MAC • 188 Small Duo Fibre Face brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.3(218 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Blackorchid1014 on 1/14/2015 6:05:00 PM more reviews by Blackorchid1014

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

ok so i used to have MAC 187 but i lost it when i was travelling so i need to buy a new one and when i went to make the sales assistant recommended to me 188 as i wanted it for foundation mainly. i was worried at first because it looks too small but i bought it and one i had tried it i loved it! although it looks too small for applying foundation but it blends foundation really will and gives me a really lovely soft finish! besides it can reach my forehead and around my nose and its so good for applying blush eavenley! its a multi using brush so if you didn't like it for foundation you can use it for blusher, highlighting and concealing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 macjunkieee on 1/14/2015 1:39:00 PM more reviews by macjunkieee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It does the job but I'm sure you can find a better one. It is really annoying that it sheds...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fashionista2468 on 1/6/2015 6:06:00 AM more reviews by fashionista2468

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Once again I was recommended this brush the sales assistant for my mineralize moisture foundation. This is great for spreading and evening out the foundation and leaves me with a flawless look. The brush doesn't leave mcuh streaks unless I apply miltiple layers. On the down side, I found this brush a little difficult to use around my nose area (probably the shape and denisty of the brush). The black hairs on the brush falls out easily when I apply the foundation (maybe I got a bad brush??). I thought that this brush was small enough for me to apply concealer under my eyes. I was mistaken as the brush was too large and with me brushing o to my lashes. I paid 70AUD for this brush, worth it but I would probably also need to invest in a concealer and powder brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 12/26/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I literally scoured the reviews to see whether anyone else has the same problem with this brush, but I finally gave up. Just like with my 187 brush, I have trouble getting this one clean. I've tried MAC brush cleaner, Dr. Bronners peppermint soap, head & shoulders (I've heard this can be used to remove hair dye, so I thought I'd give it a try) and Beautyblender solid, and the white bristles are stained from the most recent blush I used. My last resort will be Johnson's baby shampoo, but I am getting sick of these brushes. This is consuming way too much time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pattsy on 11/14/2014 3:17:00 AM more reviews by pattsy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start out by saying that this brush is reasonably good, and I do reach for it nearly every time I apply makeup. However I personally find the bristles to be just a tad too long and that can make it a bit streaky. Also, mine really lacks any kind of density and keeps shedding but I think I may have just gotten a bad brush. The 188 that I bought at the same time has a similar issue with shedding, and they are both definitely real/purchased from the MAC store.

I don't quite think this brush is worth the price. Some MAC brushes are but this one falls short, especially considering the variable quality. You shouldn't have to cross your fingers hoping to get a good brush when you're shelling out $80 (in Australia). I wouldn't buy this brush again, but I will continue to use the one I have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OrangeMintPop on 10/27/2014 2:27:00 AM more reviews by OrangeMintPop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I had this brush for 5 years now and I brought it at the MAC store. It has held up really well and the bristles are very soft and does not shed. I like that this is made in Japan and the brush has a good weight to it. It cost about $36 but worth it. I use this mainly for blush and highlighting. I used to use this for foundation however I stopped because it takes too long due to the size of the brush but if you take the time and stipple on your foundation, your skin would look very flawless. For highlighting and applying blush, this brush applies the perfect amount and even for the most pigmented blush, my cheeks never look over done. Check out my review and demo on this.





2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rosateh on 4/25/2014 2:59:00 AM more reviews by rosateh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was not really sure whether to write this review because I know there are many diehard fans out there. It was my birthday and I thought I should splurge on a Mac brush and I chose 188 because I wanted a separate brush for powder highlighter and my goodness, it sheds like crazy. For sure, mine is not a fake since I got it from Mac Pro shop and I was so pissed that I went back to complain to their SA and told them if their is a return or exchange policy I could gladly return it. Their response was you know Mac brushes are all handmade, blah, blah, blah. Now, I am stuck with an expensive unusable brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raquelsimoes on 4/13/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by raquelsimoes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a must-have brush, mainly for two purposes: applying liquid foundation to the most tiny areas of your face and applying liquid under-eye concealer. It does an amazing job with both.

Firstly, if you're looking for a brush that will allow you to apply your liquid foundation perfectly and give your face a natural and stunning coverage, you should really check this out. It is great getting your foundation to every part of your face. However, it will take a while since it's a small brush. If you don't have the time and/or are looking for a more chill look, I suggest you try the #187 instead because it's basically a bigger version of the #188.

Secondly (and this is what I use this brush for most of the times), this brush is just perfect with liquid concealer. I use this brush to set the concealer under my eyes, where I have deep dark circles. Honestly, if this is an issue for you, take a look at this brush. You might be surprised.

As for the packaging, I was expecting more from MAC. I mean, MAC is an expensive brand and this is an expensive makeup brush. Therefore, you'd think they would come up with a cute idea for its packaging. Instead, I got this brush wrapped in a simple piece of plastic with a small black tag saying what type of brush it is. Very disappointing since this is not the case of other MAC products that I own, such as concealer, brush cleanser, finishing powder, etc. The brush itself is pretty though: black handle with silver letters and black & white bristles.

As for the price, mine cost me 47 euros (the #187 brush is 52 euros, by the way). It's expensive, but I think it is worth it. I haven't had shedding problems with this brush and it does its job so well.

Overall, I love this brush and I can't imagine not having it now that I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 3/26/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is a good brush. Many people use it for foundation application. I find it too time consuming. For this purpose 187 works just fine for me.
188 I would use for powder or very thin liquid highlighters, or for cream blushes. It's good for something that needs a very light hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LolaKandler on 3/24/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by LolaKandler

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I swear by this brush. Although it is expensive, it is absolutely brilliant at buffing foundation into the skin. I used to use the real techniques foundation brush, and thought that was amazing too, until I found this brush! This make up brush is fantastic, definitely recommend it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products