Lanvin • Rumeur • Fragrances

rated 3.6(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Soyonzen on 8/18/2011 12:42:00 AM more reviews by Soyonzen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't Narciso Rodríguez - and for that I'm thankful. Narciso Rodriguez is awful on my skin. The patchouli in it takes over and overpowers everything else. This is more similar to SJP Lovely, except this actually has staying power. The opening is very different from both of those though. Give it some time on your skin. The dry down is worth waiting for. The opening is not unbearable, it's actually nice. One more note about the dry down- I'm not missing the Egyptian musk one bit. I can pick Egyptian musk up for a song at the grocery store....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jacq1985 on 6/20/2011 5:10:00 PM more reviews by jacq1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I ordered this on ebay after reading reviews about this scent on MUA. I never do that, but the descriptions people gave of this scent really stuck a chord with me (especially the review below mine). This is a deeper scent than i have ever felt comfortable wearing, the only other perfumes i will wear are marc jacobs "daisy" and "clean", by clean. i feel so sophisticated wearing this, and i don't think you need to be older to wear this. i am 26 but unfortunately look extremely young for my age, and i still feel that this suits me. it's a somewhat quirky scent, you won't like it if you like juicy/bath and body works/victoria secret flowery fruity scents. if anyone has read the book shopgirl by steve martin, this is the scent i imagine mirabelle would wear. it's gorgeous! i got the .17 bottle just to test it out, and now will definitely buy the full sized bottle. a little goes a long way, and i think i will only wear this at night, and when going out.
update 6/20: staying power SUCKS, idk what it is with my skin, but scents never stay strong enough on me. i end up feeling as though i waste a ton of my fragrances because i have to respray throughout the day
Update 6/21 - the scent started out nice enough, but i felt it almost turned into a mens cologne

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Erasmuss on 6/16/2011 4:55:00 AM more reviews by Erasmuss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is not a nose-to-wrist perfume, but a veil. I bought it because the bottle was beautiful. Ugly bottles have no place on my dresser. I had no immediate love for the scent, but about halfway through the bottle it had me swooning every time I would spray it.

Rumeur transports me to an old, abandoned orchard on a still, warm evening. It smells, to me, like a combination of the fresh and living and the softly decaying. Fresh and over-ripe fruits and trees and decaying leaves. Clearly, this in not one of the sharply crisp scents marketed to younger women, but I can't help thinking of beautiful young women of classical mythology and fairy-tale. I've read repeatedly that it is meant for women over thirty, but it seems to me that there is something very youthful about it.

Rumeur now holds it's place as my favorite perfume, and from the right place it can be bought for between fifteen and thirty dollars. I just finished my first bottle. Definitely buying again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fleurdelys848 on 8/22/2010 12:37:00 PM more reviews by fleurdelys848

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

RUMEUR had me at the first line. I
bought this last week unsniffed for the lowest price I ever payed on perfumes.
Let me tell you that while waiting for it to arrive I wet crazy after reading all sorts of disappointing reviews. I expected something very strong, sharp and nauseating. I was pleasantly surprised that it's not that at all! Yes the first notes are a bit pungent I guess it's the effect of the aldehydes but considering it goes away in about 5-7 minutes I'll cope with it! Afterwords it is the most smooth musk and some flowers that last and last. The patchoully is on my skin undetectable, maybe it' s within the balmy drydown, anyhow I love it! I think for me it's best suited in the colder seasons , alas it is a truly underrated scent. I have no idea what the original Rumeur smelled like and heard the fact that this new version had nothing to do with the original, I will wear it proudly. In my country Lanvin is not a popular brand and I find myself very ecstatic to be possibly the only owner of Rumer! Bottom line I love!
I don't know if I would repurchase it, I never bought a fragrance twice BUT I'm considering it the more and more for every minute I wear it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxanaisxx on 5/17/2010 4:31:00 AM more reviews by xxanaisxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I saw this discounted online and loved the bottle and the description, so I tried it on at a department store. It smelled nice when I sniffed the bottle, like jasmine. However, when I sprayed it once on my wrist, it was so strong and cloying, I actually wanted to rush home and scrub it off. To me, it smells like an exceptionally strong dupe of Poison. I wanted to love it, but I would not purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lulu3061 on 3/15/2010 8:23:00 PM more reviews by lulu3061

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a nice, clean smelling scent. Fairly benign smelling, it's what I wear to the office. The bottle is pretty too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maki70 on 12/19/2009 11:21:00 AM more reviews by Maki70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Di-vine!Having not worn scent for almost 20 years I decided to take the plunge and try to sniff out a scent that didn't have me running for the shower to rid myself of it. I confess to buying Anais Anais as a 'safe' reminder of my teen years to set me up and then started to look. To my amazement a quick sample of the body lotion on my hand (some kind? soul had opened a box at TK Maxx) had me swooning an hour later. Went promptly back to TK and bought the lotion and Deo, the perfume winging it's way from e-bay as I write. This is the scent I have longed for, classy, chic and simply beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 9/14/2009 7:51:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

At my local frag counter, there are no testers for Lanvin scnets. I'd been wanting to try this for a very long time, and had seen it on various clearance tables but am not a believer of buying FBs unsniffed - once bitten, as they say. Today I saw a 50ml EDP at Winners for $15, and I picked it up figuring it was a good gamble. But then I found another box that someone else had ripped open, so I grabbed that and gave it a shot. It smelled nice at first, sweet floral, a little different... and then it went wrong, it got too synthetic and intense. I put my unopened box back on the shelf. I am pleased to have finally tried this scent, but since it doesn't work for me I am glad I didn't have to waste even a few dollars finding out. No sale.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sherrie09 on 7/6/2009 11:46:00 AM more reviews by sherrie09

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love it. Smells like nail polish remover and dryer sheets - but it's not as awful as that sounds. The dry down is long lasting, soft, floral, woodsy. It does not smell like NR for Her at all, to my nose. The aldehydes give it a retro feel, yet it's also very modern. It's an airy and clean fragrance to my nose, yet retains a slightly sharp edge. The rose is sweet. I love the bottle cap! I can understand how some loathe this fragrance - I think it's a love it or hate it perfume - but I'm with the loves on this one.
UPDATE: ScarletLover is right, it actually smells a lot like NR For Her...just minus the Egyptian musk & a certain boozy quality. Rumeur is airier and drier. I love this fragrance more than ever, having lived with it for several months. It's subtly changeable. I get different aspects of it at different times. Today I'm getting a spicy/woody quality. During the warmth of summer it was rosier.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 4/29/2009 4:59:00 PM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very well rounded feminine and soft fragrance. It dries down to a floral woody musk which is very soothing but not borring. Notes of magnolia, seringa, white rose, sambac jasmine and orange tree blossom.


I have not bought this as the sample size is 2ml and every Dept. Store or parfumarie gives this out like it were water. When I do not get any I always ask... shameful but why buy when I can get it for free. Same story with Hermes Kelly Caléche (but this one I tend to refuse). Should the perfume stores stop being so generous with Rumeur, I would buy in a flash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lanvin products

More Fragrances products