Rimmel Cool Matte 16hr Foundation

2.6

57 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 9/9/2011 11:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

are you kidding about the low rating? i love this foundation and would repurchase again and again but i think they discountinued it (at least in my country). i got them on a buy one get one half off so the price wasnt so bad. i got them in 300 sand and 400 (cant remember the name, natural beige i think?) and they match my skin tone perfectly as i use 300 in winter and 400 in summer. yes i have had them for a little while and yes i know its bad you should chuck them out after 6months or so, but i only wear foundation very sparingly when i go clubbing (once a week) so they are lasting me ages. the color match is so good as i have yellow undertone and its so hard to find a drug store foundation with yellow undertone! the staying power is good, i do need to put powder on though coz im oily as! i think most of the negative comments come from application, i mean seriously you cant use a foundation brush for this! i just dot some on a small area of my face at a time and buff it in with a kabuki or a dense flat top brush and it works wonderfully! try this method and see if it works!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/17/2011 5:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Horrible. Hate it so much.
Washed out the glass container and put in my moisturiser.




D:

Horrrible foundation.


on 9/8/2010 2:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

why is this getting such bad reviews? personally i loved this product, the 'cooling' that its meant to give you actually works, its the perfect match for my skin colour and it stayed on most of the day for school... perfect?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2010 3:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My god, I hated this stuff. I could rant for hours, but will try not to. First, I'll try to get some positives.... I did manage to get pretty much my exact colour match, which is rare and very exciting (I'm fair with olivey-yellowish undertones, hard to match). And the 'cooling' sensation when you first put it on is quite nice....That's about it.

And now the negatives. This stuff dries so damn fast it is literally impossible to blend. After it had dried if you try to blend it just sort of flakes off. Also, it just doesn't look natural. Although it was a good colour match, it just looked like I had foundation plastered onto my skin. It's not like I caked it on either, I generally try to use as little foundation as possible and prefer a more natural look. No matter how I applied it (fingers, brushes, sponges, etc etc) it looked splotchy and terrible. Also, try putting concealer on your spots before putting it on. It clings to the concealer in a very obvious blob. Try putting blush over it and it just will not blend. Try to hard to blend it and it flakes off.

That colour match I was so excited about? Didn't last long. After maybe 15 minutes it started to do something very strange....it went paler, but more orangey. What. The. Hell. I looked washed out and sickly.

Good luck with this stuff in warmer climates. As soon as you start to sweat or get it wet it goes streaky and just...gross.

Ultimately, I couldn't even wear this stuff outside of the house. I bought it on a whim when I saw it on sale after I ran out of my old foundation that I wasn't too happy with anyway. The only time it ever saw the light of day was when I wore it, with the greatest sense of shame, to the shops to get a new foundation.

Terrible stuff.


on 2/22/2010 11:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Daaaang,
This was a pretty bad first experience with foundation :/
I got this on sale and tried it on today.
To sum it up: It was horrible!
This may sound ignorant and naive being my first experience with foundation but I didn't expect it to be this bad.
The mousse came very spongey and cake-like. Almost like those Whipped Mousse's from Yoplait :P
Anyway, I applied it with a foundation brush and started in one small area. It was incredibly hard to blend out and seemed to dry almost the instant it touched my skin, so I was left with streak marks and un-even coverage.
Overall, I will not buy this again. Neither would I reccommend anyone to try it out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2010 6:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

truely the most crap makeup ive ever put on my face, you need to blend it straight away or else you get dark patches on your face, its very very drying on my skin very hard to work with + the colours are all to dark for my very pale skin tone........please please pleas dont buy this s**t oh and it stinks!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2009 2:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I particulary liked this product - being a girl with olive skin tone. I find it very dificult to find products that have "cool" bases. They are all either too "red" or too light for my skin complexion.

This Review is for Rimmel London Cool Matte 16hr Mousse Foundation:

Packaging:
Comes in a glass circular container with plastic black top.
.60 fl oz/ 18ml
Shallow yet contains alot of product.

Scent:
Very perfumed scent. If you are sensitive to Smell this might not be the product for you. When dry smell disappears.

Consistency:
Although this is a mousse foundation, it is NOT whipped (like whipped cream) more like the consistency of mayonnaise with alot of water content.
Leaves skin sticky until dry, when dried completely there is little transfer issues.

Coverage:
Lovely coverage, Above average pigmentation.

Price:
Depends upon where you get it.
In the UK you can pick this product up for as little as £2 from B&M Discount Shops.

Rebuy or Pass:
Re-buy! without a doubt I would repurchase.


on 8/7/2009 7:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Comes off easily.
Does not last long.
Difficult to apply well (fingers, sponge, brush, etc).
Drying and unflattering to the skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2009 2:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Eeeeewww. This foundation's consistency is similar to actual mousse (not like hair mousse, I mean like chocolate dessert mousse.) It's gloppy and heavy on the skin and leaves my face unable to move without feeling like I'm stretching my makeup. It dries sort of weird too and is extremely hard to blend well. It's like trying to blend half-dried nail polish or maybe more like half dried clay. Plus the open jar causes it dry from the container as well. It smells lovely.... but so does perfume and I dont think either one should be put on your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2009 11:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is without a doubt the worst foundation I've ever used. It made me break out without fail each time after each use. I bought it in the summer as my skin was alot darker and I was looking for a more darker foundation. This however had an orange tint to it which was most definitely very unattractive. The mousse is so difficult to blend and really does just seep into your pores and clog them up. It was very cheap so I guess it wasn't a total loss.


Back to Top