Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup

3.7

236 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Isostearyl Palmitate, Silica, Calcium Silicate, Methicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Boron Nitride, Methyl Methacrylate, Crosspolymer, Polypropylene, Phenoxyethanol, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Chromium Hydroxide Green


on 4/6/2015 6:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- nice and handy packaging
- didn't break me out

Cons:
- 1N2 Ecru in the liquid foundation, but 1N2 Ecru powder version is WAY lighter
- sheer coverage and rubs off
- kinda chalky and cakey
- doesn't control oil long

Wouldn't really recommend this product. Kinda useless for me



on 3/9/2015 3:14:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Was so impressed with my Estée Lauder Double Wear liquid foundation that I thought of buying EL Lucidity Powder after reading all the good reviews here in MUA. I decided to check the EL counter the other day in Rustan's Shangrila only to find out that Lucidity has been discontinued here in the Philippines. The SA suggested to get the Double Wear Stay in Place Powder Makeup as summer is approaching, she reasoned this can replace the liquid foundation for a really light coverage. I got the same shade as my liquid foundation, Rattan and the next day I decided to use this. After my moisturizer, I applied this using a stippling brush and boy, was I amazed to see that in spite it being in powder form, it still gave full coverage, as in it covered my freckles and some dark spots but felt so light as if not wearing makeup at all. It even got me through dinner and a show and I still looked glowing and fresh. I tried using it as a finishing powder over the liquid foundation and it also lasted from morning to night. What can I say, I've really found winners in Estée Lauder. The only drawback to the powder is the price. You have to pay for the compact, which by the way is quite gorgeous, and the powder refill separately. Total cost is Pesos 3,500 or $78.00, which is quite a hefty price. I just would like to think that it would last a long time so I won't have to buy the refill soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2015 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Estee Lauder's Double Wear line is such high quality, and their pressed powder is no exception. The powder is very finely milled, which allows me to apply it as light or heavy as I please. And maybe its the milling, but it seems to last quite a bit longer than pressed powders usually last me.


on 2/11/2015 2:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Why did it take me so long to find a good, blendable and the correct color compact powder? This powder is absolutely fantastic! Fresco is an amazing color, I honestly believe it would suit most fair women. It covers but doesn;t cake, is not obvious and at the same time seems luminous. I highly and strongly suggest it as an everyday powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 5:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was horrible on my skin. I never suffered from any break out because of a beauty product - even when as I teenager was using the cheaper stuff - and I managed to get this from a £40 luxury product. I was looking for a good coverage powder - previously have been rotating between Mac and Clinique - and the Estee Lauder representative persuaded me to buy this.

Firstly - I didn't really see any great coverage. The product just sat on my face creating batches of colour, instead of providing any good coverage.

Secondly - within days my skin broke out. It was oily beyond belief and got spots.

I stopped using this straight away but at the time I thought that maybe it was just a coincidence. I decided to give it a chance a month later and got the exact same results (really annoying as it took me a while to rebalance my skin, the first time).

Straight to the bin (along with my £40 I guess). Never buying again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I totally love this stuff!!


on 1/1/2015 7:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been wearing MAC Studio Fix over different foundations since it first came out in the mid-eighties but ageing, redness and not being able to cover the broken veins around my nose led me to the EL counter at my local department store. The cosmetician there suggested I try this powder around my nose over my Double Wear concealer. Bingo! Beautiful staying power, at least four-five hours, and a perfect shade match (Fresco). I had recently started using Resilience Lift Extreme liquid foundation and the Double Wear concealer, and am incredibly pleased with the results. My skin looks flawless and still skin-like. The secret is thin, thin layers. I apply the foundation with my trusty beauty blender sponge, in a very light coat, the concealer with a tiny brush exactly where needed, as Lisa Eldridge demonstrates in her videos, and a light layer of the Double Wear Powder with a large brush. The first day I wore it, my (female) doctor said, "Wow, you look glowing!" I was sold :) The MAC powder went in the garbage! I do look young for my age (65 this month, almost no wrinkles). Most store clerks don't believe I qualify for the 55 senior discount, but I'm convinced this combo makes me look even better. I do have a few acne scars from years of breakouts, some broken veins, etc., but now that I've found such a good combination for hiding them, I'm not about to change. Yes, EL is on the high side of my normal price range, but I'm willing to pay a little more for the self-confidence it gives me. Having lived with the near-destruction of my self-esteem from hormonal acne as a teen, I'm really enjoying the compliments now.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2014 10:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this powder/foundation! When I was younger and my skin was oilier I always used MAC's Studio Fix. However, as I've gotten older and my skin became drier I had to find an alternative and this product fits the bill perfectly. It's available in a variety of shades. The texture is smooth with no dust. It wears all day. If you are going out at night you may need to touch it up but that's normal for any product. I have rosacea and it covers my redness nicely.
It's not cakey or heavy even in the high humidity summer months. The sponge allows two ways to apply heavier or smoother depending on which side you use. I will definitely re purchase. It lasts a long time and is packaged beautifully. Well worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2014 1:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim to get the 7 pc free gift at Macy's. The color I was matched with was 2N2 Rattan. I liked the silky texture the first time I put it on; and that it also evened-out my skin tone, I thought. But after a few hours, oxidation has become more noticable. I went to the bathroom and saw that my face was about 2 shades darker than my neck, and the rest of my body. I also have combination skin with several dry patches on my chin (from drying out my breakouts) so the powder accentuated my dry spots. Obviously from this observation, that 2N2 was not a good colormatch for me, although it looked perfect on first application. I bought a refill in another shade 2C2 and its just ok, with the oxidation my face looked slightly tan, but better than 2N2. So color match with oxidation in mind is very, very important with this powder.  When it comes to coverage, I would say it is sheer to medium but buildable. It did not, unfortunately, cover my acne dark marks. I use wet/dry sponge. Dry sponge for oil-control, sheer look; wet sponge for a medium to buildable foundation coverage. Use with caution though, as the more you put on layers of the powder, the darker it will look when it oxidizes. Oil-control is ok, of course I prefer the dewy look. I like the compact itself, kind of classy.  I would recommed this to anybody who has perfect skin, as using this alone does not do well on covering up active, drying/healing pimples and scars. 

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2014 2:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this powder in pale almond and i just love it. I use it over my makeup and it gives a beautiful finish to my face. It is the perfect color for a wall-colored-girl like me and feels extremely soft and perfect on my face. Also it's not heavy and doesn't need touch-ups during the day.
The package is nice and closes very good, also it has a nice sized mirror and a small sponge hiding under it in a separate compartment, these features make it perfect for carrying around and taking it with you as you travel.
A bit expensive, just like every estee lauder product, but it's totally worth it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top