DHC • Emollient Balm • Moisturizers

rated 3.1(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evyyhl on 1/17/2013 2:19:00 AM more reviews by evyyhl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I wanted to try a light weight moisturizer so I could alternate it with my favorite Bubble & Bee Organic Face Cream (it has shea butter & rosehip oil so it's very heavy) for my extremely sensitive acne prone skin. Despite the poor reviews of this product on this site, I still wanted to try this product because I liked the concepts of DHC and I read some good reviews on DHC's site (maybe biased) and else where.


Here are my comments about this Emollient Balm:


Texture: It has a very thin and watery consistency. So I think the word "Balm" on the packaging may be misleading!! The light weight texture is suitable for oily and combination skin.


Smell: It smells like a combination of oat meal, milk and an odd honey smell (probably comes from the royal jelly). So it doesn't have a sweet honey aroma. However, the smell doesn't bother me at all. I think it's better that skin care products don't contain "harmful artificial fragrance" chemicals. The fragrance chemicals can give me very bad headaches & allergic skin reactions. Luckily this "balm" (watery lotion) does not cause headache for me.


Results: It does provide enough hydration but that's about it. It's not a miracle lotion. I've been using this balm for 2 months but everything else in my skin care stays the same. My skin did not react to it for the 1st 3 weeks. Then I noticed some white bumps on my face. I wasn't sure whether it's acne or not? I kept getting more and more small white bumps on my face. With the help of Tazorac (retinol cream), these white stuff finally emerged to the surface so I could squeeze them out. I'm guessing they were non-inflammatory acne underneath my skin. I stopped using this balm & the white bumps didn't reappear.


Packaging: It's in a glass bottle with pump. I like the packaging, but it's not easy to travel with.


Ingredients: Although I like the philosophy of DHC company, I don't like the "PLACENTAL PROTEIN" ingredient in this balm. I found some reviews indicated that these animal proteins were derived from cell cultures (but what kind of animal's cells did they come from) according to DHC. I prefer skin care products without animal ingredients (my personal preference), although both animal or plant derived ingredients can cause skin sensitivity and allergic reactions. So I will not repurchase this.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CTansimore on 7/17/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by CTansimore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My skin looks great after using this. It works well after a retinol, AHA product and seems to nourish and replenish. It also works especially well as a make up base under a powder foundation. I just ordered three bottles (on sale). It's my HG for right now. As for the smell, it is important. You should try a sample before purchasing. I love the smell. I agree with the other reviewer ---it is a comforting smell, like milk and honey. I think that it is a great product and hope that they never discontinue it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 8/14/2011 6:36:00 PM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of this. I actually quite like the product--it goes on nicely and melts right in. It's advertised as best for oilier skins, but in summer even my dry skin was quenched by this. The dealbreaker for me is the awful smell...like baby spit-up!!! (I thought maybe it had gone "off" until I read other comments here.) Smell is a big issue for me when applying facial products. Although the smell (in my case) didn't linger, it did make me cringe in dread each time I went to use this. I think it's important to enjoy putting a product on your face, so I wouldn't buy this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 8/14/2011 3:12:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Got this in a swap. OMG you weren't lying when you said it reaked!! Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews til I already made the swap. Had I known it smelled like spoiled baby formula, I wouldn't have given it a second glance. I tested it out on my hand out of curiousity. I wanted to see if the effect justified the smell... It doesn't seem to be anything special as far as its moisturizing effects... and the smell is just too bad. It's by far the WORST cosmetic/skincare product I have ever smelled. Everyone is different though. May smell good to you... Not to me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rachel1234 on 10/28/2010 11:56:00 AM more reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. It's sheer and lightweight on my skin, which is hugely important because I have very oily skin. It absorbs quickly and leaves a matte finish (which is good because I hate when a product leaves my face shiny), and it works nicely under my Bare Minerals Matte foundation. Allows my skin to feel 'natural' like it can breathe ... like having nothing on my skin, just clean, soft skin .... very nice. As for the scent, yes it does smell like baby formula, but I don't mind. It's not a bad scent, just .... milky. And it does fade fairly quickly once I put on my makeup. Overall, the Emollient Balm is a winner for me and gets 5 lippies. I'll definitely buy again. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kikster on 12/9/2008 5:06:00 AM more reviews by Kikster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Got this as a sample. The smell was so disgusting, I really couldn't bring myself to even finish the sample. The smell lasts, too; I kept getting whiffs of baby formula smell and had to remember that it was actually my moisturizer. Aside from the smell, it didn't leave my extremely oily skin greasy or sticky. If only they would mask the smell; it would make this product usable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MoiraMoira on 12/5/2008 3:28:00 PM more reviews by MoiraMoira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

I have dry to extra dry skin. I think this would be good for Summer, but for Winter it's just not quite moisturizing enough. It's the middle of the day and my face feels tight. For normal-dry skin this would be much better even in Winter. I much prefer the DHC extra night cream. My face felt so soft and supple when I used that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mu46032 on 6/30/2008 9:25:00 AM more reviews by mu46032

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This product is hard to review because the smell is so strange, that it is hard to get beyond. On first application, it felt nice but it smelled like baby formula, which I thought was kind of interesting at first. As the day went on the milk scent intensified and I could still smell my face by the evening (not a good thing). It reminded me of when my kids were babies and my clothes always smelled like milk. Also, it felt silky at first, but I think it dried out my skin a bit. It's not very moisturizing despite its name. DHC has some real winners, but unfortunately, this is not one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* signsoflife on 5/26/2008 1:37:00 PM more reviews by signsoflife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily, acne-prone skin that occasionally needs moisturizer. I like DHC's Emollient Balm better than their Water Base Moisture, which left a strange, tight film over my face that interfered with my sunscreen and makeup application. The Emollient Balm does have an unusual smell, but I did not find it offensive, just different. It's kind of like milk or raw egg to me, YMMV. It moisturized my skin just enough so that it felt comfortable, rather than greasy. I really don't like the container but I may buy this again in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Plumblossomfairy on 12/2/2007 2:59:00 PM more reviews by Plumblossomfairy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I bought mine a couple months ago and have found it to be just right for my super oily yet mature (40) skin. If my skin feels a little tight after cleansing, I put a little of this on before my sunscreen and it takes care of the dry, tight feeling without adding stickiness or shine which are the banes of those of us with the "curse" of ultra-oily skin. Hate the heavy glass bottle--it is not well-shaped for easy handling and it has slipped out of my hand(s) numerous times. It is a little pricey, but I use so little and it does come up for sale now and then.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Moisturizers products