MAC • Velvet 6 Smoked Eyes Holiday 2006 Palette • Palettes

rated 4.7(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jackontherocks on 12/30/2010 11:31:00 AM more reviews by jackontherocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

So, I bought this pallette in 2006... I definitely think if you're a person that knows how to apply eyeshadow and likes smokey eyes, it's great - beautiful but unique colors, nothing too outrageous: club, satin taupe, malt - tend to be more practical colors. I, however, am an amateur at eyeshadow application and smokey eyes, so I haven't use this as it should be. But I do use the colors separately. Packaging is cute & sturdy...not that it matters b/c it's like 4 years outdated, ha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chrisie on 5/9/2009 8:12:00 PM more reviews by chrisie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this palette so much,but still not sure what color combinations would work for me.I'm not much of a *smokey eyed-girl*,but would love to try @ least once.For now,I just use indivual colors from this.If this happen to come around again.I would definitely repurchase ^^

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xfoxglove on 12/21/2008 3:07:00 AM more reviews by xfoxglove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite palette from MAC. I can do so many different looks with it, even some nice day looks. Usually palettes have some colors that don't work for me or throw in one or two lustres that I really dislike.

I know that smoking out the eye is easy, but this makes it a breeze. I threw this in my travel bag to do holiday eyes this year!

SHADES::
Vex is a frost that a lot of people say is a highlight, but I would never use it like that on me. Too frosty. I like this on the lid though. I think my only gripe is that there is no highlight, but it's not a huge deal to throw in a 5gram jar of something to highlight with.

Club is a satin that is a pretty reddish brown with a green sheen. Gorgeous texture and doesn't go ugly ruddy red on me like a lot of other similar shades do.

Satin Taupe is a frost that is a shimmery warm bronzey brown. Love the combinations that I can do with this one!

Malt is a matte shade. A lot of people say this is the color of their skintone and in the pan I think it is, but it goes on darker and dirty looking almost. Maybe that's because I'm fair. I like this color, but it's not a base for me.

Black Tied and Gentle Fume are both velvet shades, the first being a black with a silver sparkle and the latter a soft grey with silver sparkle. I thought I wouldn't use these much. I'm not one for sparkles in my shadows, a huge reason I stay away from UD shadows, but I get hardly any glitter all over my face. I love these!!

When I use my fluidlines with these I love going over them with these shadows or setting the liner on my waterline with them. The sparkles are pretty and the shimmery quality of Club and Satin Taupe are gorgeous and add another dimension to the look!

The packaging is pretty, but a little impractical. The charm snags and I'm afraid of getting it caught in my bag and the velvet attracts a lot of fuzz, but that's easy to clean off and the charm can be detatched so it's not a huge deal.

Out of all my palettes, this brush is the worst. The bristles were very long and I wouldn't place the color. I usually use my own brushes, but it still could be better in case I needed to run out and had limited space in my bag.

I would totally buy this palette again if I could!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Muartsy on 11/15/2008 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Muartsy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: My favorite palette from MAC and own about 20. Creates a beautiful smoky eye easily. Colors are super smooth & pigmented. I actually love every shade in the palette except 1, which never happens. The only other thing you need is mascara to complete the look. I love that the packaging is cute, durable and compact...great from travel (or your handbag)!

CONS: Gentle Fume is a somewhat redundant color. Kinda close to Satin Taupe but not as pretty. I would have preferred another lighter highlight shade or maybe a deep green or something to change things up occasionally. The brush that comes inside is kinda dinky. I use my own full size brushes instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* love2buymakeup on 7/16/2008 9:34:00 AM more reviews by love2buymakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this palette for everyday wear. I love MAC palettes, so I may be biased, but I love the colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CallistoLuna on 4/28/2008 4:12:00 PM more reviews by CallistoLuna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this palette enough to but a second one. It didn't bother me that all but one of the shadows were from the permanent line because the only one I had was Club (which is one of my favorites, so I didn't mind having an extra pan of it).
This palette has a versatile array of shades that I have personally combined to create a beautiful "daytime" eye, a punchy party look, or an all out gothic smokey eye. I'm sure the imagination is the limit with this one!
This palette has 6 colours, and they all have excellent to good textures:
Club (satin) is a fabulous reddish brown with a green shimmer coming through (when used wet the shimmer really comes out). It is great for use for lining the eye, in the crease or all over the lid depending on the look you wish to achieve.
Vex (frost) is a pretty soft whitish grey with a hint of pink/green shimmer coming through. I think this is wonderful as a brow highlighter, but also all over the lid as a base if you want to try an all out gothic smokey eye.
Satin Taupe (frost) is a warm brown with a bronze shimmer. This color is utterly gorgeous and is versatile for use as a day or night shadow. The shimmer in this shadow can be subtle to showy depending on how light/generous you are when applying this.
Malt (matte) is an understated pinky beige colour that I useful on its own or as a base shadow underneath a more dramatic look. When I bought this palette, I thought I wouldn't use this one as much, but I find I use it in almost every combination I do with this palette.
Black Tied (velvet) is black with a silver sparkle. I'm not much of a fan of this texture, but I generally use it for lining and contouring the eye.
Gentle Fume (velvet) is the only limited edition shade in this palette (also been repromoted in MAC's gentle fume quad from the smoke signals collection). It a soft grey with silver sparkle and it is a pretty color but again I'm not thrilled with the texture. Again it can be used for a variety of looks ranging from demure to daring.
The packaging is cute: velvet top and little beaded MAC charm hanging from the side. I don't like the charm bit so I removed it (it kept getting snagged in my bag). I also have to run a piece of sticky tape over the velvet top every so often to keep it looking "respectable" as the velvet likes to collect dust. Other than this, the container itself is quite sturdy and user friendly. It sits nicely in the hand when using it.
This palette was limited edition, but fortunately most of the colors are obtainable from the permanent line. I highly recommend them as top contenders if someone is putting together a custom palette for their versatility. I would repurchase again if I could (I'm onto my second palette now:)).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziggy_medusa on 1/8/2008 5:15:00 AM more reviews by ziggy_medusa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am generally not a huge fan of MAC although they do have some standout products, i usually get turned off the hype that surrounds each collection and the OTT makeup and attitude the SA's sport. This is one of the standout products for me. I picked it up on holidays in Singapore when the collection was released and have not regretted it. Pros: Versatile shades which can be used for a neutral eye for day or a smokey eye for night. Satin Taupe and Club are the two standout shades for me, beautiful texture and unique colours. The packaging is compact and pretty. Not too expensive really for a high end product. Cons: I honestly cannot think of any - this is a really handy palette which i find myself reaching for on a frequent basis. If you can pick a mac smoked holiday palette up go for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CraxFactor on 12/28/2007 4:27:00 PM more reviews by CraxFactor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This palette is nice for travel, but considering that I only ever use Satin Taupe and Vex, not a great investment. No special must-haves.


*Vex itself is kind of a strange highlighter, because it's so frosty. I wear it right above my iris, so it brings out the green in my eyes. Also good in the inner corners. But unwearable for me on the brow bone, because of all the fine lines.

*Malt is not light enough for covering up hangover eye, and not pink enough to bring out any color in my irises. It's kind of dusty calamine-lotion colored.

*The glittery gray and black shadows. . . I'm not into sparkly smokey eyes.

*Club is a nice parlor trick, but as a 2-in-1 I tend to think of it as a mediocre muddy brown AND an unwearable frosty alien sea-foam green. Like my old futon that was an uncomfortable couch AND an uncomfortable bed.

*And if you love Satin Taupe, you probably already know it and own it.


Overall: cute, compact, good mirror and brush, and lots of colors to choose from. This is a very fun palette to play with. But not a can't-live-without. Try the colors from the permanent line separately; don't freak out over it on eBay.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CutestCutie on 11/25/2007 1:06:00 AM more reviews by CutestCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A beautiful palette with an array of wearable colors. The only one that doesn't look so good on me is the top left matte light pink (sorry I don't remember the name) and Club. The other colors are gorgeous, and I absolutely love the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LizC21 on 10/28/2007 6:41:00 PM more reviews by LizC21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like the new Smoking Eyes Quad better that was from Smoke Signals than the Smoked Eyes Palette. Wouldn't repurchase this again because all except for one shadow are part of the permanent collection. This has Malt, Vex, Satin Taupe, Club, Gentle Fume, and Black Tied. At the time I bought this, I only had Vex and Black Tied. Malt is a matte pinkish beige that doesn't suit my skin well...almost looks greyish on me. Love Vex, Club and Black Tied. Satin Taupe is okay, but I can only have so many browns and this isn't one that is anything special for me. Gentle Fume barely shows up on me except for some sparkle. I think I will stick with buying individual shadows for the most part.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Palettes products