and plum. This lip balm has a thicker consistency so it stays on lips longer, providing lasting moisture. I don't mind the monodoses, although they would be easy to misplace. They are very expensive; I bought two boxes at full price ($38 for 8), but I was fortunate to find these for $7.99 per box at TJ Maxx, so I stocked up on my favorite shades!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DaffodilFields on 7/17/2007 9:37:00 AM more reviews by DaffodilFields

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think these are nice overall. They're unique in that they're moisturizing, but matte. I'm not too fond of the tiny tubes (so easy to lose and impractical, imo). The price is also too steep. I know TJMaxx has these very cheap a few years ago, and I wish I had known about them then b/c I would have def. gone out and hunted for some. I think they are a very nice product through. I wish they'd come out with larger tubes in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kompah on 7/11/2007 6:01:00 PM more reviews by kompah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip balm. It is worth every penny. Over the long run, I do not find it expensive. A tiny tube lasts a long time. (A typical application for me is once per day. The amount of product I need to cover my lips is about the size of a cooked grain of couscous. Just a tiny dab!) I really love it. The tube is small and flat so it doesn't take up much room in your pocket or cosmetic bag. The oils used in the product smell and taste so great that I will really need to learn to stop eating the stuff off my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Prada products

More Lip Treatments products