Clinique • Mild Clarifying Lotion • Toners

rated 4.1(359 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 vivian308 on 7/9/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by vivian308

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly never really liked to use toner before, since I think it's the step that u can skip, and usually most toners have alcohol which I hate, because it dries my skin out and also can cause breakouts (I'm not so sure about breakouts part but I just don't like the fact that my skin care products contain alcohol) However when I went to a Clinique counter and ask for help because my skin would not have big breakout but usually the clogged pores that continue to get bigger (I tend to have clogged pores instead of big breakouts), she told me that I have to try to exfoliate my skin more, and use a chemical exfoliation instead of physical (facial scrubs or Clarisonic etc, since it can be more irritating to skin) I took her advice and since this is a non-alcohol toner, I tried this, and I must say I like it, it actually help remove the left over debris that cleanser can't get rid of and somehow the salicylic ingredient in it exfoliate my skin... although it contains salicylic acid, it is pretty gentle and does a good job with toning and exfoliating the skin

However the price is what I give it 4 lippies, since it is a bit expensive...I read reviews about Dickensen's witch hazel toner, and that product is $4 at Walmart for a big bottle, I just bought it a few days a go, and it seems to work just as well, for a fraction of cost...I was surprised because I never liked alcohol toner, and Dickensen one has about 14% of grain alcohol which is a lot...however it was not irritating to my skin at all, it was actually pretty soothing and also I noticed it brightens my skin after I use it, so I think I will continue with Dickensen toner...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 76bonz on 6/5/2014 8:25:00 AM more reviews by 76bonz

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I like the way this makes my skin feel. At first I thought it was not doing anything because I was used to those strong clarifying lotions clinique makes but after using for a while I see my skin is better looking. Now I am addicted to this stuff. I use it after using the coil for hair removal to calm my skin down & disinfect. It never dries my skin too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladushka on 6/4/2014 7:13:00 PM more reviews by ladushka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The lotion cleanses well, it moisturizes my skin and kind of wakes it up in the morning. I guess it exfoliates well. It doesn't irritate my skin but is not soothing enough. For the price I would expect that the lotion does more to calm the skin. One lippie off. But all in all, it is a decent toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mule84 on 4/29/2014 7:39:00 AM more reviews by mule84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best toner I have ever used. It's interesting that I've never had it recommended to me by a Clinique representative, because it seems like it would work for a lot of people. I have used the numbered toners in the past and they often work well for a while, but eventually become too harsh for my skin. My skin has become drier as I have gotten older, but oil production gets ramped up to try to compensate.

Using this mild clarifying lotion is like bathing by skin in happiness. After cleansing and using this toner my skin feels silky, smooth, not at all dry or tight, and not at all oily. It is ready for moisturiser. It has helped settle down my dry patches and in turn has decreased my oiliness.

I would recommend this toner for anyone with dry skin, and it would probably work for oily combination skin as well. I think it would be a great addition to any skin care regime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sciencegeek on 4/24/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this lotion with both the mild and extra mild facial soap and the dramatically different moisturising gel. For reference my skin is combination.

The system made my skin red, itchy, irritated and very dehydrated. It also caused me to breakout a lot (even in places I never breakout). The lotion in itself was probably the best product out of the bunch. However, even though it is supposed to be mild I wouldn't name it that way. I guess 'normal' would be more suitable. It is still a bit drying/uncomfortable to use. I mean, it's not irritating as the numbered clarifying lotions, but it isn't soothing either. I expect something that says 'mild' to be soothing or pleasant to apply. This is not.

I also didn't not see any improvements on my skin in the two weeks that I used it twice daily. I can say, however, that this worked better with a cleanser and moisturiser that are not in the Clinique '3 Step range'. I believe it worked ok with the moisture surge extended thirst relief. I stopped using this lotion after two weeks though, as I wanted something more soothing. I really did not enjoy using this lotion at all and saw no benefits and so stopped using it.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 2/5/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Watch out that the Clinique salesperson doesn't steer you away from this one towards their larger bottles of the numbered system of toners. Those all contain alcohol and are both irritating and drying. The sales people persist in trying to diagnose your skin and hand you a "prescription" number for their system. They will tell you you don't need this one.

You'll know you got the right one when they give you a pale green bottle that is half the height of the numbered toner bottles. It's usually not on display, and they have to look below the counter to find it.

They can insist they don't have any.

HAH! Double HAH to all that nonsense.

This one is the ONLY one that Paula Begoun recommends and other derms that write books recommend including Baumann.

It is an exfoliant but a mild one based on BHA which clears the pores and refines the skin so it's anti acne and anti aging.

It will take off the traces of cleanser and makeup that rinsing and patting dry didn't get, plus return your skin to it's proper pH level.

It is mildly moisturizing with the glycerin but shouldn't aggravate acne or rosacea.

It has NO alcohol in it.

If you are very oily, this will suffice as a moisturizer just by itself.

To save money, shake to mix (you have to with this one) and pour a tsp onto your cupped palm then quickly apply to face and wipe off with cotton pad. This uses a LOT less than soaking a pad, then wiping the face and does the same thing.

MY experiance with this has been it's a wonderful product for use with my sensitive (right now very dry but sometimes combo) skin that has redness, reactivity, mild rosacea and a bit of sebbhorhea. I use it to combat the occaisional pimple from the rosacea, along with sebbhorheic keratosis and as a mild exfoliant for anti aging.

I find the soaps and cleansers in the Clinique line are a bit too harsh (mild gel) or too creamy (extra mild cleanser) but this toner is perfection.

Now all that said, Leslie Baumann in her skin type book says there are skin types who should NOT use ANY toner at all. So your mileage may vary but if you want one of the mildest BHA products around you should give this a try.

And if you are too sensitive for daily use try using it once or twice a week. I don't think once or twice a day is necessary if your skin is thin and sensitive. There is such a thing as overtreatment.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Carybear on 2/5/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well for a while I took a vacation from Clinique products. Recently though I've been having such a hard time with moisturizers the thought of this lotion. Manual exfoliation seems to really upset my skin so I thought that I'd go back to chemical exfoliation. This BHA liquid/toner, not only has the ability to exfoliate the skin but moisturize as well.
I've used this on and off for about five years. I don't know why I keep straying away from it, it r is beautifully formulated, an excellent toner and evens out my cello, olive toned complexion.
I have remarkably sensitive, combination skin that's prone to dehydration and clogged pores. My skin is also undergoing the wreak and ruin of hormonal changes. That means adult acne that responds poorly to BP and other harsher, conventional acne treatments. Those are for younger skins.
So if you're like me, prone to clogged pores and light acne and you cant handle moisturizers without dealing with itchiness, I would definitely recommend this to you.
***UPDATE***
May 2014- I am afraid I'm going to have to change my review. When I began using again, I found the clarified and brightened my skin. As time went on I realized it was drying my skin out. I also think that it was clogging my pores. There's a lot of pore clogging ingredients, Which sucks.
*FINAL UPDATE*
Yeah after a while, halfway through my skin started to react in the classic welts/hives fashion. Only in the hollows if my cheeks, and because it's such an odd place where I am actually rather dry (sometime dehydration shows on my cheeks as fine lines) it reminded me why I stopped using this time and again. My skin does not like it. The end.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Backmasking on 1/5/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Backmasking

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love! I use this after cleansing to balance my skin and to remove any residue. It's moisturizing and doesn't affect my super sensitive skin. I poured the product into a glass spray bottle that I got with a different toner so I don't waste any, and so I could spray onto my face when I feel like it. I wish it came in a larger size like Clinique's other toners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lraep on 12/10/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by lraep

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have used many a toner with harsh alcohol and salicylic acid. My skin burned and cried, even though the toners were pretty effective. I did more research on toners and realized that alcohol is not really good for the skin. Even though I have combination/oily skin, I was lookin for that non-alcohol alternative. I bought this mild clarifying toner from Clinique. I used it the first day and felt like it did nothing ( maybe because there was no burning lol). However, after using 3-4 times a week morning and night , I can say that my skin is hydrated and beautiful and smooth :) it is winter here, so I think this toner might be too moisturizing/leave too much residue in the summer for my oily skin. But for now ....5 STARS! I just wish they made it In a bigger bottle .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Phoenix761 on 11/21/2013 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Phoenix761

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this toner regularly. The texture is on the thicker side, but I love it still. It has a very low level of BHA, and it was not effective enough for me. As an alcohol-free toner it's an excellent choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Toners products