Yves Saint Laurent • Rouge Pur Opium Red 131 • Lipstick

rated 4.7(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* euroasian on 10/4/2011 8:51:00 AM more reviews by euroasian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is one of my few red lipsticks and it's my favourite one. The colour is a true red on my pigmented pink lips, (though when I wipe it off it leaves an almost coral-y stain), and the formula stays put and does not bleed at all. It is quite moisturising for me, and I am the type that is addicted to lipbalm. I can't quite remember the price of this but it wasn't cheap, like all things Yves.

P. S. That's me with the pale skin, bangs, and grey sweater (pic lineup).

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sammin on 3/22/2011 3:40:00 AM more reviews by sammin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Opium Red is the perfect warm-leaning "true red" for those with warm yellow-neutral undertones (NC35) like myself. I don't like blue-based reds, as they have a tendency to turn a fuschia-pink on my lips -- I want a red lipstick to *stay* red. Warm reds brighten my complexion; this is the red for other MAC NCs out there who want to pull off that 1950s, statement red lip. Note: it is essential that one apply this over a red lip liner base, or blot several times, as I find Opium Red has a tendency to slip around and bleed at the lip edges. It's as if the colour sits on top of the lips, instead of adhering to them. I don't know another red like it though, so for me that's a small price to pay for the colour.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 edyarn on 3/13/2011 11:37:00 PM more reviews by edyarn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG red lipstick. At first when I put it on, I thought it was too orange for me, but once I got out of doors into natural light, it was a beautiful dramatic shade of red. It glides on like a dream and is so lightweight I forget I'm wearing it. I've found out though, like most dramatic lipsticks, I have to wear lipliner with it (I prefer the clear lipliner from Revlon) or else it bleeds.
My one complaint is that the lipstick tube is not as I expected. It is not heavy and seems somewhat cheaply made. Maybe it's just me?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fergiefergie on 11/7/2010 3:35:00 PM more reviews by fergiefergie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Took my red lipsticks with me to the YSL counter to compare after reading the reviews, as I am looking for a daytime version of MAC's Viva Glam I. Sadly, Opium Red pulled very, very orange on me. It was a no go. Even the YSL Sales Rep was shaking her head no. However, I swatched the Rouge Pur Couture # 14, Rouge Feu, and it was what I was looking for, a neutral red that leaned only ever-so-slightly to the warm side so that a very fair, cool-complected gal like me could pull it off. Rouge Feu is that red. The case of the Opium Red was lovely, as was the formulation. But on my skin, it turned super orange.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RocketQueen88 on 9/23/2010 7:49:00 AM more reviews by RocketQueen88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG lippy! For a night out anyways, cant exactly wear it through the day in my line of work! The colour is a classic deep spicey red, which i prefer to the usual fire engline pillar box colours! Its not cheap, but it is worth every penny, as it always looks amazing! It is very moisturising and has a lovely creamy texture that lasts all day, although with most lippys you do need to top up! I will definately buy this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vespa1974 on 9/4/2010 7:07:00 PM more reviews by vespa1974

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Sigh. I so hoped this was going to be my "it" red, but no. The formula is great but it's simply too bright for me to wear before sundown. I'm sure it will be very pretty for evening.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 7/27/2010 8:31:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I only wear reds in evenings out or for some event, however I pull them off quite well, altough with my light colouring (blonde, pale in winter with very light blue geen eyes) a red lippie is very evident and screams out too loud for daywear.
I love YSL Rouge Pur; I have a bunch of them so there is no discussion about the quality: one of the best lippies around, same level of Dior, Kanebo, Chanel.
I was very intrigued by the high reviews I read, and, even if I did not need another red lippie - I have a couple of them and as I wear reds only on certain occasions, say not daily, well one tube can last me a lifetime!- I caved in and bought Opium Red.
First of all, the name is very true. In the tube it's the exact same of the redddish laque that covers a bottle (or a box) of Opium, if you know the fragrance you know what I mean.
On the lips: WOOOWW! This is a very very elegant and sexy red. It had brown tones in it, it tames down the red but at the same time it brightens up the colour. Shine and colour. Excellent lasting power.
Even if it is NOT a blue toned red, it did not make my teeth yellow (blue based reds make your teeth whiter therefore I am scared about brown based or oragnge based ones!); it glides on like a dream (the formua is packed with natural oils and other active principles too, so it's like a treatment).
Wear it, and you'll think you just had a face lift!
Gorgeous and addicitve.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovewalnuts on 3/30/2010 3:42:00 PM more reviews by ilovewalnuts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If I could have sex with this lipstick, I would. Sigh.

I recently found myself watching a movie, in pajamas, with henna in my hair for about five hours...and I would not take off my lipstick. In fact, I reapplied just because. I considered sleeping in it.

1. It is a perfectly gorgeous shade of red. Neutral, but bright. I can't imagine it being unflattering on ANY skin tone.
2. The formula is the absolute best I have ever encountered on any lip product, ever. And trust me. I have tried...a lot. A lot.
a) it applies like magic. I don't need liner (though I sometimes do use it). It literally takes me 10 seconds to put it on, and I hardly ever need to fiddle with it to look right.
b) It wears for houuuuuuurs without being too matte or drying and when it fades, it does so evenly. It has a slight sheen that is very classy and sexy. I feel rich and beautiful when I wear it.
c) The color doesn't change one iota.
3. I don't know, I just love it. It's like alchemy or something. I put it on and I feel super gorgeous. It's perfect. Just try it.

Only minus is that it's pretty expensive, but I think it's worth it. I probably won't buy any more reds. I'd feel like I was cheating on a lover. And I'm a serious lipstick junkie, so that's saying a lot.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suliana on 11/9/2009 6:10:00 AM more reviews by suliana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This lipstick is amongst the best that I have...and I have PLENTY! I usually prefer wearing nudes, pinks and berries, but after reading the reviews here, I decided to get YSL Rouge Pur in Opium Red. It's the most expensive lipstick in my arsenal... haha...


The other reds that I own are from Bobbi Brown and Estee Lauder. I hardly wear the Bobbi Brown reds (which I have in a palette), because I find them rather drying and they seem to always have a tinge of brown in them. So far, I find the lip crayons and creamy lip colors from BB really good. The others are quite drying on my lips although they are pretty long-wearing. The Estee Lauder reds are alright, but the ones I own seem a little orangy or warp into a coral after a while.


I wore YSL Rouge Pur in Opium Red during my cousin's wedding recently. I love how it lit up my face instantly! It's just PURE RED, which looks like blood. I was rather skeptical about the lasting power it's claimed to have... However, my skepticisms were laid to rest after I wore it! I didn't even need to touch up my lipstick the entire day! It lasted through 2 meals and many drinks. When I got home at night, I was left with a nice red stain. I hate it when red lipsticks leave a horrifying ring around my lips when they fade. No such issues with YSL Rouge Pur. The lipstick faded nicely and evenly...after many hours of wear!


The lipstick is very comfortable. It's slightly creamy, maybe semi-matte... but not drying at all. When first applied, it has a nice sheen. Not over-the-top shine like lip gloss. Not totally matte either. It has that sheen that one can expect from a creamy lipstick. Most long lasting lipsticks are rather drying, but not this one. I applied it with a lip brush, with no lip balm underneath. I find that extra step totally unnecessary. I'd rather wear a lipstick that is moisturisng and save myself the hassle of applying lip balm underneath. I also find that most long-lasting lipsticks tend to fade faster if there's lipbalm underneath (I've tried it a few times, and I was unimpressed!)


Overall, I LOVE YSL Rouge Pur, and I intend to get more shades to add to my ever-growing arsenal of lipsticks!! Would I repurchase this lipstick again? Well, I think this one is going to last me a really long time considering that I wear different lipsticks everyday, so I don't think I will repurchase this shade again although I totally ADORE it! However, I would certainly get more colours from the Rouge Pur line because I love the formula! :-D

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GeminisMommy on 10/29/2009 4:41:00 PM more reviews by GeminisMommy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me preface this review by saying I rarely wear lipstick as I find it to be too drying for my lips. In addition, the glosses I wear tend to be on the neutral side and usually on the browner side of the palette (i.e. Chanel Glossimer in Giggle). Hoping to pull off a 1940s Silver Screen Goddess look for my upcoming wedding, I have started the search for The Perfect Red. Based on reviews, and in an effort to save money in the long run, I went straight to the top and purchased YSL Opium Red. In hindsight, I should've started my search at the brick and mortar stores instead of going online, however lack of free time and glowing reviews as "the truest red out there, a red any woman can wear, etc" in the end were just too seductive to resist. While unpacking my Sephora order, I was prepared to find an orange-y red in the tube, as previous reviews had warned me. I was pleasantly surprised to find a gorgeous red instead. Trembling with excitement ("this could indeed be my wedding day red!"), I applied the lipstick. I was VERY impressed with the formulation - creamy, non irritating or drying, highly pigmented. I couldn't help but notice how bright my face looked IMMEDIATELY upon applying this lipstick. Despite being VERY early in the morning, I suddenly looked awake and glamourous. UNFORTUNATELY, instead of warming up to a perfect red as promised, the longer I wore it, the more orange it looked. Within 10 minutes, it looked like I was wearing coral. It was still beautiful, but in no way red. I will definitely wear it again - as a flattering coral - but, alas, the search for the HG red continues........

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Lipstick products