MAC • 188 Small Duo Fibre Face brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.4(211 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 raquelsimoes on 4/13/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by raquelsimoes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a must-have brush, mainly for two purposes: applying liquid foundation to the most tiny areas of your face and applying liquid under-eye concealer. It does an amazing job with both.

Firstly, if you're looking for a brush that will allow you to apply your liquid foundation perfectly and give your face a natural and stunning coverage, you should really check this out. It is great getting your foundation to every part of your face. However, it will take a while since it's a small brush. If you don't have the time and/or are looking for a more chill look, I suggest you try the #187 instead because it's basically a bigger version of the #188.

Secondly (and this is what I use this brush for most of the times), this brush is just perfect with liquid concealer. I use this brush to set the concealer under my eyes, where I have deep dark circles. Honestly, if this is an issue for you, take a look at this brush. You might be surprised.

As for the packaging, I was expecting more from MAC. I mean, MAC is an expensive brand and this is an expensive makeup brush. Therefore, you'd think they would come up with a cute idea for its packaging. Instead, I got this brush wrapped in a simple piece of plastic with a small black tag saying what type of brush it is. Very disappointing since this is not the case of other MAC products that I own, such as concealer, brush cleanser, finishing powder, etc. The brush itself is pretty though: black handle with silver letters and black & white bristles.

As for the price, mine cost me 47 euros (the #187 brush is 52 euros, by the way). It's expensive, but I think it is worth it. I haven't had shedding problems with this brush and it does its job so well.

Overall, I love this brush and I can't imagine not having it now that I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 3/26/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is a good brush. Many people use it for foundation application. I find it too time consuming. For this purpose 187 works just fine for me.
188 I would use for powder or very thin liquid highlighters, or for cream blushes. It's good for something that needs a very light hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LolaKandler on 3/24/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by LolaKandler

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I swear by this brush. Although it is expensive, it is absolutely brilliant at buffing foundation into the skin. I used to use the real techniques foundation brush, and thought that was amazing too, until I found this brush! This make up brush is fantastic, definitely recommend it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 creamdeviolet on 1/27/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by creamdeviolet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For some reason, 188 does better job on being foundation brush than 187, if you only wanna buy one, I would suggest 188, I use LM silk Creme

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xoCarmina on 10/9/2013 9:12:00 PM more reviews by xoCarmina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Eh, the only reason why I have this brush in my collection is because an SA at MAC applied foundation on me with it along time ago and I needed a foundation brush. I have the MAC 187 brush and I prefer that one. This brush takes a lot of effort to blend a whole full face of foundation without getting carpal tunnel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/8/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this brush. .. but I had trouble finding a use for it. I ended up using it for blushes, but I still had to use another brush to blend out the little dots it leaves on application. then, after only a year, the brush fell apart on me unexpectedly. None of my other MAc brushes have yet, so pretty surprised at this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chrisylita on 9/8/2013 8:23:00 PM more reviews by Chrisylita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I was recommended this brush by an SA at MAC after I bought the pro longwear foundation. He applied my foundation with this brush and it looked amazing so of course I bought it. Love the brush its small enough to get every corner of your face and it blends in foundation like a dream........but I've been reading some reviews and a lot of people are saying the brush doesn't shed at all but mine sheds and that's why I gave it a 4. Its quite pricey too $50 CAN.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xiangwei304 on 8/23/2013 4:57:00 AM more reviews by xiangwei304

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got this as a present, I was a little skeptical in the beginning, especially when I found out how much it cost, OMG! The packaging is quite bad, doesn't look like a high end packaging for me... It is a much slimmer brush compare to MAC 187 and Real Techniques Stippling brush, so I started by using it as a setting brush or to apply hightligher. I really like how it feels on the face, so soft compare to The Real Techniques Stipping Brush which I found quite uncomfortable on the skin... It is so slim and it can get every corne of the face, around the nose, under eyes to sett concealer. I totally fall in love with it! It has not shed at all so far, the quality is really good, it is made in Japan, so I guess it is pricy for a reason. I am sure it will last me for a real long time before I need to buy another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emese1 on 6/27/2013 9:08:00 AM more reviews by Emese1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brush! I bought it originally to apply under eye concealer (at gossmakeupartist's suggestion). Doesn't work for that. Everything creases on me.
But now that I use blush, it applies it wonderfully! I have great control so I don't put too much product on and put it exactly where I want to. My pet peeve is to not overdo blusher and it's perfect for that! It's still soft after a few years. I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives, but at the time I bought it I wasn't aware.
Highly recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JohnnyMakeup on 6/25/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by JohnnyMakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought it because the SA talked me into it and it was my birthday so I had the splurge. I did love it a lot in the beginning, it felt like the smoothest softest thing that had ever touched my face. However, I don't know if I'm washing it wrong, since it doesn't pick up as much color as before, that said about month since using it! It also takes ages to apply any blush/cream product as you have to stipple it on and the duo fibres are far too long for the skunks hair to be able to blend the color. It does shade pretty occasionally and the bristles are not quite the same lenght on mine - I was really really disappointed about that with the 40+euros tag when I came home and opened the package..
I have to say, nothing works better than this with powder/mineral foundations, it's also great if you're heavy-handed armed with super-pigmented blushes. The real glory of the brush is in the skunks bristles, as they hold the correct space between the synthetic fibres, no matter how much you swirl it on your face - giving the impression of airbrushed finish. But I am sure real techniques will work just as fine and if you're experienced MUA or just know products you're working with, you can live without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products