Coppertone • Oil Free Faces SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.5(152 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Vickybliss on 3/19/2014 9:09:00 AM more reviews by Vickybliss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

Very similar ingredients to the giant bottle of Coppertone spf 50 for the body, minus the fragrance and higher chemical filters. Higher price point per ounce too, so if you're on a budget I wouldn't bother with this one and just get the bigger bottle marketed for the body (which is a bit thicker). I tested this on my oily, acne-prone skin and remove with an oil-based cleanser. No issues, it feels comfortable but can sting my eyes if I get it too close. I had a little more shine than usual, but I wasn't a greaseball. I might re-purchase, but am testing out all-physical sunscreens next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HWL on 1/11/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am slightly dry/combo skin that breaks. Sometimes I need a SS that won't break me out. In the summer, I like a lighter sunscreen. This is a very nice for a drugstore sunscreen, if you want something light and non-mineral. It has some shine, but less that some other oil free ss and lotions. I hardly feel it on and it doesn't break me out or irritate my skin, which is a little sensitive. No sting and it does not make my skin redder.. It dries quickly and has 30 spf, no fragrance and no white cast. It doesn't dry my skin at all, but it is not very hydrating. It does give a little moisture though. I have combo dry skin that gets clogged and breaks out. I do not tolerate minerals ss very well and they are in my mu. I like to wear a chemical ss under my mu. The creamier ss moisturizers feel good going on, but break me out. This doesn't dry my skin, the way some mattifying spfs can. I am giving this a good rating. It's no bioderma, but it's alcohol free, stable and cheep. It doesn't sting and isn't greasy. It does have some shine. That shine you get from oil-free products - sort glazed looking, which isn't a big deal. It's not something I'd rely on sitting out in the sun, it's not bad.

Pros:
Inexepnsive
Available in drugstores
non-greasy
soaks in
light
non-irritating
no breakouts


Cons:

A little shine, but hey it's spf

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 illbebe on 10/27/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by illbebe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is first sunscreen I've ever used alone for my face. I normally used face creams/lotions with a bit of SPF in them. I got it because it said oil-free but boy was I mistaken. No part of it presented oil-free on my skin. Even thou I do have Oily skin I found that with in minutes of applying it I looked extremely "greasy". I even tried it without my regular cream or lotion but I still get the same result. I still use it from time to time but after it's finished I will not be buying it again. Nor would I recommend it to a friend with similar skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Unicorny101 on 8/23/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Unicorny101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Long story short....GREASY. How is this oil free omg...HORRIBLE SUNSCREEN. Returning it ASAP!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sunnydays1 on 2/4/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by sunnydays1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

The good reviews for this product are from the old formula. The new formula is so heavy and greasy and sticky. It's terrible. It also stains your clothes immediately. Read reviews on other sites- same thing. I loved the old formula and wish they would bring it back. For now, I have found the CVS oil free faces is like the old formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AmCam28 on 3/6/2012 8:53:00 PM more reviews by AmCam28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I was running out of my Banana Boat Ultra Defense Faces SPF and haven't been able to find it in any stores. This was the only other option for faces, so I bought it. I only used it twice, and will be passing it onto a friend.
Pros:
Oil-free, fragrance free, slightly moisturizes
Cons:
Feels heavier than the Banana Boat SPF, clogs my pores & causes breakouts quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 d3ndroid on 6/20/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by d3ndroid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very impressed by this sunscreen because it feels and applies very well. It feels just like any other light moisturizer, not thick or creamy, but more like a thin lotion. It's very easy to apply the 1/4 tsp. on face required to get the rated SPF 30 protection. It absorbs quickly and does not leave white streaks. It does not feel heavy or mask-like on the face like Neutrogena "dry touch" sunscreens do on me. The finish is a little dewy on my normal skin so oily-skinned peeps might want to keep that in mind.
My makeup goes on fine over the sunscreen, no issues with it rubbing off in a visible way.

The estimated UVA protective rating (from the BASF simulator) is 8.6 PPD. That's not terribly high but it's on par with what you can expect for a US drugstore sunscreen.
Coppertone claims this sunscreen to be water resistant for up to 80 minutes.

All in all a pretty good product: easy to wear, decent UVA/UVB protection for every day, and at good price as well (~$8 Canadian).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mmjmbd on 6/1/2011 11:50:00 AM more reviews by mmjmbd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i really want to make a review on this , i bought the 60 fps one of this , i only bought mine stronger . i think coppertone it a canadian brand so im like that has to work perfectly and its say oil-free , so i went at the drugstrore and i have very oily skin and acne prone , so on summer i really need to use a sunscreen , so im like its only 9 $ canadian , oh my god i was so exited to try it !! first time i put it , my face was oily , and it feels like a lil bit heavy , so i imagine wear this crappy sunscreen on hot day in montreal , OH NO !! and i learned that i cannot put this sunscreen on my lid cuz at the end of the day , it goes in my eyes and it burns ! but i will buy another sunscreen i think i will simply buy lise watier fps 30 for 38 $ ! i wanted to find an sunscreen that i less expensive than lise watier and will not feel oily on my skin !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilasbaby on 5/29/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by lilasbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this because i was looking for a sunscreen that is not oily and that doesn't smell awful..basically...one that i would actually ENJOY using since we all know that we're supposed to use a large amount of sunscreen EVERYDAY, even in winter. i was hoping that this one would do for me but it didn't.

although it is slightly better than the other ones i've used (vichy, avene, neutrogena etc.), i do not like the texture and it makes my face shiny.

i do, however, like the packaging and the fact that it is oil and fragrance free and also contains vitamin A & E.

so if you don't mind the texture and feeling, it is definitely a good sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetsnow12344 on 1/14/2011 7:02:00 AM more reviews by sweetsnow12344

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin so it's very important for me not to have anything really greasy on my skin because it becomes shiny and I break out. After reading some reviews I decided to buy it - simply because it was oil-free and I really needed a sunscreen for everyday - I am in love with it. Its really smooth on my skin, its a great primer before you put your foundation and I can wear it everyday to help against harsh UV rays. Its perfect - I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coppertone products

More Sunscreen products