Hanae Mori Magical Moon

3.8

73 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I loved this scent before it came out! I remember being so intrigued by the notes, and just knowing I would love it, and I do! It's a bit sweet, but not too sweet. I can pick up lots of osmanthus and coconut, white musk, & a juicy exotic fruity scent. I don't smell much spices ,patchouli, or cedar, and I'm happy about that. I do smell pineapples and guava too though... This is just a very strange combination of notes, but so lovely with my chemistry. I love how it dries down to a soft and warm musky skin scent. It's such a mysterious perfume, because it doesn't remind me of anything else I've ever tried or owned. I much prefer the EDP over the EDT in this perfume too..I own both, but tend to enjoy the parfum much more. If you enjoy different & slightly sweet perfumes give this one a try for sure..
Magical Moon has notes of Night-blooming osmanthus flower, porcelain rose, sugar cane, cotton flower, coconut milk, vanilla, white musk, white sandalwood, red cedar, incense, litchi, patchouli, pineapple pulp, guava nectar, star fruit, orange flowers and pink berries

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/17/2012 9:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is so different from any perfume I've ever worn and I love it. It's intoxicating. This is my new HG. I like it much better than butterfly which is extremely sweet, but still nice. I love the light incense and spice which blends with the not at all sweet coconut. Love, Love, Love. I'm a lifetime fan of this stuff. I was also able to get a great deal online for less than $30. I do want to point out that I ordered this without smelling due to everyone's glowing reviews and I'm so happy that I did!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2012 3:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

I give this scent applause for being different. To me it's quite unique. I find it a crisp, spicy, powdery scent. I bought this unsniffed for a good price. Thankfully the risk paid off and I'll actually wear it LOL. It is the middle of winter as I'm smelling this, and I keep imagining myself wearing it on a warm summer evening. I was hoping for a stronger coconut note, as listed in the notes, but alas, I don't smell that on me. I usually like to try and think of a similar scent to compare, and I'd say the closest would be BLV women (blue bottle). Not an exact match, but along the same lines (at least to my nose). I don't absolutely love it, but it's interesting (in a nice way). I look forward to trying it in summer as well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2012 10:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This scent is absolutely fascinating. I was a Hanae Mori Butterfly user for years before this perfume came about, and when it did, I was so excited to try it. At first, I admit, I was a little disappointed. I didn't buy it for a year, when I randomly tried it again at a department store. After that, it was pure love. The incense notes are beautiful and clean--this is not a dirty or "hippie" scent. Paired with hints of tropical fruit and light florals, it manages to be both crisp and smooth at the same time.

I have never smelled anything similar to this and it sucks that this is available only online.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2011 11:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't like HM Butterfly, but I do love HM Magical Moon and HM Haute Couture. MM & HC are two very different fragrances of course, but I think both are under appreciated because they are SO unlike Butterfly ... which is a good thing.


Magical Moon is a modern floriental. It's not dark or gothic. Rather, it's relatively clean & clear for this category, which makes it unusual, I think. Although MM is sweet, it's not candy like Butterfly. Rather, more like a dusting of fine sugar on a French pastry.


I own MM in parfum and edp, but I prefer the parfum. Both are long-lasting, the EdP in the 6-8 hour range and the parfum in the 12-hour range. However, the parfum strikes me as being much better quality. Besides, the parfum is a sillage bomb! Two sprays can literally be too much.


Magical Moon can be worn year around and makes a striking, unique office-friendly alternative.


Excellent fragrance, excellent price ... gently used bottles can frequently be found for a steal on ebay.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2011 12:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My dearest Magical Moon,


How I wanted to love thee. Your promise of the mysteries and magic of moonlight, of blue, of endless possibilities, of renewal... so tempting, such a temptress you are Magical Moon. Such promises... oh Magical Moon, queen of deception. How can I unknow thee, erase the knowledge of thee, this disappointment, the building hope that only fell of the cliff?


You knew we were incompatible yet you led me on. You knew you were not unique and just another tiring regurgitation in perfume land yet you lied. Your fruity florals did stay all through your stages, stayed up to play in the dry down with deep powdery grandmaish vanilla. They even made love and birthed a troubling printer toner scent but again, nothing special. A lot of your peers smell like you. Your monster silage was worrisome. What did everyone around me think? I hope they did not feel ill from your aggressive presence. 30 hours later and you still cling to my skin. I guess love is not a two way street else you would leave me be.


Sincerely yours,


Wounded Heart.


on 9/14/2010 10:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Had a sample of this for a few weeks and loved it. Finally won a full size bottle on Ebay. I have the edp. It's rich and dries to a powdery scent on my skin. I think I will really enjoy wearing this and smelling it when the weather turns colder. I think my husband will want to snuggle up to me with this scent on, cause I want to snuggle up to myself! :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2010 4:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm reviewing the edt. Not my cup of tea at all. Was intrigued by some of the reviews but it smells on my skin like a very cheap fragrance with loads of insense which just turns into sour toilet spray after half an hour. Shame because some of these notes sound so pretty.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2010 3:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Utterly fantastic. A stunning tropical floriental. Some unexpected notes, like kyara incense. My HG and I will happily buy liters of it! EdT, EdP, and parfum are all pretty similar, the EdT a little brighter, the drydown of the parfum more intense.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2010 11:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Magical Moon... mysterious and captivating, but captivating in a good or bad way, I don't know.
I received a sample in a Sephora goody-bag when Too-Faced did my makeup (great job, btw) and I used the sample up within the week.
Too ME- it smelled so exotic, so mesmerizing. There is something strong to it (the 'spice' notes) that kept me literally sniffing myself repeatedly. Intoxicating. BUT my mother told me it stinks and my fiance told me I smelled like a guy. So maybe that's why I was so in love with it, because I want my man to wear it?!? I don't know, but I feel like if I could get away with wearing it confidently, I would. It's definitely a unique smell.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Flash
Flash
20 Reviews
Touch
Touch
82 Reviews
Tam Dao
Tam Dao
95 Reviews
Calyx
Calyx
108 Reviews


Back to Top