MAC • Brow Shader - Soft Charcoal and Maple • Brows

rated 4.7(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blacklondon on 2/8/2010 3:10:00 PM more reviews by blacklondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the highlight colour, its perfect. But the brow shade is too dark for me. It makes my brows look scary and fake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lipsstainedred on 9/11/2009 4:47:00 AM more reviews by lipsstainedred

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For a long time i had a hard time finding a product for my brows, I am NC25 with dark brown hair, my eyebrows are black, and any brow powder or pencil looked too harsh on me. So i gave this product a try and I really love it because it's not very pigmented but makes my brows look very groomed and nice, also this powder has no red undertones :) It comes with a highlighter that is also really nice, I use it sometimes for the inner corners of my eyes or to highlight my nose. I wish they did not discontinue....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 9/10/2009 10:23:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the brow shaders and am SO disappointed that MAC discontinued these, because they were pure genius! I alternate between this one and the Walnut/Ivoire depending on my hair color, and I love them both!! Soft Charcoal is perfect for the fall/winter months when I tend to go deeper with my hair coloring. It's a neutral deep brown. The highlight side is an added bonus, but MAC would've perfected this had they put a wax on the other side, since I think most of us have a zillion "highlight" shades. The brow shaders are awesome though! Excellent pigmentation and applies wonderfully. Hoping MAC will bring these back permanently to the line!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mkupmad727 on 7/19/2009 10:57:00 AM more reviews by mkupmad727

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

got this in a swap. alone it does not work for me. and not great if you have dry skin either. however this is fabulous when i want to set the brow pencil i have used with a 208 brush. then the results are amazing. the highlighter shade is a lovely natural brightener that doesnt scream highlighter. it is a shame that it is discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Greenteayummy on 4/29/2009 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Greenteayummy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It makes my eyebrows look natural and stays on all day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilgs on 3/3/2009 1:08:00 PM more reviews by ilgs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Great product, so sorry to hear it's been discontinued.
The brow powder is great for those of us with really dark brows - it's not black, yet it's not too brown either, but a cold, gray-ish dark shade that makes brows look both defined and natural.
The packaging is cool and useful, I'd love to see some e\s packaged like this.
And finally the best thing - the Maple highlighter. It's the single most perfect nude eyeshadow I've even come across. It's just a touch darker than my lids, giving them depth, yet has a subtle, elegant golden satin sheen that, combined with black pencil, makes my very dark brown eyes pop in a totally natural way. I put it all over the lid, using one of MAC's eyeshadow brushes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 2/28/2009 5:45:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this but I dont love it. I will try pencils after this is done. It looks good applied with a brush and I like the highlight color. It's very flattering but I think pencils work best for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* muppitonastring on 2/1/2009 6:19:00 AM more reviews by muppitonastring

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product based on the reviews here, couldn’t decide between this and Brun eyeshadow as a brow filler, but then I thought that it makes more sense to buy a product that is designed for brows. I love the black slide-drawer packaging, it is so convenient and slick. The product itself is excellent, the best natural looking brow shader for black eyebrows that I have tested so far. As described in previous reviews, it does not have any red or blue undertones, which is usually a problem with products for dark eyebrows. The colour is a touch lighter than Brun I think, it’s a flat dark ashy/taupe brown. I apply it with Japonesque’s angle brush (‘Travel Brow Definer’). The highlighter part ‘Maple’ I don’t really care for because I’m not into brow highlighters but I’m sure some people would appreciate it, looks like a golden/honey nude shade in the pan. Overall, this gives me a softer look compared to pencil but I still mostly wear pencil because of it’s ease of use and because it lasts longer on me. This is handy for me to have around for an alternative brow look when I have more time. I doubt I will buy any other brow powder again since this is as good as it gets for me as far as non-pencil brows are concerned. 4.2g, £11 in UK. And by the way for those who are allergic, this contains Bismuth Oxychloride.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wsk449 on 1/20/2009 9:45:00 PM more reviews by wsk449

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love this packaging! However, instead of the highlight on one side, I wish they would've put a wax instead. I'm a dark blonde and I thought this color would be way too dark, however, I applied it lightly and it was a really good shade actually!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amarock on 1/19/2009 2:27:00 PM more reviews by amarock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has been discontinued! I went on the MAC website because I'd recommended this product to a friend and wanted to show her the product page but it's gone (also another post notes that it has been discontinued). Why?!! It's my HG item for my brows. Fills in perfectly and is so subtle that people don't even notice that I have done anything to my brows. The colour is a perfect match for me - not too brown, but not stark black. The brow powder is not waxy, but also not powdery - and the staying power is great, lasts all day until I wash my face. And it's so handy to have the lighter highlighter shade right beside the brow colour - the highlighter is not too frosty and is good for brow bone or the inner corner of the eyes. The matchbox type of packaging is also another feature of this product - travels great and looks so sleek. I'm quite bummed out that this is discontinued. I'm now on the hunt for a back up - I just tried looking on ebay but this shade is not listed. I've had mine for about a year and it still has a lot of product left so I will have time to snag one if I'm vigilant on ebay... I think I paid about $18 Cdn for it (but I'm sure I'll be paying more now!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Brows products