Egyptian Magic Healing Cream

3.8

313 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Olive Oil, Beeswax, Honey, Bee Pollen, Royal Jelly and Propolis Extract


on 4/25/2015 12:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Extremely greasy, thick, not hypoallergenic packaging and complete false advertisement!
I don't understand the hype on this product. It most likely got sponsored or something to have quite a few youtubers back in the day to talk about it. I've been meaning to write a review about it but I always seem to forget. I have two big jars of it and I barely even made a dent on the first one. Don't waste your money on this and buy a better multi purpose moisturizer.

It doesn't condition your hair whatsoever, it makes it absolutely greasy.
Your hair will look like an oil slick, vaseline blob applied onto it and expect to rub against on your clothes or face. I particularly purchased this for to heal/fade my scars, it did absolutely nothing. The texture of this product is like vaseline but thicker. A tub of vaseline is a fraction of the cost of this crap.

By reading some of the reviews, some people unfortunately broke out from this garbage. I was lucky enough to not break out from it,
It's not effective or even goes up to it's "claims".





on 4/4/2015 2:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's been two years now, and Egyptian Magic is the only facial cream I use. Not only it is completely natural ingredients, but only it keeps my stubborn eczema away. I use it all year around, even during the summer. The ointment seems oily when you first dip it out of the jar, but once massage on skin, it sinks right away into the skin. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2015 4:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this product. Living in a cold windy place, winter plays havoc with my skin. This is my ultra moisturiser. Appealed initially due to it being all natural ingredients, and was dubbed the makeup artists must-have product. This has been the only product which stops the red patches appearing in the cold wind, and also acts as a great eye cream, hand cream...When I'm travelling and short of baggage space - a little works as a good hair serum. Definite all-rounder. Is more economical than Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream, however I do think it's a bit steep. Would also like to have a smaller tub for the smaller handbag.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2015 9:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought this on a whim while at Costco... I liked that the ingredients list was short and familiar, and I wanted something heavier for the winter. It's more like Vaseline than a cream but it doesn't feel heavy or greasy to me. It makes my hands, feet, and face feel soft and moisturized, and it doesn't feel like my skin is suffocating or anything. I have very acne-prone skin and haven't had any issues with breaking out due to this. Oddly enough, I absolutely hate this as a lip balm... seems to make my lips feel even dryer than before.

That said, I'll look for something else when I'm done with this because while it works well for me, it's not nice enough to justify the high price tag. I usually use plain extra virgin olive oil as a moisturizer and this is only a step better than that (also, I think that's partly why this has worked for me; I know my skin responds well to olive oil, which is the first ingredient in this product). So if you have money to burn, by all means, give it a shot... otherwise, don't bother because it's not that incredible.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 7:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I used this cream as night cream and day cream, but this cream broke me out badly. after using this 2 times, my face end up with a lot of red bumps. Its a big no for me, the price is expensive, the packaging is unhygienic. I would not recommend this product but i still use it for my lips and other part of my bady (its expensive after all)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2015 1:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A friend gave this to me when I had super chapped lips that wouldn't heal no matter what I used, this did the trick. I now swear by this and use it on my lips every night. I have never tried it anywhere else on my body, I think it might be too rich/oily for my combination skin. I have read about people using it on their feet, so I may try that. When I run out of this I plan on buying more to keep my lips soft and moisturized!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2015 8:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been slathering this stuff on my face and neck 2-3 times a week after I use my Clairsonic and after I shower and it's made a great improvement in the texture of my skin. I get very dry near my nose (especially in winter) and this balm has helped quite a bit. I don't experience nearly as much flakiness as I used to. I have what I like to call "sneaky flakiness"-my skin will look all right before I put my makeup on, but once I begin blending patches of dryness will appear and make my face look blotchy and rough; haven't had a problem with this since I've started using Egyptian Magic.

I also get hormonal acne on my chin (late 20's are just *awful* in terms of this) and Egyptian Magic doesn't seem to clog my pores, so I use in in conjunction with drying acne products. Used to be I had to suffer from the redness and skin flaking when using things like benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid. Not anymore!

The texture will terrify you if you've never worked with something similar before and dealt with/are dealing with oil problems and acne, but once you get used to it, it's quite pleasant. Think Vaseline, but more texture. You have to gouge it out of the plastic jar with your finger and it has a semi-soft, balmy feel to it. You then emulsify it between your hands until it takes the form of an oil, then massage in. The smell is nondescript and fades within seconds.

I only use it at night because it is very heavy and oily. During the night it sinks into my skin (and often a bit on my pillowcase, so if you do this be sure to use an old one you don't mind getting greasy.) and when I wake up, most of it has absorbed. I'll gently rinse off or tissue off my face and it's ready for the day. Sink-in time will definitely will depend on how much moisture you need-everyone is different. I've also been using it on my cuticles, hands, and heels, all with very good results.

I also am most definitely in the minority on this one, but I actually don't mind the packaging. It's tacky, but in a kind of kitschy way. I like how witch-doctor-ish it looks next to all the clinical-looking bottles on my bathroom counter.

The price point is a bit up there, but if you've got dry skin and nothing else has worked, I definitely would give this a go. I wish I'd known about it when I was on Accutane a long time ago, because Aquaphor didn't really do much for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2014 6:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I picked up the double pack of this at Costco but even at Costco prices, I was a bit surprised by how pricey this seemed for a pretty unglamorous product. But I do like it. Winter has begun in earnest in The Great White North and that always means dry skin and chapping and all the other delights of cold outdoors and dry, heated indoors. Add to that the fact that I wash my hands a LOT and while I have good soap in my classroom, the soap in the washrooms at my school could probably double as floor stripper and this year, for the first time, my knuckles have become really itchy. They're not dry or cracked but feel as though they are - they're just itchy. But slathering on some Egyptian Magic really does help. Mind you, slathering on Elizabeth Arden's original Eight Hour Cream helps even more, though it is much pricier than Egyptian Magic.

I think this stuff has a lot of uses and I'm looking forward to trying it as a body moisturizer after a shower and also trying it on my feet at night. But so far, I am happy with this stuff. The packaging is pretty ugly and the product itself is not very glamorous but it does work, is made of nicer ingredients than Vaseline and seems a good all-round product to have.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2014 2:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I've had this for awhile and thought it was great for moisturizing etc. But yesterday I burnt my thumb when curling my hair with my ghd. Cold water was only soothing it temporarily and I was desperate, needing to get ready to go out. I put Egyptian Magic on the burn and it was completely soothed after about 10 minutes. It's not sore and hasn't blistered. There is a white strip down my thumb where the burn is, but it hasn't raised like it would have. Really really happy I bought this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2014 2:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

My mom and I got the two-pack at Costco (regular sized tub and a smaller one), and I really don't think this is like the godsend of miracle products, but it does have some good uses. My mom likes to use it on her lips, and for a while I was applying it to a patch of something on my dad's scalp (we're thinking it's psoriasis or something but not sure) and it helped him a lot, kept the itching down and helped to soothe and heal it up.

My little story with it is I had a really horrible crack on the corner of my mouth, I'm not joking when I say it was literally starting to just split Chelsea-grin style (not that extreme obviously but ya get my point) and nothing was helping. I was trying every kind of balm I had, every kind of moisturizer, and they did nothing for it. Then I started liberally rubbing this on every morning and night plus whenever it needed reapplying, and within a week there was a major improvement and now (two weeks later) it's pretty much completely healed.

I had tried using this on my face as a moisturizer but it made me break out. It has olive oil in it and my skin doesn't react well with that so if you have a similar issue I'd be very careful about using it on your face.

I put "no" for repurchasing because even with just the little tub it will last me forever.


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
715 Reviews
Healing Cream
313 Reviews
Back to Top