Moschino • Moschino • Fragrances

rated 3.6(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShellyMum on 10/8/2012 6:07:00 PM more reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Moschino is a rich oriental launched in 1987. It's definitely an 80s (big and loud) powerhouse scent. It reminds me very much of Coco by Chanel which came first in 1984. I'm not sure how many notes they share, but on my skin I find them very similar. I also think of Obsession by Calvin Klein when I'm wearing this. So you get the idea, it's nothing unique, but it is a very lovely warm spicy oriental scent.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beautyprincess303 on 6/20/2012 8:49:00 AM more reviews by beautyprincess303

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This fragrance has a nice tone to it once it settles in, a very warm, spicy scent which is great for fall/winter. I do think it smells a little old lady-ish though, so I don't wear it that much. I actually gave my bottle to my mum as she likes the scent, but I still wear it sometimes during the fall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yum_yum on 1/11/2012 8:39:00 AM more reviews by yum_yum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Old school, proper oriental perfume. At first it gave off a Shalimar vibe -- but then clicked: this reminds me of L'Heure Bleue and Must de Cartier with possibly a geranium note thrown in. Not sure if geranium is in the official notes, but there's something dry and herbal in the background. Not 'grassy' -- it's not sharp or 'in focus', so to speak. Just a layer of dryness somewhere in the middle. I wouldn't say it's powdery, but the dryness stops it from being juicy or humid.

It's 'rich' -- probably the amber combined with dusty spice notes. And that's where some wearers might have problems. Even though it isn't overkill or oversweet, there's something 'weighty' about the base. It works for me. If you like old-style perfume, it's one to try. I'm confused by it. It's tenacious but there's something sepia-tinted about it; it lacks LHB's heliotrope rush and the heavy amber of Must, but somehow references them in its structure. Given the price point of the Moschino at discounters, this might make a luxe substitute for lovers of the mentioned Guerlain and Cartier.

Although it was made in the 1980s, it suggests an earlier aesthetic. The eau de toilette has good sillage and lasting power. It has sufficient 'glamour factor' and would hold up for formal occasions. Then again, there's something cozy and charming about it -- it could easily be a signature for those who like traditional perfumes with a twist. I think that's the main difference for me, between perfumes in the new style (many recent Calvin Kleins, modern niche scents by Bond No9 and general mass-market or youth oriented stuff -- to name a few 'types') and juice made in the old style. I'm comfortable with the classics (or scents emulating them) whatever the occasion. The more modern ones require too much deliberation: is it too fruity, too frivolous, too linear? -- and so on. I feel a well-structured perfume is better suited to a variety of occasions.

This is an excellent one to try. Put it in a Guerlain bottle and it'd pass.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 12/29/2011 11:38:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

A warm cloud of spice, amber and carnation. Moschino edt came out in '87 and is reminiscent of the time: it's womanly, with a bit of heft and bombast, and sexiness. Definitely Italian in character and sillage. Perhaps I should be wearing an armful of clanking bracelets or some outrageous underwear with this - but the scent itself gives enough of a mantle of glamour. A real pick-me-up for my dull commute in the middle of winter.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Canadianpetite on 8/27/2010 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Canadianpetite

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Found this at local Superstore for $9 (return perhaps?). Initial reaction from spray was Oh, so 80's. By the time I drove away, it mellowed to a creamy floral. It's lovely for a more sophisticated taste; I prefer a little more fruit to my scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 3/29/2010 12:09:00 AM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Moschino is beautifully made. From the lovely bottle, with it's elegant ribbon and inset pearl, to the ingrediants, to the blending, there's not one bad thing I could say about it. It's an interesting balance -- a combination of a smoky, spicy amber with a hint of leather, and a fruity floral. It's almost as if someone decided to layer a light aromatic citric, say 4711 or MJ Blush, over one of those deep, smoky amber snarlers, say maybe Parfums D'Empire's Ambre Russe or Armani Prive Ambre Soie or DK Black Cashmere.


It almost works. There's just a hint too much of the bitter green, possibly the galbanum in this, which the perfumer tries to balance with some extra vanilla. Overall, Moschino is wearable, beautiful rather than pretty, and interesting. I have heard complaints that it's too bitter, that there's something biting about it. I can understand that. But still, it's quite pretty. I was a bit reluctant to keep this because in the end it seemed to me basically an amber that wasn't distinct enough from my other ambers to justify it. While I can tell differences between ambers, I don't wear them enough to need many. I do enjoy the leathery aspects, and this is certainly pretty. What my nose picked out was a citric/bergamot top waft, some hints of rose and maybe jasmine wrapped in green -- probably the galbanum. Then there's a lovely layer of spice -- nutmeg, maybe cardamom, and something peppery. Underneath there's amber, a nice smoky patchouli (giving that hint of leather), and vanilla.


It's in the Opium family, and is almost a smellalike for Jean Couturier's Keora. I agree with everyone, though -- the opening is way shoulderpad and big hair. You know a bottle of this is going to fall out of Melanie Griffith's purse. But again, as everyone else has said, give it time and it calms down.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* essija on 4/19/2009 4:39:00 PM more reviews by essija

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is very 80's and sharp and I get mostly lemon, bergamont with a touch of rose. Not a bad scent but I don't find it fbw...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Casafras on 7/31/2008 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Casafras

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

On first spritz this comes off very 80's, masculine and harsh...but give it a minute. The drydown is a very pretty creamy floriental. If you like Couture but don't want something quite so "bright", this could be it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brianx on 1/3/2008 4:29:00 PM more reviews by brianx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is my signature scent; i've been wearing it for years. the reviews below both do a great job of explaining it. the best i can say about it is that it starts off very sharp and spicy...almost masculine/unisex...and dries down into a gorgeous, soft floral with hints of vanilla. classic. also, in typical moschino fashion, the presentation is very whimsical...a tiny replica of a bottle of table wine!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gracious_Lady on 12/20/2007 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Gracious_Lady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Moschino is truly a classic scent nicely done, and at first, it really does put one in the mind of the Melanie Griffith character in the movie "Working Woman" (very 80s at first). But, stick around... eventually, it surpasses the 80s and becomes a nice slightly spicy slightly creamy scent. While I am not quite a fan of Moschino, I do recognize the effort put into the composition of this scent, and for that I give it 3 lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Moschino products

More Fragrances products