LUSH • Coconut Deodorant Powder • Deodorants

rated 3.4(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 HiGayle on 4/24/2014 7:05:00 AM more reviews by HiGayle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best way for me to describe this is coconut scented baby powder. I believe you would get similar deodorizing effects from this powder as you would from baby powder sans the scent.

I'm a pretty sweaty gal, I admit it. Temperature goes up, I exert myself, I sweat. My pits smell pretty bad if left unchecked. Like many folks I am concerned with the aluminum in my deodorant. I decided to try out this one from Lush because it got a good review on popsugar. Unfortunately it did not work for me. I don't think it helped curtail the odor in anyway. My perspiration laughed at this powder and triumphantly contaminated my armpits with their noxious bacteria inducing moistness.

Application of this powder is a pain. You basically sprinkle it in your hand and pat it on your pits simultaneously trying not to drop it on the ground. On that note it might work for foot odor, but I'm either a sandals or sock wearing person so thankfully the foot odor gods have taken pity on me since my pits are already so gross.

On a good note, no irritation for my finicky sensitive skin, but that's probably the only positive, it didn't cause harm, but didn't help either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sarsonator on 12/16/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Sarsonator

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have mixed feelings on this powder. It smells nice and works well when layered over my crystal deod. The packaging, as others have stated, is awful. Get a refillable powder brush, or put one of your unused makeup brushes to work.

I always have a ton of these brushes that come with mineral foundation or whatevs. I cleaned out one of my small Lush black pots (1.5 oz size). Dried well and dumped in some powder. I now just apply it with the brush and I'm all set.

Kind of a pain, but I feel it's worth it since it's getting harder to find cruelty free products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 10/17/2013 4:08:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not a super sweaty person and I don't have ridiculous BO. I can actually get away with not wearing deodorant fairly regularly, but I don't really want to risk it. I've been feeling uncomfortable with my dove deodorant lately just because I've heard some negative things about regular deodorants. I never like the smell of the "all natural" deodorant like Tom's or whatever, so I decided to try this.
I thought it was pretty weird that this is in a lotion bottle. I see that it used to be packaged in a much more logical container, but whatever. It smells nice and coconutty, but not overwhelmingly so and not in a fake coconut way. It's nice and natural. It feels really nice for some reason to put on a powder instead of a stick. it feels much more comfortable. I will say that this is a bit messy to apply and you should definitely put it on before you get dressed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bunnymug on 1/27/2013 5:28:00 AM more reviews by bunnymug

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was part of my first Lush purchase. And their website is full of rave reviews for this product so I was super stoked to try it. The first thing I noticed was the packaging. It's a powder... in a lotion bottle. Huh? If only it were in the packaging in the stock photo. So right off the bat it was weird.



Never mind that, I said to myself, let's give it a whirl. So I shake a bit of product into my hand and give it a go. Application was messy but eh, I've had worse so at first I ignore this. But immediately after I pour it I take a delicate sniff. The smell is bizarre. The Lushies on the Lush site raved about the coconutty goodness. Let me tell you, I love coconut as much as the next lady, and this stuff doesn't smell like coconut, at least not until you apply it. But even then, it had a weird smell of like, cooked coconut toasted something or other, sweet and kind of nutty but definitely didn't make me go "Aww yiss, coconutty heaven." Just weird vaguely foody powdery weirdness. Strike two. It's a pleasant smell but just eh to me, nothing special and it certainly didn't remind me of a beach, nor something I'd get compliments for as the reviews said. Come to think of it who the heck is smelling their armpits anyway?



I also noticed the dispenser get clogged randomly and also there's random chunks of what appears to be coconut bits in the product. So even if I apply it carefully, a random chunk of coconut crap can fall onto my shirt, leaving incriminating white powder everywhere. Strike three Lush, but I still decide to give it an honest go.



So I think "well surely it must work if they adore it so much," and the dutiful makeup geek I am, I sprinkle some in my lady pits and go about my day. Now, to be fair to Lush, I rock some manly amounts of sweating. Like, seriously. I sweat in a cold room in a t shirt. I sweat a lot, what I would consider to be definitely more than average, and my right pit sweats more than the left because my body likes to be stankier on one side apparently.



So I kid you not, not even two to three hours later, I was a stanky skanky hot mess in my pit regions. My right pit was a swampy nightmare of powdery icky weird smelling BO nastiness. I know this stuff doesn't prevent sweating but that isn't my beef with it. My problem was I'm at work and I smelll like a trucker dude. Mortified I sprayed myself with perfume and hoped no one at work could smell my vaguely coconut scented shame.



Next day. I try it again, only this time I later the Coconut over a thin film of some random natural deodorant I'm trying. Surely this will do the trick, I say to myself. Sadly, no. The power of my armpit stank crushed the Lush deodorant like a... I dunno, actually. Insert simile here. But yeah, just another few hours later the next day it was the same sad stinky story.



Despite this I try again and again, day after day, to see if my body will miraculously accept the coconutty weirdness and change. Perhaps pathetic of me but I even tried to deny the stank to myself, minimize the stink in my head but then I realized that the was very dumb because I paid for this crap and I shouldn't have to hide my stinky pits because they shouldn't be stinky!



It never got any better. Perhaps If you sweat like a delicate lady fairy, this will work for you. If you sweat like a she beast though like I do, and have a propensity to get stinky, don't waste your money. I will say it did de-stankify my feet but I didn't buy a foot powder now did I, Lush? No, you sold me on promises of heavenly coconutty armpitty goodness. To the reject pile it goes.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spinacha on 11/28/2012 12:55:00 PM more reviews by spinacha

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I did not enjoy this product, and I did not use it long enough to conclude whether or not it deodorizes at all.
The packaging is not practical. In the stock photo shown in the review, it shows different packaging that comes with a sifter, which I think would probably be far more effective than the current packaging. The product now comes in a squeeze bottle with a screw flip-top, similar to a shampoo bottle. When you go to squeeze out the product, too much comes out...and heaven forbid you squeeze too hard, because the powder will go all over. It can get very messy.
The powder itself is finely milled; more so than your typical baby powder or talcum powder. It spreads easily when applied, which is a plus, but because it is such a finely milled powder, it has a natural tendency to disperse into the air when applying it to your body and/or when dispensing it from the bottle.
The smell of the powder isnít distinctly coconut. When you smell the product in the bottle, it doesn't smell exactly like coconut. It's hard to describe what the smell is like, but definitely not coconut-like. However, I did find that when you dispense some of the powder into your hand and rub it between your fingers, you do get a hint of coconut smell, but it is faint.
Lastly, and in my opinion most importantly, if you have any sort of skin irritation (e.g. dry skin, a scrape, chafing, etc.), the powder is going to sting and burn like crazy when it comes into contact with that area. And it doesn't necessarily have to be a fresh or open wound / irritation. The powder is quite perfumey, and can be extremely irritating. With that alone, I decided to not use it again after one use. Any product that is overly perfumed or that aggravates irritated skin so badly will have no positive benefits on unscathed skin either, in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheMoonBunny on 10/17/2012 11:14:00 PM more reviews by TheMoonBunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

PROS
--- subtle coconut smell

CONS
--- messy to put on; I had to use a makeup brush in it to dust it under my armpits.
--- can easily spread to clothes & make you look messy
--- doesn't actually work after about 2-3 hours on me

I really wanted to like this, but it's a no go for me. I'm sticking with regular deodorant from the DS for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 arscharfen21 on 9/23/2012 4:22:00 AM more reviews by arscharfen21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't have an issue with using a powder deodorant so no complaints on that. My issue was the fact that it just plain didn't work on me. Yes, the coconut smell was a bit "smelly" but this is a natural product and they tend to smell a bit different. Within 15 minutes of applying, I smelled a sharp, metallic b.o. stench emanating from my arm pits when I reached out to pick something up. I actually jerked my head back and wrinkled me nose. Yep, that horrible odor was me. I was just lucky that I hadn't left the house yet so I could just wash it off and use my old stuff. I then drove straight to LUSH to return it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mo98103 on 7/21/2012 4:18:00 AM more reviews by mo98103

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't usually have nice things to say about "natural" deodorants. There are about 6 in my rotation, I try not to use one more than 3 days in a row or they stop working. Despite my experience with LUSH deodorants in the past, I decided to give this a chance. It's not expensive, smells nice (but not strong) and I knew I could sprinkle it in my shoes or use it as a dry shampoo or doggie-freshener-upper if it didn't work. It's day 4 now and I still like it, I'm shocked. They have switched the packaging now to a lotion/shower gel style bottle, which isn't a great delivery method - I would have preferred the old shaker, plus with this you receive less product. This might not be the miracle I've been searching for, but it deserves a spot in the rotation at the very least

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blossom79 on 5/31/2012 1:48:00 AM more reviews by Blossom79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This smells nice, but not strong, so once on, unless your nose is in your armpit you can't smell it. Unfortunetly it just doesn't work. And the tub it came in wouldn't open properly, so it was hard to get out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 3/28/2012 3:11:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

INSTANT MIGRAINE from this product. I don't know if it was the coconut or what, but I only used it once and threw it in the trash. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Deodorants products