Hermes Elixir des Merveilles

3.8

42 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/2/2014 12:16:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't usually care for gourmandes and the idea of a foody Eau de Merveilles seemed a little odd to me. It was love at first sniff but I am now glad I didn't buy a big bottle. This is JCE alright but not as transparent as his Hermessence group. I have to remind myself the this is the nose responsible for First by VC&A. Returning to the elixir, I find it a trifle indigestible. Nice amber fougere drydown but the orange syrup palls after a while. I feel like I have eaten too many orange creams. Nice but not for everyday.



on 8/7/2013 3:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this a couple of years ago and, despite receiving many compliments when wearing it, I decided I didn't really like it and had stuck in a box of things I planned to part with. Working my way through the box recently, I re-tested and now I love it. I'm not sure if my taste has changed or if it's the season. I know I had been wearing it in the colder months, thinking it a heavy fragrance, but actually it really sparkles in the heat. Prior to buying Elixir I had owned the Eau. I didn't like that one at all... it was too linear, unbelievably long lasting, and I found it intensely cloying in the end. This one has more variety and evolves over time, which makes it more interesting for me. I don't like gourmands, and I don't think JC-E does either, which is why this is almost a gourmand - orange, vanilla, tonka ('chocolate') - grafted onto Terre d'Hermes. The basenotes are really quite masculine, which is what put me off to begin with. They felt cold and flat, slightly bitter - but as I said, this seems improved in the warmer weather - more like dry grasses slicing through what would otherwise be too densely sweet. It must be vetiver and patchouli - a dark chypre/fougere accord. At any rate, very pleased with it now and glad I kept it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2011 3:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Elixir de Merveilles is truly a unique fragrance, and should be at least sniffed. I normally can't wear citrus in the least bit--it immediately turns to floor cleaner upon hitting my skin. Needless to say when my fave SA suggested I try this, I was leery.


My fears were for naught though, as the orange peel in EdM is less being hosed with orange juice but more taking a bite into a bittersweet chocolate-dipped orange confection. The orange is prominent and at first blast a little sweet, but it immediately scales back as the dark chocolate note melds with it. As the scent dries down the chocolate disappears and is replaced with salty caramel with a backdrop of bitter, dry woods. A dash of vanilla and tonka adds a hint of sweetness to what has become a nearly masculine fragrance. Intriguing.


All in all I find Elixir de Merveilles a bit mercurial, and borderline bipolar as it straddles the line between sweet-gourmand and austere-masculine. Being a stereotypical Gemini this is perfectly fine. I've received many compliments on EdM, and it will remain at the forefront of my scent rotation despite my heavy oriental leanings.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2011 2:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I see Elixir des Merveilles as a logical gourmand extension of Eau des Merveilles: they are related as far as I’m concerned. Both fragrances could easily be unisex, and both depend strongly on wood accords. Elixir opens sweetly gourmand – with an orange-flavored vanilla and caramel notes – to my nose the caramel takes prominence, but the other elements are clearly identifiable and adequately represented. There is even a wood undertone to the opening accord, and the use of wood in this fragrance is reminiscent of the wood in Eau des M… but this wood does not provide such a unique and, possibly, exotic presentation… here we have a modest sandalwood / cedar with a sophisticated resinous background which retains some of the opening’s caramel gourmand character. It’s not an overly sweet fragrance and definitely not girly… and it’s a comfortable wear

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

While this is fairly nice when first applied, dry-down is like a man's (cheap) aftershave. Too bad because the bottle is pretty. I'm sorry to have wasted $$$.


on 9/2/2010 10:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

LOVE this! It does citrusy orange completely rich and lush and decadent! There is so much going on initially that you are like WOW i have to take a shower but then it developes and it turns into exactly what you would expect a fragrance from Hermes to deliver. Others did a great job explaining the notes so I wont go into that, secondly I couldnt do as great a job as some have with that. i have this in the edp and i have 24f in epd. the am choice between the two will be hard:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2010 4:33:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this fragrance so much !
Many people ask me : wht is your fragrance ? when I wear it .
It's increadible !!!
( sorry for my bad English! )

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2010 12:47:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Smells exactly like Calvon Klein, Obsession. I don't detect any of the gourmand, chcolate notes of which other reviewers wrote. No Citrus orange, either. This was a gift from my stepmother-in-law. As I have a fairly full bottle of Obsession, the Hermes becomes redundant. Oh how I wish she had given me an Hermes scarf, instead...even a replica Hermes scarf would have been appreciated. BTW I ADORE Obsession.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My default setting is jeans T shirt and sneakers but my taste in perfume runs to elegant and mature. Frankly I don't want to smell like bubblegum or cotton candy (the latent wannabe Parisienne in me reels at such a thought) so I opt for Hermes. The initial waft can be a tad overwhelming but oh the drydown! This is "grown ups" perfume at it's best (well this and 24F). This makes me sit up straighter, talk more politely and feel beautiful and elegant what more could you want?

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2010 11:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Ahhhh, Paris!!

My husband took me in 2007, and we stopped at the Duty Free shop in our terminal at Charles de Gaulle airport while waiting for our flight home.
This perfume was his last-minute gift! He loved it. I don't think I would have chosen it myself. It was MUCH stronger than the typical light, fresh scents I gravitate to. For that reason, I haven't reached for it too often over the past couple years.

But recently. . . . I wanted to give it another go. If anything, because it reminds me of an amazing trip! I have found that if I spray it indirectly (mist and then walk-through techinque), it's not too overpowering. It's spicy, heady, with a touch of sweetness. Using it lightly keeps it mysterious and intriguing. I like misting it over my bed to give the sheets a touch as well.

Will use up my large (beautiful) bottle, but probably will not repurchase. It will take me forever to finish. And I'll probably keep the bottle as a keepsake from my trip!


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1357 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
338 Reviews
Light Blue
1405 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top