Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion

4.1

368 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau; Butylene Glycol; Biosaccharide Gum-1; Cyclodextrin; Salicylic Acid; Panicum Miliaceum (Millet Plant) Glyco-Protein Extract; Aloe Barbadensis Powder; Arginine; PEG-10 Soy Sterol; Ceteth-20-Dimethicone-Ceteth-2; BIS-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane; Cetyl Alcohol; Phenoxyethanol; Green 5 (CI 61570); Yello 10 (CI 47005)


on 7/1/2015 6:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is downright cheap in Canada, and I like it. I went to Paula's Choice and have selected only her "best" rated products for my skin care (cleanse, exfoliate with this, tone with clinique even better essence lotion for dry skin, and sunscreen and retinol and an aha now. Geez lol but it's not expensive if you choose the right brands. And this product will last me forever, like a year with the amount I use daily. :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/23/2015 3:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Must be the only person this doesn't work for. Decided to pay the retail price in Australia ($36) because of all the good reviews and promised results, however now strongly regret it. Did not see any difference with this whatsoever. The cap is very annoying, because the hole in the bottle pours out so much product. Obviously you could pour in onto a pad, but I tried that and it wasted too much product compared to pouring onto hands. The layers in this product also appear to separate over time, despite keeping in a cool cupboard and not exposed to light. It smells strange too, not bad but not enticing. Overall this simply had no effect on my skin on my face, or on my legs and arms. Regretful purchase.


on 5/23/2015 10:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

PRICE - Bought this for $16 Canadian dollars before taxes. It lasts a 3-4 months, so amortized over that time ($4 per month), it's not bad.

PACKAGING - It's just good enough, but not spectacular. Clinique chose to go with a regular/traditional open mouth and cap dispenser. Problematic: the amount I use each time is inconsistent since there's little control in dispensing. You have to turn the bottle upside down to catch the liquid on your cotton pad. It's just all left to gravity and your fine-motor skills. Instead, they could use a spray dispenser or pump.

PRODUCT - Used intermittently over 5 years. Notice that my skin looks more lush and luminous with this, especially after a lazy skincare week. It's gentle for my sensitive skin (Eczema). Fragrance is gentle. It's a BHA exfoliant with just the right PH balance, according to Paula's Begoun. I'm dealing with hormonal adult acne at 28 and although it's difficult to quantify how well this exfoliates, I like the brightness it adds to my face. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 7:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had no idea that this product existed until seeing it on Caroline Hirons' blog. I'd written off the entire Clinique range other than the cleansing balm. Anyway this mild clarifying lotion is fantastic as a daily mild exfoliant. No stinging or burning, and it keeps my skin feeling very smooth, soft and clear. I use it after double cleansing, soaked into a cotton pad and swipe all over my face, followed by serum/oil/moisturiser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2015 9:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am experiencing adult hormonal acne. I wanted a low amount of bha with a low ph to exfoliate. This is it. My skin looks so radiant and clear. It's just perfect. So funny, a review below mentioned the sales girls will try to give you a bottle with a # on it or make a snarky remark if you ask for this one. And that's exactly what happened. I held up the bottle from the display and said "I'll take one of these please" and She rings me up for one with a #4 on it. And I said, "No, this one" and she says "Oh! You want really mild huh?" in a terse way. LOL WTH? This stuff rocks! : )

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2015 8:54:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I thought I would hate this, after reading the reviews. But honestly, my sensitive roseatic skin likes it a lot. I clicked I would repurchase, but I'm truly on the fence between repurchasing this product, and using a mix of Reviva rosewater and Thayer's witch hazel with rosewater.

The packaging doesn't bother me; at least it's not in a glass bottle and it's easy to control the amount on a cotton ball. The price is not outrageous, but still a bit more than mixing 2 inexpensive ingredients (if you haven't tried the mix, you might want to-- good for dry, sensitive skin, and the pure rosewater make a nice refresher for skin and hair). It has no strong scent, and feels soothing when applied. For taking off the last remains of makeup, it certainly works well.


on 12/20/2014 1:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like how clean my skin feels after I wipe a cotton of this on it. Fresh and clean. Makes my sebaceous filaments less visible. Love this stuff. Wish it had a pump though. Don't like the packaging


on 11/26/2014 2:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Until this product, I was firmly in the 'toner is an extra, wasted step' camp. Now, in my attempts to step up my game, it is an essential part of my routine.
This product was recommended to me as an alcohol free, BHA toner to gently brighten, exfoliate and refine without bombing my skin. I had heard the stories about Clinique's toners laying waste to skin, so was nervous but shouldn't have been.
First, this product needs to be shaken before use. No biggie. And there is really no smell to speak of, certainly no reek of alcohol as with other Clinique toners.
I use this with cotton pads, and the upward sweep they teach. It is mild enough not to sting my skin but I still see residue on the pad occasionally, so it is not too mild to be not doing it's job. I haven't had any irritation and I do use it right up around my eyes. I have also started sweeping this down onto my neck and decolletage; at my age, it can't hurt!

Has my skin been magically transformed, no; but my skin seems clearer and my products are absorbing better than before. I have eased off my usual cleansing scrubs as this seems to do enough of a job exfoliating on it's own.
The price is quite reasonable at $17 CDN; I get about 3 months out of a bottle using it AM and PM. I also time the purchases to coincide with their GWP, so that's a nice bonus. I now have plenty of travel tubes of DDML and haven't bought a new lipstick in 6 months.
My only beef is that this toner is never offered as part of a promo set and only comes in the smaller bottle. The bottle is great and sturdy for travel but for home use, an economy size would be nice. And buying this at the mall sucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 10:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is an exfoliator, a BHA product with salicylic acid. BHA products are usually recommended to people with oily, acne-prone skin or to people with rosacea. This product might be mild compared to other BHA exfoliators, because it contains a lower than average amount of salicylic acid, but it is definitely not mild in general. Just click 'lowest rating first', and you'll see how many people got skin irritation because of it. There are a lot of us, whose skin does not tolerate BHA at all.
I have normal-slightly dry in winter- slightly sensitive skin with mild rosacea. I hardly ever have spots. I've tried this lotion and Paula's 2% BHA lotion: both gave me red pimples. This Clinique one numerous small ones, Paula's some huge ones (maybe it's because of the concentration). This lotion also dried out my skin and made it uncomfortable. It's not uncommon that BHA products cause spots to those who have problem-free skin. They might bring the junk up to the surface, I don't know.
So I say especially if you don't have acne, try a sample of any BHA product before purchasing, and wait some days before you use it again. I recommend Paula's 1% or 2%, because she has samples, and the concentration is better, so you'll see more quickly if it's good for you or not, and if it's OK, you'll have a more effective product.
The best and mildest exfoliator I've tried until now is Clinique's Turnaround Concentrate, which I use every day. It makes my skin much smoother and it hasn't caused me any irritation so far.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2014 2:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I honestly never really liked to use toner before, since I think it's the step that u can skip, and usually most toners have alcohol which I hate, because it dries my skin out and also can cause breakouts (I'm not so sure about breakouts part but I just don't like the fact that my skin care products contain alcohol) However when I went to a Clinique counter and ask for help because my skin would not have big breakout but usually the clogged pores that continue to get bigger (I tend to have clogged pores instead of big breakouts), she told me that I have to try to exfoliate my skin more, and use a chemical exfoliation instead of physical (facial scrubs or Clarisonic etc, since it can be more irritating to skin) I took her advice and since this is a non-alcohol toner, I tried this, and I must say I like it, it actually help remove the left over debris that cleanser can't get rid of and somehow the salicylic ingredient in it exfoliate my skin... although it contains salicylic acid, it is pretty gentle and does a good job with toning and exfoliating the skin

However the price is what I give it 4 lippies, since it is a bit expensive...I read reviews about Dickensen's witch hazel toner, and that product is $4 at Walmart for a big bottle, I just bought it a few days a go, and it seems to work just as well, for a fraction of cost...I was surprised because I never liked alcohol toner, and Dickensen one has about 14% of grain alcohol which is a lot...however it was not irritating to my skin at all, it was actually pretty soothing and also I noticed it brightens my skin after I use it, so I think I will continue with Dickensen toner...


Back to Top