LaLique • Encre Noire • Fragrance

rated 4.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aimbl on 10/23/2014 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Aimbl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: I recall a commendation from Aedes perhaps to layer a fig scent with this. . .

Smoke, incense, vetiver, citrus, elemental. If you are unsure of your tolerance for unsweetened men's fragrances on the verge of bitterness, this may not be for you. I am a woman who likes to wear men's fragrance and vintage extraits, and I find most modern releases too sweet and gourmand.

Agree with the reviews below that state this is astringent, bitter, non-sweet. (I think of it as an addictive vetiver version of vintage Aromatics Elixir). I tried in the summer and hated it. Tried again in colder weather and I really like it. DH's favorite vetiver is FM Vetiver Extraordinaire, and I will try to persuade him to test this one, but I am doubtful he will be willing to try. EN is described by a reviewer below as 'cold ash.' FM Vetiver extraordinaire is clean and bright in comparison.

Because EN is so bitter and bracing (but not in a classic chypre clary sage mossy traditional kind of way), I think I will get the most use out of it when layering. I have tried it inadvertently with vintage Rochas Femme on top. (In small amounts, totally fine). On purpose with Hermes Vetiver Tonka on top. I am also thinking that it might add the depth of a modern chypre of sorts to tea rose; possibly could tone down Nahema (or cause a nuclear reaction); or be an unsweetened base for some perfumes that I find sometimes too sweet or cloying, bois en fruits. I also wonder what it could do for L'Artesan Patchouli patch or under tea for two. Or maybe under Narciso rodriguez musc oil to tone down the sweetness and give it some structure. or perhaps Ambre Sultan or MKK.

I marked would not repurchase, because even if DH loves this, and we share the bottle, it's a lifetime supply. This stuff is potent; only a very tiny amount is needed.

Great price, 33 usd uncluding shipping for 100 ml. Bottle is beautiful. I am a dabber and hate spraying anything. I typically break open the atomizer and decant into a dabber bottle for my personal use, but this bottle is so beautiful and sculptural that I hesitate.

Note: Etat Libre d' orange Fat Electrician is similar, a bit less pungent, less bitter, with myrrh smoothing out and lifting the vetiver instead of citrus. I prefer Encre Noire, especially for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SUPAtime on 5/26/2013 6:53:00 PM more reviews by SUPAtime

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

All vetiver with a touch of ceder wood and a hint of cold ash. Not my style of fragrance but if you adore vetiver, this is a must try. Smells aloof, cool, and a little melancholy. It's very well constructed and the ingredients they use, the vetiver in particular, are high quality.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamourdoll on 8/14/2011 9:17:00 PM more reviews by glamourdoll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I really like that initial blast of vetiver. I spritzed this on my husband and WOW, it was sexy! But then, it just turned pepper-tastic. I was hoping to have hubby wear this but........when we got to the drydown, he said he hated it and wanted to get away from it. So sad. I think the bottle is very elegant-looking. I suppose that with fragrance sometimes it is hit or miss. I am just disappointed that this one was a miss. But for someone else, this might just be amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 6/23/2011 8:01:00 PM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

My husband is very miffed that I bought this for myself. There was one bottle at Winners and it's mine, all mine. He can get his own... because I adore everything about this deep, dark and sexy scent that is packed with so many of my HG notes: vetiver, MORE vetiver, cypress, musks... it's wild and mysterious and so beautiful. And he can't have it. But he may smell it on me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ROBERTO1 on 11/25/2010 9:56:00 AM more reviews by ROBERTO1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The best vetiver scent on the market. Dark and Tenebrous, like i love vetiver.This is a must have in my wardrobe. Bravo, Bravo, Bravo................Madame Nathalie Lorson. You have done a work of art,even better than the very expensive ( also very good ) Vetiver Extraordinaire by Dominique Ropion for Editions de Parfums Frederic Mall, which is my second vetiver scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whitecountess on 8/10/2010 3:38:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

YOWZA!!
Encre Noire or "Black Ink" deserves a 5++ for the packaging, a large, dark, ink box.
Encre Noire uses TWO kinds of Vetiver, Bourbon and Haitian.
Interesting that it's called "Ink" which is wet, because this is one of the driest scents I've ever experienced.
At first it smells like damp earth and then the cypress and cashmere woods come in and give it a strong and beautiful dry down. This is a masculine scent, but amazing on a woman. There are no florals anywhere to be found, giving it a dark and gravelly sexy-ness. Almost like if Hugh Laurie's voice had a perfume.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 3/6/2010 11:33:00 PM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is mostly about the vetiver on me - oily, dark vetiver. I also can get the woody cedar undertones, and an almost licorice like under note. I definitely can understand the association to "ink" - but it doesn't work on my skin. It might be great on my dh, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elaborate on 5/6/2009 8:00:00 AM more reviews by elaborate

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Vetiver and cedre. Whatever. I just love this. I love it so much that I won't care less what notes are actually in this perfume. Just bring it on!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 1/7/2009 11:32:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Shall I review this under the generic Fragrances or Fragrance for men?

Well I do not know, but I know I like it, and even on myself (i am a lady!)
It has depth, and is sensual but freash at the same time.
Has a note of mint, fresh leaves and grass. Vetiver, but not the grand, classical one.
A shy vetiver is here, spikes out with class.
Then come the woods, some dark woods, plus cedar and pine; juniper perhaps.
The base notes are musk based - in a clean way (no dirt nor earth here... jut clean sexniness).
I cannot really say if this frag smells like black ink (after its name) .
What I know it is really gorgeous, classy and something I woudl always love to smell on people (men or women).
Gorgeous, stunning bottle.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 1/7/2009 11:31:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Shall I review this under the generic Fragrances or Fragrance for men?

Well I do not know, but I know i like it, and even on myself (i am a lady!)
It has depth, and is sensual but freash at the same time.
Has a note of mint, fresh leaves and grass. Vetiver, but not the grand, classical one.
A shy vetiver is here, but spikes out with class.
Then come the woods, some dark woods, and cedar and pine; juniper perhaps.
The base notes are musk based but in a clean way (no dirt nor earth here... jut clean sexniness).
I cannot really say if this frag smells like black ink (after its name) .
What I know it is really gorgeous, classy and something I woudl always love to smell on people (men or women).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LaLique products

More Fragrance products