Kevyn Aucoin The Sculpting Powder

4.6

59 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Polyethylene, Nylon-12, PTFE, Phenyl Trimethicone, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Manganese Violet CI 77742, Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Iron Oxides (CI 77499).


on 5/18/2015 12:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am beyond sick of seeing people use warm contour! It's supposed to be a shadow! Shadows don't have orange, yellow or red tones! This powder is the perfect amount of cool/Grey

This powder is the perfect contour powder for my NC 30 skin or lighter even. I think it would even work on up to a NC-NW 40 ...It's amazing. I have soooo many contour kits, the ABH, Kat Von D, Smashbox, cover effects. I also have MAC shade and sculpt powders. This is my favorite.

Unless your a makeup artist and want a wide range of shades, I would suggest not using the contour kits and invest in a single contour powder that matches perfectly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/12/2015 5:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I tried to resist this, but the universe conspired for me to just bite the goddamn bullet and buy one for myself. The cost of the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder was really a major concern - even for someone like me who totally buys into premium pricing - because itís pretty darn expensive for the size. Itís so tiny! But it came to a point that Iím substituting with products that ultimately donít deliver, which makes them less worth their price than Kevyn Aucoinís. Because this baby delivers like hell.

I love that Itís subtle in that magical way where you know somethingís just better. The shade is just right and even with a heavy hand it never looks ashy on me. It also goes on perfectly every time that Iíve cut contouring minutes by half!

Sometimes cult products donít live up to its status, but Kevyn Aucoin totally deserves its fame. Totally repurchasing when I run out!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2015 4:20:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I am writing this mainly because I am 60 and most of the reviewers on this site seem to be 18-24, so for the older ladies gather around. After reading many reviews the most frequent comment is that it is a very tiny amount, yes it is small but when I compare this to Aucoin's single shadows, which are listed at 3.6 grams and this contour is listed at 3.1 grams, I do believe there is an error as the sculpting powder is clearly larger than the eye shadow. I am thinking this is closer to 4-4.5 grams. Now that I have gotten that out of the way this a great contour color and a very pigmented dense finely milled powder, which by the way I use it on my eyes as an enhance/contour/socket definer as well as my cheeks etc. It does live up to its reputation as I think all of the K.A. products do. Remember a very little bit goes a long way. I think it is important to tell anyone thinking of buying or already own this, that you should use a very soft brush and not a densely packed one, the Wayne Goss brush number two works very well and can be found on beautylish.com, the reason I am making a big deal is that when I mistakenly used a coarse natural fiber brush, it grabbed so much of the powder that there was dusting of it everywhere, so a lot of waste and an uneven application. Even the soft fiber Takelon brushes are too densely packed and again, will grab more color than necessary.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2015 2:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Just got this yesterday and used it for the first time today. It's the perfect shade for contouring; a taupe-brown. I've been trying various contouring kits and I have to wonder how I (or any of us for that matter) ever used bronzers for contouring. Even when they are matte and more cool toned, they are just not as good as a contour shade like this because this actually looks natural, like a real shadow and really helps slim the face. I also have both of the Celestial powders to highlight so check out my reviews on those as well.


on 3/23/2015 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When i first got this i was so underwhelmed and confused. How do i use it? Where does it go? Why is it so pigmented when it's so grey? I felt i'd be better off with bronzer.

Anyway, a beauty blogger friend gave me some tips and it changed the game.

This is the perfect contour colour, its very pigmented like all KA products. I use 2 brushes, a MAC 217 which is a very tiny eyeshadow brush then the Wayne Goss number 2 contour brush.

I dip the 217 into the product and i gently draw on under my cheekbones which are naturally quite defined but my face is quite small so i have to be careful with bigger brushes cause they can leave me looking very cloudy because of the structure of my face (im male).

I then use the wayne goss brush to blend out the tiny harsh line and it leaves me with the perfectly coloured and chizzelled cheekbone shadow. I then go over it with bronzer, i dont use this on the temped or anything, just my cheekbones i leave bronzer to do the rest but i adore this and will use it forever. You'll never need a gimick contour kit with these the only contour product i've used is the tom ford shade and illuminate which was ok but not long wearing. (However the highlighter in that product is WOW)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Honestly one of the most amazing makeup products I have EVER USED. The sculling powder is just perfect, the color is perfect a soft taupe-y brown with grey undertones that looks like a real shadow!!! The product I so smooth and blendable and incredibly pigmented! So people with fait and light skin tones, remember to build up the color;) the packaging is really nice and luxurious, and for the product, packaging and of course the performance of the product is 1000% worth the price! I would recommend this to any makeup loving and contour loving person!!! I can't get over how amazing this contour powder is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2015 1:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been making my way through various contour powders, and this is by far the best. The gray/taupe-y tone makes contouring look natural. It's packed tightly, so you don't pick up too much powder at once. It's easy to blend too. I'm very fair skinned, and I would say that with a light hand, this is my perfect shade. The packaging could use a little work: I have a hard time opening the compact and it's a little small for my brush. But I'll take it over orange-y bronzers any day!


on 1/30/2015 1:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

If you love to contour this is the one for you!

Oh yeah, it also comes with the best little brush for contouring........bonus.


on 1/27/2015 12:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am in the minority here! It just looked awful on me.

I popped into my local Space NK and asked the sales assistant to show me how to apply it. She did and it looked liked I had bruising to my cheeks!

The colour did not suit my fair/medium with yellow undertones skin whatsoever.

She even said the staff steer clear of it and stick to bronzers instead.

So disappointed as I had high hopes for it, but at least my purse can breathe a sigh of relief for now!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 12:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finally, a sculpting powder that does what it's meant to. I ordered the (obscenely expensive) Charlotte Tilbury Sculpt and Highlight Duo and wish I had returned it. The sculpting powder is a shimmery peach colour (huh... who has shadows that are shimmery peach??). But this is a cool taupe that actually mimics shadow on the face and is absolutely natural and undetectable. I actually love the small container because I keep all my makeup in a transportable Bobbi Brown case so smaller containers mean I can squeeze more makeup in there. You use so little of this that it will last a long time. Highly highly recommended. For reference I'm NC25.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Popular Bronzers


HOOLA
1214 Reviews
Bahama Mama
135 Reviews
Chocolate Soleil
407 Reviews
Laguna
1250 Reviews
Back to Top