Laura Mercier Finishing Brush aka Skunk

3.9

17 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/28/2011 10:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This brush is a great brush because it can be used for so many things. It's a stippling brush, so I sometimes use it to apply my tinted moisturizer and it gives me a really nice dewy/airbrushed look. I also use it to apply/buff out my blush and bronzer. One thing I'm sort of scared of is the brush hairs becoming coarse and falling out, any of you guys have tips on how to correctly clean your brushes? Right now I'm using just regular hair conditioner to clean my brushes.



on 12/31/2010 10:09:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this brush for a couple of months now with my LM Peach Mosaic Shimmer Bloc. This brush is soft and high quality. All of my LM brushes are top quality and this brush is no exception. Also, I have experienced none of the weird smells other posters have complained of...maybe this was a short term problem that has been resolved. I highly recommend this brush.


on 8/20/2010 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love this brush as a buffer for my foundation, makes the finish look really flawless and blends it to a really soft natural finish! I haven't experienced any of the bad smell that other reviewers have commented about at all! I shampoo my brushes about once a week so don't know if that it why (although can't say I noticed a smell to begin with) I got mine in UK though so if its a problem for all the US reviewers then maybe it was just a dodgy batch? Dunno.. any ways, LOVE this brush and it is now definitely a must have - it does shed a little, not too much but enough to be a bit irritating so once this one has had it shelf life exhausted I may look into other alternatives, but failing that I would defo repurchase this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2010 7:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Looove my LM brushes. Yes, think STINK after washing. The "nanny goat" comments below crack me up, but it's TRUE!

Try this:



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/16/2009 10:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, after washing the brush, it stunk so bad I was regretting that I made the purchase. But I did a search on YouTube on how to get rid of the smell on makeup brushes (deodorize) and it only took about 10 minutes to prepare, the next day my brush didn't smell at all. This is PERFECT for the finishing powder, however, I use it for applying my mineral loose powder as well as blush. It's a great, amazing brush--and I'm pretty inexperienced at applying makeup, so I find this to make my life easier. I also bought the Sephora professional platinum stippling brush, which is much more stiff that the LM. I personally like how the LM brush is so soft on your skin. I plan on buying the MAC 187/188 brush as well. I wash my brushes everyday and this one hasn't shed (or stunk) since I bought it and deodorized it.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had to throw it away after 4 months because I could not stand the smell. It was like Stewart Little died in a meat factory and no one found out about it for several days. I tried every shampoo, soap and detergent I owned and no matter what I used it still smelled like variations of a dead rodent.


on 7/16/2009 10:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just used this brush today for blush and i love it! For applying really pigmented blush on fair skin, this works great. I was going to purchase a different fiber optic brush (Kohls has a good one, apparently) but I already had this and decided to try it out. Very good brush, although it could be softer.


on 4/17/2009 12:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm really loving and getting a lot of use out of this brush. It's the perfect blending tool. After I apply foundation and set it, I apply bronzer with a fluffy powder brush (I have the platinum sephora powder brush and love it for bronzer) and I use this finishing brush to sort of diffuse the bronzer onto my pale face. It's not too abrasive and yet not too soft, so it does get in there and blend a little without scrubbing it off your face.


Mine doesn't shed like some of the other reviewers' brushes did. I can foresee that the handle might break apart at some point from a lot of use and the glue loosening up like some of my other Laura Mercier brushes did (the smokey eye brush in particular). I don't mind because I just superglued it back together and since it didn't affect the shape or bristles, it worked fine.


I'm super-fair and this helps the bronzer look realistic and sets it into the foundation a little better. I have tried it before on blush and it works great for that too, although I have a separate brush (or several) for blush already. The L.M. Cheek brush is expensive for a cheek/blush brush, but to me is hands-down the best blush brush I have ever used. I have the sephora platinum angled blush brush too, and although it is a very good one, I really love the LM one because it's shape and softness and the awesome soft application it gives. I will be writing a review for that one too soon.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Very disappointed. I have had this brush for under a year, and I do not use it every day. The handle fell off. Its also very scratchy. Would not buy this again. Get MAC's brush.


on 8/31/2007 11:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I own this brush and the MAC 187 and they are really quite different even though they look the same. The Laura brush is less dense than the MAC and great for applying shimmer or finishing powder with a light hand. The MAC brush is much more dense and better for blending and applying highly pigmented bronzers or blushes. I haven't washed mine yet and I am paranoid that it will smell like nanny goat like the other reviewers said.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Deodorizing New Brushes by EnKoreMakeup

Back to Top