Coppertone • Oil Free Faces Sunscreen Lotion • Sunscreen

rated 3.5(154 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 7/7/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have Oil Free Faces Sunscreen Lotion, SPF 50+ & it's definitely my Holy Grail; I use it as my everyday sunscreen. Where I live, it's well over 100 degrees almost every single day during the summer—even at nighttime. Anyway, about a week ago, I thought it would be a lovely idea to walk about 20 minutes in that weather & needless to say, my skin was not happy. After I got where I was headed, I applied this sunscreen lotion to my face before going out & had no further issues after that. I didn't sunburn or peel! It's lightweight & it does absorb quickly into my face. I didn't have a white cast or residue on my face after application & it's non-greasy. I trust Coppertone as a brand, but was actually really surprised that I didn't have clogged pores & didn't break out because my sensitive, acne prone skin doesn't react well to too many products put on it. Protecting it from the sun was always such a chore until I picked this up. I only bought one bottle because I was weary about it. If I see it again, I'll buy another. I really suggest buying & wearing it this summer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PolskaBlondynka on 5/25/2014 1:27:00 PM more reviews by PolskaBlondynka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I always seem to come back to this sunscreen. A few months ago I ran out of it and I decided to try another one from Coppertone with zinc oxide for sensitive skin spf50. Not only was the formula thick and left my face ashy white, it was extremely thick which caused white heads all over my cheeks. This formula is gentle, goes on smooth, and does not cause acne (my skin is sensitive). The only con I can think of is how stings when it gets in your eyes, so you need to be careful applying. Otherwise it's a great sunscreen for everyday and under makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Vickybliss on 3/19/2014 9:09:00 AM more reviews by Vickybliss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very similar ingredients to the giant bottle of Coppertone spf 50 for the body, minus the fragrance and higher chemical filters. Higher price point per ounce too, so if you're on a budget I wouldn't bother with this one and just get the bigger bottle marketed for the body (which is a bit thicker). I tested this on my oily, acne-prone skin and remove with an oil-based cleanser. No issues, it feels comfortable but can sting my eyes if I get it too close. I had a little more shine than usual, but I wasn't a greaseball. I might re-purchase, but am testing out all-physical sunscreens next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 1/11/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am slightly dry/combo skin that breaks. Sometimes I need a SS that won't break me out. In the summer, I like a lighter sunscreen. This is a very nice for a drugstore sunscreen, if you want something light and non-mineral. It has some shine, but less that some other oil free ss and lotions. I hardly feel it on and it doesn't break me out or irritate my skin, which is a little sensitive. No sting and it does not make my skin redder.. It dries quickly and has 30 spf, no fragrance and no white cast. It doesn't dry my skin at all, but it is not very hydrating. It does give a little moisture though. I have combo dry skin that gets clogged and breaks out. I do not tolerate minerals ss very well and they are in my mu. I like to wear a chemical ss under my mu. The creamier ss moisturizers feel good going on, but break me out. This doesn't dry my skin, the way some mattifying spfs can. I am giving this a good rating. It's no bioderma, but it's alcohol free, stable and cheep. It doesn't sting and isn't greasy. It does have some shine. That shine you get from oil-free products - sort glazed looking, which isn't a big deal. It's not something I'd rely on sitting out in the sun, it's not bad.

Pros:
Inexepnsive
Available in drugstores
non-greasy
soaks in
light
non-irritating
no breakouts


Cons:

A little shine, but hey it's spf

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 illbebe on 10/27/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by illbebe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is first sunscreen I've ever used alone for my face. I normally used face creams/lotions with a bit of SPF in them. I got it because it said oil-free but boy was I mistaken. No part of it presented oil-free on my skin. Even thou I do have Oily skin I found that with in minutes of applying it I looked extremely "greasy". I even tried it without my regular cream or lotion but I still get the same result. I still use it from time to time but after it's finished I will not be buying it again. Nor would I recommend it to a friend with similar skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Unicorny101 on 8/23/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Unicorny101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Long story short....GREASY. How is this oil free omg...HORRIBLE SUNSCREEN. Returning it ASAP!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sunnydays1 on 2/4/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by sunnydays1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

The good reviews for this product are from the old formula. The new formula is so heavy and greasy and sticky. It's terrible. It also stains your clothes immediately. Read reviews on other sites- same thing. I loved the old formula and wish they would bring it back. For now, I have found the CVS oil free faces is like the old formula.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AmCam28 on 3/6/2012 8:53:00 PM more reviews by AmCam28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I was running out of my Banana Boat Ultra Defense Faces SPF and haven't been able to find it in any stores. This was the only other option for faces, so I bought it. I only used it twice, and will be passing it onto a friend.
Pros:
Oil-free, fragrance free, slightly moisturizes
Cons:
Feels heavier than the Banana Boat SPF, clogs my pores & causes breakouts quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 d3ndroid on 6/20/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by d3ndroid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very impressed by this sunscreen because it feels and applies very well. It feels just like any other light moisturizer, not thick or creamy, but more like a thin lotion. It's very easy to apply the 1/4 tsp. on face required to get the rated SPF 30 protection. It absorbs quickly and does not leave white streaks. It does not feel heavy or mask-like on the face like Neutrogena "dry touch" sunscreens do on me. The finish is a little dewy on my normal skin so oily-skinned peeps might want to keep that in mind.
My makeup goes on fine over the sunscreen, no issues with it rubbing off in a visible way.

The estimated UVA protective rating (from the BASF simulator) is 8.6 PPD. That's not terribly high but it's on par with what you can expect for a US drugstore sunscreen.
Coppertone claims this sunscreen to be water resistant for up to 80 minutes.

All in all a pretty good product: easy to wear, decent UVA/UVB protection for every day, and at good price as well (~$8 Canadian).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mmjmbd on 6/1/2011 11:50:00 AM more reviews by mmjmbd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i really want to make a review on this , i bought the 60 fps one of this , i only bought mine stronger . i think coppertone it a canadian brand so im like that has to work perfectly and its say oil-free , so i went at the drugstrore and i have very oily skin and acne prone , so on summer i really need to use a sunscreen , so im like its only 9 $ canadian , oh my god i was so exited to try it !! first time i put it , my face was oily , and it feels like a lil bit heavy , so i imagine wear this crappy sunscreen on hot day in montreal , OH NO !! and i learned that i cannot put this sunscreen on my lid cuz at the end of the day , it goes in my eyes and it burns ! but i will buy another sunscreen i think i will simply buy lise watier fps 30 for 38 $ ! i wanted to find an sunscreen that i less expensive than lise watier and will not feel oily on my skin !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coppertone products

More Sunscreen products