Lancome • Potion of Love • Lipstick

rated 3.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 weemanmum on 12/30/2009 5:49:00 AM more reviews by weemanmum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim and loved it. Am now addicted to the whole lip stain concept in this format - no messy pots and brushes for me.

The color is a YLBB/dark pinky tone which is not what I usually wear but looks great. Staying power about 3-4 hours, would need to reapply after food or halfway through the day.

The felt tip applicator is fantastic and applies the stain evenly.

Keep trying to find other sin this format!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ms_Ma on 10/4/2008 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Ms_Ma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this is Rose Astrale and Vin Celeste at the Lancome outlet store. They have a 4 for $40 deal, so these were $10 each. I've been using and loving both colors. The Rose color is a very natural pink and the Vin is good for a red lip. For long-lasting lip color I prefer stains over anything else, as the texture is light and not irritating. I agree that the pen tips are a little sharp, but I like to use lip stain pens on their side anyway to get even fast coverage. If the outlet has more of these when I go back next Time, I'll definately buy more. However lipstain pens can last a really long time. I've had my Sephora lipstain pens for 3 years, using them every other day and they're still in great shape.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 limelipgloss on 7/10/2008 5:59:00 PM more reviews by limelipgloss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in the color Firmament, which is like a soft pink/lavender and looks extremely pretty against fair skin and dark hair.

This is more moist than a lot of other felt tipped lip stain pens, so that is great. Most of the other brands I've tried have dried out very quickly and made me feel frustrated that I'd just spend $20 on crap. But I feel okay about spending $22 on this, I search everywhere for lip stains that work well!

This stayed put, and the color wasn't too dark so it seemed natural looking. It went on smoothly and didn't dry out my lips.

Good product and I like it alot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iodine on 4/9/2008 11:27:00 PM more reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Found this at a Lancome outlet and I really like how it looks on---just blushing natural. I chose the rose, the Vin seemed too dark. I use the tip to outline my lips and the the pen part held flat to fill in.
I use a lipliner all the time anyway, it helps make my lips look fuller.
I like this cause it's not shiny. At my age, I'll leave the high gloss stuff to the youngsters.
I plan on getting another as soon as I have another trip in that direction.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamourdoll on 11/24/2006 10:35:00 PM more reviews by glamourdoll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I think I like this lipstain. Available in 2 shades, Vin Celeste, which is not rin the least a wine-y color, and Rose Astrale, a pretty YLBB pink shade for me. The Vin Celeste was rather light I think, and would probably only work on those with the very fairest complexions, but it is a pretty color. I chose the Rose Astrale. PROS: I liked the color, which made me look pretty & healthy but not really made up. This has a nice fruity (mango?) scent as well. I brushed this onto my lips, let it set, and then smooched my DH, and the color did not kiss off on him. CONS: The pen contains less than 2cc of product & retails for $18.50. Secondly, it's very hard--impossible---to tell how much product you have left. Third is the very limited shade choices, although I suspect my wallet was happy that there were only 2 shades and only 1 shade would work for me. I am not sure if I would repurchase this since there are similar products to be had at lower prices, e.g., Mark's Kissink---with 4 colors to choose from and only $6.50 each.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 philosophia on 10/14/2006 1:02:00 PM more reviews by philosophia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    


I read about this in a magazine and they described it should
be like one of those colourpencils you had when you where younger.
It is! It's perfect for me cause I want colour, but not the type
of layer I get wit h a usaul lipstick. And I don't want that sparkling
look that you get with a gloss. This is just like my own lips,
but better and they get more attention.

I like it a lot and will be keep using it!
It gets only 4 because I didn't like the taste when it was a taste,
but it dissapears after one lick.. (...but that lick is ain't good...)
I have it in number 03. It's the absolute best colour I think,
so check it out if you have that opportunity...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SweetSummer on 9/23/2006 8:11:00 PM more reviews by SweetSummer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was so hopeful for this product. And while I love the color, the applicator is so pointy I can't get it to work well to fill in my very thin upper lip! The only thing I found was to stick most of it in my mouth and rub the thick part of the applicator around. This, of course, ends up looking like a child put it on which was really not the look I was going for this time around.

The color doesn't seem to wear any better than a regular old lipstick but I do have the problem of lipstick being gone before I leave the house on a regular basis.

I was really hoping more for a stain but the search will continue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelybumc on 9/18/2006 9:24:00 PM more reviews by kelybumc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I saw a blurb about this felt tipped lip marker in a magazine and had to have it b/c it specifically noted that unlike other felt tipped pens, it did not need to be stored upside down and would not dry out. B/C I have always heard this about these types of products, I had never tried one before. Anyways, the Lancome counter I went to only had it in one color "Rose Astrale" (I think there's supposed to be two colors, but apparently this was the only one they got in). Anyways, it is a pretty rosy pink, though it's slightly bright for my taste. Fortunately, the brightness disipates after about 15 minutes, so I would definitely wear this color on its own. I have decided it looks best though, as a base. In the month that I've had it, it has not dried out at all and I don't store it upside down, yet it works fine, so I guess it's living up to its claims. The bottom line is that I like it, but I would really love it if I had it in a softer color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Lancome products

More Lipstick products