Unlisted Brand • The Original Skin Store--Acne Stop • Treatments

rated 3.6(32 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 rachaelvictorious on 3/28/2012 6:48:00 PM more reviews by rachaelvictorious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had trouble with acne for years, and after hearing that people had good luck with this product I decided to give it a try.

I have to preface this review by saying, I really wanted to like this product. I have no issued with the company who makes this. Shipping was fast, and they included a sample of micro-derm crystals, which was nice.

I'm an experienced chemical peeler, and had no bad experiences in the past.

I started using the product according to directions, and while it did dry up my acne, it also dried my skin out. I was flaky (something I had never experienced with post chem peels) and irritated all the time. If you've used Differen - you know the feeling. Nothing liked dull, wind-chapped feeling skin 24/7.

I've found this product to be effective as a spot treatment for ingrown hairs around the bikini line (I hate to waste products), but I won't be re-ordering it.

I've since switched to using MUAC Glycolic Acid 30%, with the Phytocell Serum after (the only moisturizer that hasn't made me greasy/break out) and the DMAE cleanser. For the first time, I could not be happier with my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Roseandthorn on 2/17/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by Roseandthorn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered this from skinobsessions.com, I think it's the same stuff. Yes, it burns, but the results are so worth it. I've had to deal with acne since I was a teenager (I am nearly 26 now) and the only thing that really helped with Accutane in my late teens. My skin was pretty great up until 6 months ago and (I think due to stress) my acne returned with a vengeance and this time the cysts came back, which I hadn't had since I was a teenager before Accutane.

I was using this maybe 2-3 times a week at night before bed and it seemed to be helping. All of a sudden last week a whole new crop of cysts popped up out of nowhere, all along my jaw line. I decided to start using this every night and within 3 nights the cysts are completely gone. I have some red marks left behind but that's inevitable for me, but the bumps are completely gone which is amazing, usually it takes weeks for them to go away on their own.

So does it burn and hurt? Yes, it feels like my face is on fire for about a minute and there is a residual burning for about 10 minutes after that but it does go completely away. And I will deal with the 10 minutes of burning if it means I can get rid of my cysts within 3 days instead of 3 weeks. And so far the peeling is quite minor, nothing a good exfoliating and face lotion can't take care of. So far this is the only topical treatment that has any effect on my cysts so I am going to continue using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slynsexysteph on 7/16/2010 2:55:00 PM more reviews by slynsexysteph

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my MUST-HAVE, ďcouldnít survive withoutĒ products!! Ever since I was 12, Iíve been battling acne. Around age 20, I went on Accutane and had about 8 glorious years being acne-free. Then, the breakouts came back and because of the negative effects Accutane can have on the liver, Iíve been trying to battle the acne topically. Around a year ago, I found this advertised on the website where I go to buy my Mattify Face Powder. So, I started using it, and quickly went from about 15 breakouts per week, to two or three. If I notice a breakout starting to emerge, I immediately apply the Acne Stop (just to the breakout site). Typically, the breakout will be gone by the next day! If one does happen to emerge, I dab some on with a q-tip, and itís usually gone in 24-48 hours.

I think the people with negative reviews were applying this wrong. About once a week, I swipe this over my entire face, using a cotton ball. But for the most part, I just put a little on a q-tip and dab onto the center of a breakout. It works especially well if you use it to spot-treat directly after washing your face, when pores are still open. **********Try to not get it on the skin surrounding the breakout!!********** This is when you will notice the dryness/peeling the other reviewers describe. The Acne Stop can be used as a peel, OR a spot treatment. The manufacturers should probably make this a bit more clear in the directions they include. Unless you have VERY thick, tough, oily skin, I would not recommend applying this all over your face. If you do get patches of dryness, just use an exfoliating scrub to get rid of them quickly. Personally Iíd rather have a few dry areas than giant breakouts, so Iíll take the trade! At any rate, Iíve tried hundreds of products for acne, and none even come close to getting rid of it as effectively as the Acne Stop does.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bugmento on 8/22/2009 11:11:00 AM more reviews by bugmento

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm a guy and i bought this product to try out based on the reviews on MUA.

I tried Acne Stop on blemishes / dark spots / active acne on my face. All that happened was the place i applied it to would turn red (probably from the acidic burn), and nothing changed with my acne or blemishes. In fact it made a dark brown spot on my cheek get worse / more noticeable.

I also applied the stuff to the little bit of acne on my chest, and again the area turned red (redness lingered for 2 days). It didn't really do anything for my chest acne either, but it also didn't burn on my chest as it did my face (on my face it didn't burn THAT bad as other reviewers made it sound, but it did tingle for a few seconds)

I didn't get any peeling on my face or chest, so maybe I'm not applying enough, but the little amount I put on my face caused redness that lasted 2 days so in my mind its not worth it.

Note: The first time i used the stuff, i put it on a cotton ball and then on my face, but the second time i realized that it doesn't burn my finger so i just put it from my finger to my face. The instructions that come with the 2oz bottle don't say anything about putting it on a cotton ball, though the opening of the bottle is a little hole.

basically, i had high hopes for this stuff but it really didn't do much except turn my skin red.

Update: the place where I had a blemish and applied Acne Stop at first turned a darker brown, but 3 days later it started to peel off and i think the blemish is a little less noticeable. but imo it's not worth the 3 days of a darker blemish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dorilob on 7/5/2009 1:15:00 PM more reviews by dorilob

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I originally bought this based on the reviews that this helped get rid of cystic acne. I had such high hopes but sadly it has done nothing to help shrink the cystic spots I get around that time of the month. However, it does get rid of above the skin breakouts really quickly so for that reason I would probably buy this again. I have sensitive, somewhat dry skin so I have never used this all over my face but just as a spot treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* caramelkiss19 on 6/3/2009 8:46:00 PM more reviews by caramelkiss19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot recommend this as an allover regular treatment. However that being said, it would be good on spots and periodically used all over. I followed advice from other reviewers and gently swiped this over my entire face. The burning was a medium scale, I took an aspirin in anticipation...I mean I had to sit in front of a fan!! As sloro said below, this is a peel, mine didn't start until a few days after. I peeled like a snake. If you do not frequent the skin care boards TIPS please do not pick/peel the skin off...and sunscreen is a must! This is a nice product I think a few more uses of this my skin will be in lovely shape.
*UPDATE- the second time I used this I peeled alot again, and the blemish I was attempting to kill remained underneath. There are gentler things out there for use on our delicate faces...IMO. I'm going to try using this on scars on possibly on my chest for acne scars I have there and see if it's worth keeping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 prodigiousflames on 5/4/2009 7:13:00 AM more reviews by prodigiousflames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm unimpressed with this product. In the past year or so I've developed adult acne so after reading this treatment's glowing reviews I quickly ordered one. As far as the burning..it's not that bad. But my pimples did not magically disappear the next day, the next week or the next two weeks for that matter. A couple became smaller in size and for the most part my acne lost its reddish color and faded a bit but these were the extent of my results. I also noticed that my results were pretty inconsistent. My skin also began peeling and looking very unflattering and flaky under my make up. I threw it out and will not be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 laurageana on 4/11/2009 5:22:00 PM more reviews by laurageana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

PLEAASEEEEE READDDDDDDDDDDDDDD OK so where do i start. So i bought this product just like many other people because i came to this site and saw the AMAZING reviews it got. I was sure it would cure my acne. I was going to cuba soon and i wanted my acne GONE. and FAST. This seemed like the best product out there. Many users said that it was miracle worker. So i buy this product. It came in a tad late but i knew it was going to be worth it. So off to cuba i went and i started using the acne stop around my mouth because thats where i got breakouts. It burned for like 2 seconds and went away. I wake up in the morning and BAMMMMM . TOTAL DISASTERRR. My mouth area is all red and gross and flaky. AND YOU KNOW WHAT SUCKS that i had to go back on the airplane to toronto and it was soooooooo embarassing I FEEL SO GROSS. This product did not work for me. AT ALL i am throwing it away. My face is ruined now. ill be going to the doctors to see what i can do. So if your a person just like me looking at these reviews . BEWARE this product is either HEAVEN OR HELL FOR YOU.it was hell for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annadyl on 3/18/2009 7:25:00 AM more reviews by annadyl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

OMG this is so bad! I do not have sensitive skin at all but it has literally burnt my face. I have huge patches of dry red burnt skin after using this twice. Had high hopes but this is just a nightmare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lemonfresh on 3/9/2009 12:04:00 PM more reviews by lemonfresh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

If we were allowed a wild card to rate one product greater than 5 stars, I would give a 10 to Acne Stop. It really is a game changer--if only something like this had existed when I was younger. After my first bottle cleared my pores, I thought it would be OK to return to prescription Tazorac, but it was nowhere near as effective. My advice for those with sensitive skin is that you don't use it like a normal toner. Don't saturate the cotton ball and then "scrub"; just moisten the cotton a bit and sweep it over the skin. A tiny bit, even once or twice per week, is still very effective at clearing pores and fading red marks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products