Laura Mercier • Finishing Brush aka Skunk • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.9(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mangogo234 on 3/28/2011 10:24:00 PM more reviews by mangogo234

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is a great brush because it can be used for so many things. It's a stippling brush, so I sometimes use it to apply my tinted moisturizer and it gives me a really nice dewy/airbrushed look. I also use it to apply/buff out my blush and bronzer. One thing I'm sort of scared of is the brush hairs becoming coarse and falling out, any of you guys have tips on how to correctly clean your brushes? Right now I'm using just regular hair conditioner to clean my brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VictoriaHat on 12/31/2010 10:09:00 AM more reviews by VictoriaHat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this brush for a couple of months now with my LM Peach Mosaic Shimmer Bloc. This brush is soft and high quality. All of my LM brushes are top quality and this brush is no exception. Also, I have experienced none of the weird smells other posters have complained of...maybe this was a short term problem that has been resolved. I highly recommend this brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JCM123 on 8/20/2010 5:41:00 PM more reviews by JCM123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this brush as a buffer for my foundation, makes the finish look really flawless and blends it to a really soft natural finish! I haven't experienced any of the bad smell that other reviewers have commented about at all! I shampoo my brushes about once a week so don't know if that it why (although can't say I noticed a smell to begin with) I got mine in UK though so if its a problem for all the US reviewers then maybe it was just a dodgy batch? Dunno.. any ways, LOVE this brush and it is now definitely a must have - it does shed a little, not too much but enough to be a bit irritating so once this one has had it shelf life exhausted I may look into other alternatives, but failing that I would defo repurchase this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 grasshopper1 on 2/18/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by grasshopper1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Looove my LM brushes. Yes, think STINK after washing. The "nanny goat" comments below crack me up, but it's TRUE!

Try this:



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yumich on 11/16/2009 10:47:00 AM more reviews by yumich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, after washing the brush, it stunk so bad I was regretting that I made the purchase. But I did a search on YouTube on how to get rid of the smell on makeup brushes (deodorize) and it only took about 10 minutes to prepare, the next day my brush didn't smell at all. This is PERFECT for the finishing powder, however, I use it for applying my mineral loose powder as well as blush. It's a great, amazing brush--and I'm pretty inexperienced at applying makeup, so I find this to make my life easier. I also bought the Sephora professional platinum stippling brush, which is much more stiff that the LM. I personally like how the LM brush is so soft on your skin. I plan on buying the MAC 187/188 brush as well. I wash my brushes everyday and this one hasn't shed (or stunk) since I bought it and deodorized it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 qwertyisaboveaverage on 8/31/2009 10:55:00 PM more reviews by qwertyisaboveaverage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had to throw it away after 4 months because I could not stand the smell. It was like Stewart Little died in a meat factory and no one found out about it for several days. I tried every shampoo, soap and detergent I owned and no matter what I used it still smelled like variations of a dead rodent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jse23 on 7/16/2009 10:51:00 AM more reviews by jse23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just used this brush today for blush and i love it! For applying really pigmented blush on fair skin, this works great. I was going to purchase a different fiber optic brush (Kohls has a good one, apparently) but I already had this and decided to try it out. Very good brush, although it could be softer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nverno on 4/17/2009 12:53:00 AM more reviews by nverno

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really loving and getting a lot of use out of this brush. It's the perfect blending tool. After I apply foundation and set it, I apply bronzer with a fluffy powder brush (I have the platinum sephora powder brush and love it for bronzer) and I use this finishing brush to sort of diffuse the bronzer onto my pale face. It's not too abrasive and yet not too soft, so it does get in there and blend a little without scrubbing it off your face.


Mine doesn't shed like some of the other reviewers' brushes did. I can foresee that the handle might break apart at some point from a lot of use and the glue loosening up like some of my other Laura Mercier brushes did (the smokey eye brush in particular). I don't mind because I just superglued it back together and since it didn't affect the shape or bristles, it worked fine.


I'm super-fair and this helps the bronzer look realistic and sets it into the foundation a little better. I have tried it before on blush and it works great for that too, although I have a separate brush (or several) for blush already. The L.M. Cheek brush is expensive for a cheek/blush brush, but to me is hands-down the best blush brush I have ever used. I have the sephora platinum angled blush brush too, and although it is a very good one, I really love the LM one because it's shape and softness and the awesome soft application it gives. I will be writing a review for that one too soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 2crazycatladies on 2/4/2009 11:11:00 PM more reviews by 2crazycatladies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very disappointed. I have had this brush for under a year, and I do not use it every day. The handle fell off. Its also very scratchy. Would not buy this again. Get MAC's brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icypeeches on 8/31/2007 11:38:00 PM more reviews by icypeeches

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I own this brush and the MAC 187 and they are really quite different even though they look the same. The Laura brush is less dense than the MAC and great for applying shimmer or finishing powder with a light hand. The MAC brush is much more dense and better for blending and applying highly pigmented bronzers or blushes. I haven't washed mine yet and I am paranoid that it will smell like nanny goat like the other reviewers said.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Makeup Brushes products