Farouk CHI • Chi Keratin Mist • Hair Treatments

rated 4.1(102 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 giraffe4994 on 8/5/2013 10:39:00 PM more reviews by giraffe4994

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Firstly: YOU SHOULD NOT USE THIS PRODUCT EVERY DAY! This is only to be used when hair is in desperate need for repair from either heat damage or chemical damage! Using this too often will dry your hair out more than it will help it!
Moving on, this stuff is absolutely wonderful for hair that is over processed! I'm in the process of going from dark brown to blonde, and so of course there is bleaching involved. I did a full head bleach today and as I was always experimenting with different color dyes and such, my hair had become quite over processed and the bleaching really took a toll. My hair was breaking off left and right and was left kind of a complete mess, so I ran to the drugstore to get another product, but unfortunately they didn't have it in stock. So, instead, I spotted this and had heard good things about it, so I picked it up instead. I purchased mine for full price at $17 at Shoppers Drug Mart. I wet my hair slightly, sprayed this all over, especially concentrating on the split, broken ends, and when it dried, WOW! I ran a brush through it gently (always brush very gently) and there was hardly any breakage, just some stray hairs like you would normally see. I have to say I was a bit skeptical about it as I know keratin and proteins can mess your hair right up, but I was beyond amazed at how drastically it affected my hair. (Note: I did use this in conjunction with Chi's Silk Infusion, which I swear by, so if you're suffering from dry hair and are looking for a good serum with heat protector, I would suggest checking it out.) The price is a bit up there, but since you hardly ever have to use it (seriously, only once in a blue moon) this bottle will last you FOREVER! So you're really getting great bang for your buck. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the packaging can be quite awkward if you have tiny hands, but it's still manageable and nothing that would deter me from using this product. Also, the smell is super yummy! Like a previous reviewer mentioned, it definitely smells like sexy man's cologne (like most of Chi's products I have found) Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mewables on 8/3/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Mewables

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Got this on 75% off clearance at Walgreens. Does using keratin on something dead like hair even do anything? I use this as a leave-in conditioner, and even though I didn't know you're supposed to use only occasionally, I do only use this on occasion. I always brush after to distribute the product evenly and detangle. Leaves my hair very soft after blow drying, but, nothing other brands of leave-in don't do. Definitely wouldn't pay full price for this item. The fat bottle is kind of hard to hold and spray if you have small hands, I use both hands to hold the bottle sometimes lol. It's a good product, but nothing I'm especially fanatical about. Maybe I will notice more results with continued use, which in that case, i will edit...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinksexyhair on 6/26/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by pinksexyhair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING PRODUCT!!!! I use the Chi Infra shampoo with the Chi Nourish Intense Masque and then after my shower I spray in the Chi Keratin Mist. I love this line for when my hair is in need of strengthening (keratin.) This keeps my hair strong and prevents damage and breakage. Absolutely recommend this 100% for anyone who has weak, brittle hair in need of keratin. Keep in mind though - too much keratin will make your hair stiff and cause it to break.. So rotate moisturizing products into your routine. I like to rotate moisturizing shampoo's / conditioners into my routine but I use the Keratin Mist at least every other night. =) xo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TouchOfSin on 6/19/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by TouchOfSin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I swear I don't understand the way this works. I've used it directly from the spray on my hair and I didn't notice any results, plus with the continued use I started seeing no results (Yes, I now understand keratin cn't be used everyday, lol) Overall, in the past I didn't have any good experience with this.

But I found that spraying into my palms a decent amount, and then applying it on the surface of my hair made me get great results! It was silky soft and shiny! But It was also a tad greasy, probably I used too much (I sprayed on my palms 2-3 times) But I can't give a final judgement yet, I need to experiment more now that I found a way for it to work for me.

I love the scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mariefranci on 4/7/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by mariefranci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't consider it a Holy Grail Product. It's okay. It definitely gives your hair some shine, but after a few times using it, it wasn't working that great anymore and I wouldn't use it all the time. Maybe every OTHER hair wash. It's a decent price considering on how much you get in the bottle. Found it at shoppers Drugmart in canada. I won't give up on this product, but I don't think I would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 myrtoula12 on 9/25/2012 9:04:00 AM more reviews by myrtoula12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great product! It is a protein treatment, yet very moisturizing. As all protein treatment is not to be overused. So probably one should use it after every wash for the first while and then lesser. But it leaves hair soft, very nice scented . It 's not cheap but you get really much product so it lasts a long time.
I would definately reccoment it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GGnumber1fan on 6/26/2012 1:36:00 PM more reviews by GGnumber1fan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm in love with the CHI Keratin Mist, it's honestly such a simple product to achieve strong, healthier hair. As most of us know, keratin is a key ingredient that promotes stronger hair with more strength, therefore, it helps keep our hair strong to prevent from damage. A lot of people mistake this product for a heat protectant when it is really more of a light leave-in conditioner.
I don't currently use this anymore because I ran out of my last bottle quite some time ago, but i do remember this product doing wonders for my hair in terms of my hair's health. I straighten my hair every single day for school and almost every single weekend as well, and I swear, this product definitely has helped my hair stay very strong and combat that heat I was constantly giving it. I think the silk amino acids also helped reconstruct the damage I might of already had, too.
Overall, this product definitely is great because it's very lightweight and won't weigh the hair down. Also, it's very easy to use, I just sprayed it all over my damp hair before blowdrying, mind you, I also do add more products than just this one before drying my hair. This product smells good as well. For the cons, I'd say just the price and the packaging. It varies wherever you go, but on average, I'll see this selling for around $14 to $20. The packaging, because it is very wide and if you have small hands like I do, it can kind of be hard to hold the bottle without dropping it, but obviously that isn't a big deal.

I definitely recommend this product, though! It's hands down worth it if you ask me and it really will last you a while, too!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cupcakes204 on 6/4/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by cupcakes204

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product is great! First of all let me start out by saying I have had this for about three years and only touched it a few times, normally when I would use heat on my hair just for a little more protection/strength. I normally have pretty healthy hair and I never really noticed any different when I did use this product(only once in a blue moon) so I was never really impressed. Well recently I bleached my hair three times and my hair has been really in some need of some tlc. I saw the bottle sitting on the counter and decided to try it out on dead, dry hair. Especially the ends. Well I sprayed it on right after my shower and after my hair dried(I definitely sprayed too much because it has built up on my scalp and made my hair crispyish from the product not evenly distributed. and I know it is bad to put too much of any protein product on your hair but right now I am not concerned with that). I didnt mind the side effects that I brought upon myself because the next morning my hair is already on the path to success! My roots and mid-shaft is fine, and my ends are healing! I will continue to use this to help my hair regain its strength! Plus, when I bought it three years ago I found it on sale for $6! I will rebuy if I have to, but it is expensive at normal price and hopefully I wont need to!
Also, I have no complaints about the size of the bottle. Doesnt hurt my hand at all and I have tiny hands!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatanYah on 4/4/2012 10:46:00 AM more reviews by NatanYah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Where has this leave-in been all my life?! I have long relaxed coarse textured hair. I'd noticed dryness and hair breaking off at the ends for the last couple of years, even after going to the shop and getting trims. It was also frustrating that even after deep conditioning and protein treating on my own I had the same problem. I eat a balanced diet and take a multi-vitamin daily, mind you, so I know it's not nutrition.
I saw this on a shelf at the PX and asked my sister (a pj) about it and then I read the reviews here which convinced me to give it a shot. I washed and conditioned my hair as usual, adding coconut oil to my deep conditioner as I usually do, then after rinsing I applied the keratin mist and allowed my hair to air dry in a bun. My hair was completely dry the next day and when I combed my hair there was NO breakage! My hair is so shiny and healthy looking! I'm very pleased with the results and will definitely repurchase! The bottle is kind of big, but even with my small hands I was able to get a good grip. No complaints from me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yallagabig on 1/20/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by yallagabig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this. It is true that you need to be careful with protein products and not use them constantly, because your hair needs a very specific protein/moisture ratio. But once I feel that a product has begun making my hair feel "hard," that's how I know it's really working (and then I can adjust moisture level accordingly) and not just a waste of money. This is one of those good products that makes my hair feel noticeably stronger. I have curly hair and would not recommend using this product alone as it does not style well (I like to put coconut oil over it, so that it seals in the protein and gets rid of frizz all in one shot). I can see how the smell might be a turn-off for some, but I actually really like it - it smells like a sexy men's cologne, haha. The one thing I do not like is the packaging: not only is it unattractive (I really just hate the metallic/gray color of it) but it is not very ergonomic. It is too large and round to be gripped comfortably, and it actually hurts my hand (I need two hands to spray it!). If they just put a groove in the middle to accommodate the shape of the hand (or made the bottle taller and thinner) it would be much easier. I actually prefer pouring this into a different spray bottle... because that's how much I hate the bottle this comes in (it hurts!).
However, if you have a 99c spray bottle, that takes care of that... and for such a high-quality protein reconditioner, it's worth it!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Hair Treatments products