Darphin • Arovita C Cream [DISCONTINUED] • Moisturizers

rated 4.4(95 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 mimimachine on 1/26/2013 11:10:00 PM more reviews by mimimachine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Not so long ago, I had an obsession with Paris. And this led to me loving all things French which led to me finally giving the Darphin line a try. I had been on the lookout for a new go-to face cream, good for both day or night. I had a baby last year and ever since she was born, my skin seems to be out of sorts, sometimes dry, sometimes oily. Weird hormonal stuff. From the VERY first time I used this, I was impressed. My skin glowed. It comes with a handy little spoon applicator that keeps your fingers out of the pot, has a pleasant, mild, natural scent (I'm not a fan of scent in face products) and a good texture. It instantly absorbed and it's completely non-greasy. It's a "natural" product so my skin took some time to adjust to it and this winter has been extremely dry here in Toronto so sometimes I find it doesn't quite give me enough moisture but in general, I'd have to say this is my current go-to cream that I will absolutely repurchase. I liked this cream so much that it led me to explore more Darphin products. It's also lasted a very long time. I bought it 3 months ago and I have 3/4 of the jar left. It's also reasonably priced, I think I paid around $100 for it at Holt Renfrew. Over time, my skin has become smoother and more refined. I'm a fan!

Edited to add that over the winter months here, I have not found this moisturizing enough. It would be perfect for summer but it's just not cutting it anymore for the harsh winter weather. I'd still repurchase but it's no longer a love :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hutchings on 8/16/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by hutchings

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this last winter when my normally combo skin just went 'n dried all the way out. Like a lot of combo skins out there I was hesitant to take the plunge and try out a heavy cream in a jar because of course it'd clog up my pores and make me greasy--right? But this did not. It just plumped it up nicely and made it oh-so-soft. I've tried both versions-the white and pink. I have noticed the white has more of a matte finish, while the pink gives more of a glow, but I didn't personally find the difference to be substantial. I've used it everyday: warm months..cold months, and I've been very happy with it. It's a def repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aquadinka on 2/4/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by aquadinka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, so full disclosure, I work at a salon and get this at a hefty discount. But, after experiencing it for several months, I plan on buying several tubs of this before I quit my job so I will have it forever. In the winter I have pretty dry skin and my skin was compensating by producing too much oil and breaking me out. I started using this stuff(just a dab! a little goes a long way) every night after cleansing and I am blown away. First of all it smells heavenly. Next, it soaks in pretty quickly so I don't worry about oil clogging pores on my pillowcase. I wake up with my skin brighter and I can honestly say that 98% of acne is gone. I still get a hormonal zit or two once a month but that is about it. I can really tell the difference in the morning if I've been lazy and haven't used this stuff. I know it's pricey, but after using nightly for about 3 months, I haven't even used 1/5 of my tub. Never said this about skincare, but my hunt is over. HG moisturizer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 10/24/2011 7:10:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Those with combination skin should proceed with caution with this one: yes, a great source of hydration and a definite skin brightener in winter, if used sparingly. However, if used in summer can tend to overwhelm skin and result in unwanted shine, emphasising and enlarging pores.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ultravee on 9/11/2011 8:19:00 AM more reviews by ultravee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

The review is for Energic Firming Cream (it would be nice if Makeupally crew would separate these two cream reviews into two)!



If someone told me I had to pick just one single beauty product to use and throw all the rest it would be this cream. No other cream ever made my face look so glowing and healthy like this does! My routine is this: in the morning, after treating my face with Darphin Purifying Toner, I apply two drops of Darphin Hydraskin serum, then the smallest amout of this cream because it spreads so easily on the skin you only need very little, and then apply my regular foundation, blush and mascara and my face looks healthy, natural and young. In the evening I cleanse it with Darphin Purifying gel or Bioderma Sensibio H2O micelle solution, apply toner then 4 drops of either Darphin Rose or Tangerine aromatic oil and again the smallest amount of Arovita C and wake up to glowing and great feeling skin. It is this cream that is the missing link in my routine because without it I never get my skin to look this good. It is a bit heavy so I use it mostly in the colder time of the year and switch to Dermalogica's Active Moist in the summer (also in my top three beauty products). I can't say whether this improved my lines or not because I don't have that many but I'm not expecting it to anyway. What I hope this will do in the long run is slowing down the proces of skin maturing. But time will tell. So far I'm more than happy with this cream.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mouldy on 8/1/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by Mouldy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I am only 22 with no signs of aging YET but I had a large sample of this and thought what the hell..I used it only on my forehead where I noticed some dehydration and I get some wrinkles when I lift my eyebrows up as if to apply mascara..well anyway after a few applications I noticed that area was exceptionally smooth and taught! Not that it was not firm to begin with though..I do have oily skin prone to break outs and usually a few active blemishes, and this product is less of a moisturiser and more of a vitamin C treatment, so it is not very moisturising, but doesn't break me out. Infact I would say that it aids healing. But ANYWAY the point I am trying to make is that this isn't necessarily a product for older skin, or even dry skin. I use this kindof as prevention i guess, but also it helps with acne scarring, and after all this is marketing to prevent first signs of ageing. VERY expensive in Australia but I can usually get it at a less then reputable web site for the american price haha..tempted to buy the 200ml salon size but I really hope my skin doesn't get used to this and continues to be effective forever! For that reason I only use it about 3 times a week..and this seems to be enough to be very effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monlim on 12/11/2010 4:27:00 AM more reviews by monlim

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was having perfect skin thanks to my trusty Nuxe regime, then when I ran out of that, got tempted by the great reviews here and bought this. This had to be the mistake of the year. After a couple of weeks, the problems started - breakouts and worse, my skin started flaking and scaling like I was a reptile. My kids told me I "looked old" as the skin was red and raw, ewww!!! Had to go back to Nuxe and it was weeks before my skin recovered from that ordeal. What a total waste of dough. I've tried other vit C products without such a reaction, beware if you have sensitive skin!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 molmol4317 on 9/17/2010 6:55:00 PM more reviews by molmol4317

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I hesitated to buy this "cream" thinking it would be too heavy for me. It turned out that this is not at all heavy for my combo skin. Not even some higher end ($$$) brands measured up to this. This cream is moisturizing, fluffy, easy to spread, and absorbs very well. Price is good at US$80, in the mid range. I'm on my 3rd jar. Also, great along Darphin's 8 Flower oil (night time use).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SL2 on 6/27/2010 7:27:00 AM more reviews by SL2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a lovely, light moisturiser, with a very pleasant texture for oily skin. It was recommended to me in Vienna by a very kind pharmacist who, thankfully, spoke English. It was very cold and my skin was a little dehydrated in places, but with a few pimples on my chin. She assured me that I would not find this cream clogging and this proved to be true. I loved it and my skin glowed after just a few applications, although I am not sure how much of this was due to the vit. C content. I stocked up well when I left Vienna and used it for well over a year. I think I stopped using it due to cost - it had been 29 euros in Vienna[6yrs ago], but was more expensive in the UK. I have recently been analysing ingredient lists even more intently than usual - I seem to do well with moisturisers where C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate is high in the formulation [also Korres Pomegranate cream-gel]. Arovita C is much more expensive here in Moscow, but I think that it will be my first choice next winter [as a moisturiser - I use a retinoid for anti-aging]. I think that it is better to pay a little more for an effective product, than later paying 's to remedy dammage caused by one which, for me, is clogging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luluhalabaloo on 2/25/2010 7:28:00 AM more reviews by luluhalabaloo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used it for the first time last night. I am testing different creams to develop a new anti-aging and moisturizing regime since, yikes, my skin is getting weird due to aging and the start of menopause. AND, this stupid weather - I always want to go for a peel at this time of year. Anyway, I was using June Jacobs for a bit and my skin was getting redder and itchier. Last night, I had a sample they gave me at Murale of this and I tried it along with the anti-redness serum. I woke up this morning and my skin was amazing. Drier, yes, but no dehydration lines at all (I don't have regular wrinkles except around my eyes a touch - see my June Jacobs reviews for that comment), the pores were smaller and far less noticeable (I couldn't really feel them when I ran my finger on my forehead or chin, and it looked much finer too), and my skin was glowing (albeit the red was still a bit there). I was so impressed that instead of watching the news this morning, I am writing this review. I think this is my new HG treatment cream, but I will still require a moisturizer perhaps at night in conjunction with this cream (maybe) and during the day for sure. That is next on the list. I will also try the aromatic oils I think as many reviewers here suggested (thanks!), and work with a combo that will work for my skin. I have very reactive, very sensitive, dehydrated/combination skin, very fair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Darphin products

More Moisturizers products