Lipcote Lipstick Sealer

3.0

25 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/17/2015 3:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ok so for me this stuff is complete and utter rubbish! I dont know wether it because I have dry lips or not but it will crack and peel like no buissness. Even on a good day where my lips are not that bad it seemed to look worse somehow?! I bought mine for £3.00 at Primark so its not exactly breaking the bank but I would be wise before you buy. I would say that if your have dry lips to avoid it because its such a thin formula it will make your lipstick sink right into all your dry skin and cracks. I dont know what it would be like on normal lips but by some of the other reveiws it does work for some. On another down note it smells and looks like nail varnish which for me is extremly of putting! it says on my packaging that it is vanilla scented but where they git that from I dont know cos it stinks to me! I suppose what im trying to say is; if you dont mind the idea that it might not work give it a go! It could work like a dream for you or could be a disaster! Its one of those things I spose with a product that you cant test before you buy!



on 3/12/2015 9:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Although I haven't used this product in a LONG time, I felt like taking a trip down makeup memory lane to review it. This used to get mentioned in a lot of beauty mags back in the day, so that combined with being affordable made me want to try it. I'm not sure if they've improved upon the formula, but this stuff is incredibly drying. It will suck all moisture out of your lips, thus resulting in a puckered mouth which is not attractive! I liked the concept of a formula that would keep my lip colour long lasting and matte, and while I recall it keeping color in place, it is not worth the dried lip effect (not to mention the product had a very chemical/alcoholic scent). I did appreciate the packaging though which is reminiscent of a nail polish bottle/brush...like applying a top coat to your lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2014 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It did exactly what it said it would! I bought it originally because I'd read some reviews that said it mattified lipsticks as well as keeping them on your lips. I didn't notice any change in the glossiness of any of my lipsticks when using this, but it helps keep my lipstick on (I have no self control and constantly lick my lips) and I love it.
After a long time wearing it, it starts to dry and will clump up when I smack my lips together, and the chemical smell is a little off putting, but don't let that stop you from getting it! I've never experienced any type of stinging after applying, either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2014 5:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'd tried this product because I remember my mum use to swear by it, it would always be in her makeup bag the smell of it really reminds me of watching my mum getting ready to go out. It's not expensive to buy at all and it comes in a cute little bottle with a brush like a nail polish does. The product itself i didn't think much of I applied a lipstick I know doesn't usually stay on my lips well in the hope this stuff would work miracles but I still found I was reapplying the lipstick all night and to add to that the morning after my lips were ridiculously dry, won't be using or buying this again.


on 12/6/2013 6:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a few fav lipsticks that last about 2.5 seconds on my lips.

Saw this product at the shop, read the reviews and decided to give it a go.

As others have said - follow the destructions. Pencil liner, blot, lipstick, blot,powder blot and then lipstick again blot and then lightly apply the lipcote.

Keeping your lips open for 3 minutes while it dries is a pain in the proverbial, my mouth got so dry but it was worth it.

Usually I reapply my lipstick continually after every drink, every 20 minutes or so. This time I didn't have to. I had colour and a nice moist looking lipstick coverage until lunch. After lunch I cleaned my lips, went through the entire process again in the afternoon and didn't have to top up my lipstick for the rest of the day.

for a busy working woman, to be taken seriously you don't want to be constantly reapplying make up and the lipcote achieves this. My Dior lipstick looked great, wore well.

I didn't like the alcoholic feeling on my teeth (I obviously smack my lips too much), but a drink of water solved that.

Yes, long lasting lipsticks are better value for money, but sometimes you buy a lipstick that you love and don't find out until you get it home that it disappears at the speed of light from your lips. The Lipcote will definitely be used for a bit longer.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2013 5:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok so I have been using lots of different lipsticks like lipfinity which stay on the lips for hours so was pretty excited when I heard about lipcote, lipcote is a lipstick sealer - what it does is it seals your lipstick so your lipstick stays on your lips for hours.

After my lipstick application I applied a small amount of lipcote and almost immediately I felt a slight burning sensation to my lips (apparently this is normal) this feeling did go away quite quickly,

After lipcote dried I noticed that my lips tasted pretty bad - if you have ever got soap or face cream on your lips by mistake then ran your Tongue against your lips and experienced a horrible taste.... Well this was like that but worse!

Lipcote did keep my lipstick on ok but the taste was not very pleasant.

This product did offer exceptional value for money, it cost me 4. I will not be purchasing this product again.


on 1/27/2013 12:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

LIPCOTE....
I love it. I love it. I love it. I love it.
You just need one thin coating over well blotted lipstick. Then simply wipe the little brush on tissue before replacing it back in the bottle and your lipcote will stay clean and clear for your next application. I find a very slight stinging effect and smell but it only lasts for a minute. I can apply then forget for the night. GREAT PRODUCT.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2012 6:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Bloody hell I wish I could refund this product. It stings, it smells, it doesn't do any good. Don't buy it. A total waste of money!


on 10/21/2012 6:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

on contrary to many reviews i've read about this product, i don't find it has a strong chemical smell or if it stings that bad. my packaging claimed a new vanilla fragrance so i'm not quite sure if this is really new or not. of course i'm not smelling it directly from the tip but i don't find it strong. the sting only lasts for 2 or 3 seconds but my lips are not cracked or anything. as far for the staying power i was really surprised, i was wearing a cheap lipstick and toped it with lipcote and went for some drinks and after about 4 hours of that jazz my lipstick was the same! it never happened to me before. i don't think the lips look dry but you can definitely feel a film on them that wrinkles a bit. the only downside was when i clean my mouth with a napkin and the product started to come off like little lumps. that drives me crazy so i clean my whole lips before a meal and after it i apply the lipstick+lipcote again. but i don't like to eat while wearing lipstick anyway so its no big thing. by its price, i recommend trying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2012 4:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Terrible product. The smell of toxic chemical and a strong burning sensation on the lips, I wish I'd read the reviews here before booking. Seller further argues that never heard of such complaints. Yeah, right ....




Back to Top