NYX Rouge Cream Blush (All Shades)

4.1

74 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil (and) Ethylene / Propylene / Styrene Copolymer (and) Butylene / Ethylene / Styrene Copolymer, Myristyl Lactate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polyethylene, Mica, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polyisobutene, Beeswax, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Ethylhexyglycerin, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), D&C Red 6 (CI15850), D&C Red 7 (CI15850), D&C Red 27 (CI45410), Iron Oxide Yellow (CI77492), Iron Oxide Red (CI77491), Iron Oxide Black (CI77499).


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Didn't "know" dry skin works better with cream blushes (have noticed I can look a tad cakey/dry at times with my powder blush esp. when adding powder over my foundation).

Read reviews for cream blushes and NYX seemed to come up as a nice (cheaper)choice. Dark brown hair, NC 30 Mac.

Reading reviews narrowed it to Orange or Tea Rose shades. Many brunettes seemed to go too light with their choices so I knew I needed to choose dark. I find also often powder blushes are too light for my taste even when they look ideal in the package.

Tea Rose "looked" a better choice in the package, orange scared me. lol. Thankfully, Ulta has sample testers. Even after reading how little I would need....I put way too much on. With that said, both nice for NC30 skin IMO. Tea Rose had a bit more "pink" tone and the orange was a bit more "rust"? terracotta-ish

I chose the orange shade bc I enjoy my neutrals and prefer a very earthy look with my makeup (browns/gold/copper). Felt this would comment my overall makeup shades.

TINY bit needed. After wiping off the makeup and starting over again I took the advice of a poster and used my middle finger and my pointer finger. Gently tapped them on the cream blush and then face. GENTLE :). Light hand. Worked much better. May take practice. BUT I think this will look much better on my dry skin vs. powder blush (of course bc I just bought some powder blush!)

*I will update with lasting quality and adjust lippies if needed. Gave 4 stars for now bc can't say "best ever" since I have not used another cream blush as of this moment to compare. Price good, go with light hand...colors seem to range for light to dark skin which is nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/23/2015 12:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had 6 of these but I have purged 4 of them. The colors are beautiful. Pigmented, matte and creamy. The red one is especially pigmented and pretty. I got rid of mine because of the staying power. I have oily skin. These lasted a few hours on me. I guess I could layer them with a powder but I dont see the point in that. And since they are so pigmented, its easy to go overboard. They did not set either. I could feel some stickiness on my cheeks 1 hour after I applied them. I have kept Golden and Tea rose. They have a subtle color so they work for layering under vibrant colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2015 12:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay first off- this is definitely not comparably to the mac cream blushes…those for me are the holy grail of cream blushes with their blending ability and consistency.

That being said, these cream blushes really do deliver on colour and staying ability. They are pretty easy to blend and aren't "sticky" as most cream blushes can be. These are great drugstore alternatives to the mac cream blushes but of course don't have the same "matte" effect or lost lasting power.


on 5/29/2014 9:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this cream blusher in Orange and Natural. Many reviewers said that this blusher is highly pigmented and lasts all day, but on me, it isn't at all. It stays on my cheeks only for about 2-3 hours, and then, it dissapears. I thought it was because I only applied a little bit of product (cos it IS very pigmented on my fingers, yes, I use my fingers to dot and blend) so I applied 2 or 3 layers and cover it with a bit of powder to set it up. It looked nice on my cheeks when my make up is finished, especially the Orange one, a gorgeous terracota orange that matches my yellowish fair-medium skin beautifully. But 2 or 3 hours later it dissapears eventhough I have a quite dry skin, and I'm not sweating or anything that can possibly wash it away. Meh so disappointing!
The cheap plastic packaging is also a sucker.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2014 5:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Have in Glow/Eclat, warm pink, applies easily, a little streaky if not careful, seems to get a little darker on my skin after about 10 minutes, lasts a few hours. Not as good as Stila blushes, but inexpensive. I tried on my lips and got a nice sheer color, but no lasting power, great to use on the fly, but had a hard time reapplying over makeup. Not too expensive, great in gym bag.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2014 3:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love how these look on the skin, but they broke me out :(


on 5/2/2014 6:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this product in "Boho chic" and I just love it!! It has a beautiful natural color that gives the skin a healthy blush. I Plan on buying at least one more of these!!


on 5/2/2014 10:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have 2 NYX rouge blushes in Boho Chic and Natural and I love them both! The boho chic looks more natural than the natural does. Natural is a little more peachy pink. They are not overly oily and they stay on for quite a long time through a regular day. I also use them as a lipstick as well! Great for the dry skin gals like me!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2014 11:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Its just an average product for me, as said before it was hard to blend and sticky. However, the color is great and you will get great natural blush if you apply it after foundation and before loose powder. Not sure I'm going to repurchase this product, maybe I'll just try something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2014 1:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

given so many good reviews and the recent sale @ ulta, i decided to check these cream blushes.
well, the color selection is good and these blushes look very pretty - from very subtle (natural) to very bold (red cheeks). people of different skin colors and undertones, can find a blush that will suit them. that's the only good thing about these blushes.
nyx wants you to believe these blushes are 'velvety'. meh, not so fast. when you read reviews expressing different opinions re: the way these blushes feel - anything from too dry to too oily - just remember that they might feel completly different based on the color you've selected. i had the opportunity to test all blushes on display, and they felt quite different from one pot to the next. i did not test different containers within the same color category, but would not be surprised if they feel and apply differently, as well.
so, if one blush slides off your face, maybe try another color - it might feeld much drier. there is really no consistency across the board, which given different skin needs, might be a good thing :)
now, lets talk about pricing. some people are raving about how inexpensive these blushes are. you read comments like 'at these prices, why not try them all', "what do you have to loose, they are so cheap"... inexpensive? hmm.... they come in rather large, and rather flumsy plastic containers, which can fool you into thinking you are getting a good deal and a lot of product. but, look at the back label. for $7 you are getting 3.5 gram - .12 oz of product. yes, meger .12 oz, which at $7.00 retail, comes to 58 cents per ounce.
now, let's compare this to - oh i dont know - lets say, josie maran blush stick. retail price - $21 for almost 16 gr - .55 oz, which is only 38 cents per ounce.
are you kidding nyx? one can get a far superior blush with some ingredients which are actually good for one's skin for almost 1/2 your price. wow
btw, there is no ingredient list published on nyx website. must be a reason why. good luck reading it off the back label.
if you really in love with the color selection and just have to have it and you are sure your skin will love it, and you are convinced the color will look good in you - buy it and enjoy it! just dont let them fool you into thinking you are getting some great bargain. you are not! you are getting a cheap product for $$

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
5139 Reviews
Contour Kit
90 Reviews


Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top