Le Labo Patchouli 24

3.2

26 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/10/2012 5:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I... wish this smelled like patchouli. I enjoy patchouli.

What it actually is like: There was this time, a few years ago, that I was making pralines for gifts, and accidentally let the pot boil over. Vanilla-laden sugar all over the stovetop, bubbling and blackening! (Severely scarred my smoothtop stove.) That's exactly what this smells like on me.
It's an interesting effect, and I didn't mind it*, but I'm not going to wear it.
*Not a "perfumista". I outright hate a lot of perfume. Not looking for "interesting effect", here, I'm looking for a new daily scent that isn't boring.
Note that packaging rating is for the stupid little sample tube I got. I have no idea what the bottle is like. I assume it's fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was reluctant to try it but wow, this is good stuff. I think that a spray application may be too potent, better decanting into a vial and applying a drop. Really strong, the only perfume I could still smell after having a bath. After hours and a bath it smelt like Cuir de Russie, leather and soapy flowers :-) When applied it's a cross between Bvlgari Black and Dzing!. I would love a full bottle but because I cannot afford one, I will get a decant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2011 2:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My gosh, is this one a disappointment. It is sickly sweet, utterly cloying and smells cheap. I could not wash it off fast enough. No patchouli here, just sweet and cloying vanilla and plastic with some leather.


on 7/29/2010 11:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I ordered a discovery set from Le Labo and could not wait to try Patchouli 24... I had read so much about it. The package arrived at work, late afternoon, and by 5:00 most people had left and I could not wait a second longer. Unfortunately, the spray pump delivered a super enormous blast that dripped down my arm and scared the living cr@p out of me! I ran to the bathroom to scrub and it would not come off. At all! I returned to my desk to hear "Oh my god, what is that smell?" I fessed up to my remaining co-workers and they proceeded to review the fragrance for me. "It smells like the morning after a night of camping", "Midnight at the tire fire", and my favorite - "It smells like lung cancer!!!" :O

Well, a few weeks later, I mustered up my courage and pulled the Patch out again. I am entranced! In smaller doses it is gorgeous. The opening is still a little scary, but so different and interesting that it does not detract. On my skin it is a beautiful smoky, tarred vanilla that lasts and lasts. (Without choking anyone... it stays pretty close!) It is gorgeous layered with Labdanum 18 and I want to experiment layering it with some extra vanilla too.

So, despite my first impression this one is a keeper. I reach for it when I am feeling adventurous!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2010 10:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

WOW. At first, it's a TIRE. But moment by moment, the hard masculine scent lifts and suddenly it's you and your friends at camp. You've told your last spooky story and the embers in the fire are dying down. THIS is what it smells like in the dry-down: That smokey and sweet smell as you fall asleep.
For me, it's missing a note. Another perfumista recommended combining it with Le Labo Vanille 44. I just tried it now.Incredible! Now it's a complex and heady feminine scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2010 11:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

One of my favorites. I don't get any of the negative associations with barnyard, hospitals, or tar. When I sniff my wrist, this takes me back to my college days of shopping at the Gap and swooning over the stylish leather jackets that I could never afford to buy. The main impression that I get from this perfume is clean, fresh, genuine leather. Not a biker's leather jacket, but not a gentlewoman's $400 leather gloves either--it's right in the middle. Casual and interesting. Unconventional, but not over-the-top. This lasts almost 8 hours on me, and I'm so glad it smells nothing like patchouli--although I think the name should be changed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2010 7:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is genuinely exciting. I can't say that it smells *good*, or even appealing, but damn is it interesting. It opens with a crazy tar note that can only be described as an odor... it's kind of like an out door barbecue, or burning leaves, with a touch of rubber. But soon it mellows out and something creamy and smoky vanillic comes through, making it extremely wearable, if a little heady. (Apply with a light hand, or it's headache city.) I am disappointed by the end, I wanted the weird tarry scent to stay on for the duration, because it's just so unique and compelling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

It's not often that I smell something I really feel like I can't live without ... but Patchouli 24 (which has nothing at all to do with patchouli) is a recent addition to that select list. Forgive me for referring to this fragrance as '24' for the remainder of this review ... every time I type 'patchouli' it feels like a non sequitur.



The opening is sharp, chemical, rubber, man-made, smoky, industrial. It's odd, a bit challenging, and delightfully different. It has the coolness of something that's not actually cold, but is percieved so - like menthol (but not, because mint is certainly not a player here). It finds the line of what smells delicious and wearable, and what's an exercise in strangeness, and it dances all around it ... but the oddnesses are such gorgeous ones, I find it infinitely wearable, even in its opening moments. There is no bowing to convention here, but 24 isn't odd for the sake of being odd - it's beautiful, especially if you're open to many definitions of beauty.



It doesn't take long for vanilla to sweeten the growing resinous woodiness. It's smoky, but I don't smell the tobacco reported by others. It's powdery in that resinous way, and there is a leathery vibe, without it actually smelling of leather. Urban, but still uncivilized.
As 24 is on my skin, it just sinks in, and actually becomes a skin scent, as though all this amazingness is somehow coming from within.
I love it, and though I really can't buy the whole bottle, I'll be pouncing on the 15ml size.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2009 11:02:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This isn’t patchouli, more like, ‘I was hitch-hiking to the commune but had some road trip adventures all over the country, never did get there and wound up back in mom’s kitchen’. There’s a series of machine shed and farm fresh smells in it that I was enjoying, I just wish the chocolate chip cookies weren’t there. The sweet food smell doesn’t mesh well with the barnyard.


on 11/19/2009 8:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Holy powder puff!

I really enjoyed the smoky opening of this scent, and I like the vanilla. On my skin the woodsmoke turned into powder and it is way too much powder. That's a deal breaker.

Otherwise, nice, but I don't smell patchouli.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
338 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top