Le Labo • Jasmin 17 • Fragrances

rated 3.7(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cocorocha on 12/31/2012 7:07:00 AM more reviews by cocorocha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

smells more like orange in APOM or Elie Saab, than jasmin...
a great scent really, would'n mind to have it in my collection...very feminine twist of jasmine flower but as I noted-more orange/neroli sweetness than jasmine....
Pure Poison anyone.....?

EDIT: O.M.G, this is fantastic...utterly fantastic....this kind of sweetness is absolutely unfamilliar to my nose...it is a fresh,zesty but also (goddamn it!!) amazingly soft and floral jasmine...
I like this one A LOT...whish list immediately!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zoemaree on 7/26/2011 2:59:00 AM more reviews by zoemaree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First of all, I want to say that I feel very lucky to have purchased my 50ml bottle for $145 USD (and therein, very lucky to be living in the US) because this perfume retails for a stinkingly horrid $260 AUD for 50ml in my lovely home country and that is just nasty. I would not pay $260 for this fragrance, but then again I didn't wince at $145 so I suppose I'm becoming numb to fragrance prices - the more I sample and read, the less shocked I become.


To me, Le Labo has done something wonderful when they put their noses to this one. There is a lot of orange blossom, which explains why I'm all over it like white on rice. There's also a whopping smack of frangipani, which was really the icing on the cake; it's a gorgeous heady smell, the essence of summer growing up in Australia's tropical north. It's a light and absolutely inoffensive fragrance and I agree with a previous reviewer - sometimes that's all you need. Unfortunately for me, I ordered based off a dabbed-on sample, and I think it loses something in spraying... or rather, gains a nasty, almost stanky bathroom note as it fades. Not truly fecal, but no longer bright and sparkly. A little bit dirty, I suppose. I avoid this note by reapplying every few hours and so when I wear it, I get the beautiful sparkle of orange blossom, the smooth vanilla-jasmine-icecreamy drydown and a touch of woody ambery musk before it detours into Pooptown. Layer it with something unabashedly citrus and you will avoid that unfortunate end - Jo Malone Orange Blossom or Il Profumo Mandarine are safe bets.


All in all, Jasmin 17 is a radiant, soft and simple blend that works hard for the money - on my skin, at least. It's not overly young or old, too soft or too loud. It doesn't scream sexiness but it is sexy in the way it wears close and smooth to the body. It smells like a perfectly dressed woman who knows exactly what suits her - she is put together in the most refined and unassuming way. If this were porridge, Goldilocks would love it because it's not too much of anything; it truly is just right. It is overpriced, but I like that Le Labo offers a range of sizes and products in all of their scents so you can wear it how you like it, and I imagine a trip to their stores would be a lot of fun. Is it a gimmick? Most definitely, but this is a perfectly lovely fragrance from a nicely done brand and I'm almost 100% sure you won't smell Le Labo on many people.


4 for Price, 3 for Packaging (mine leaked in transit, but the bottle looks and feels comfortable and well made) and a 4 overall.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* foe on 6/17/2010 3:43:00 AM more reviews by foe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is another nice, polite office kind of fragrance. And there is a very real need for those in the world but, unfortunately, Jasmin 17 is so polite it doesn't have any personality.

Stepping away from the actual juice a moment, I would like to comment on the "Le Labo attitude", aka Ultimate Perfume Snobbery. Smelling the various fragrance essences they keep in dropper bottles is pretty cool...but actually having them blend the perfume with alcohol on the spot? Come on. I mean, maybe I'm wrong here, but I thought fragrances were supposed to macerate before being sold to the general public (perhaps the flip side of this is that my Jasmin 17 will ripen as it ages...interesting thought). Also, the whole personalized label thing? I could totally do without it, especially if having good old generic labels lowers the astronomical prices in any way. And the SAs? They were friendly but could totally be better trained...but this is supposed to be a fragrance review and I'm turning it into a rant. I apologize.

Especially since I didn't give Jasmin 17 three stars for nothing: I actually think it's an okay fragrance for those jeans and tee-shirts, too wholesome for traditional perfume kind of moments. Granted, I honestly don't have many of those yet, still, they must be scented.

The sillage is minimum (again: office fragrance) but the longevity is excellent or so I find. It doesn't really change much from topnotes to drydown but that's always been okay with me. As others have stated, the name is misleading but who really needs another jasmine soliflore (and I'm a total sucker for jasmine, btw)?

The bottom line: in this genre of work-friendly fragrances, I would recommend En Passant or any of the Artisans (except for maybe their Al-Oudh), which all have more depth and personality than Jasmin 17 and might actually be a better value for your money, too. And how often can you say that about a Frederic Malle scent?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 11/4/2009 4:17:00 AM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I smell more tuberose than jasmine as such although i detect a fair amount of orange blossom too. this is slightly too green for me, I can see why ppl are saying its a fresh youthful smell but its too white floral for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kitten65 on 9/9/2009 12:03:00 PM more reviews by kitten65

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This fragrance is feminine without being frilly. I smell some smooth, round jasmine and orange. It has a very appealing juicy quality, and can be worn by anyone who just wants to smell good. The SA told me that when men come to Le Labo to get a fragrance for a woman, they almost always pick this one. I'm not surprised. It's the ideal fruity-floral: inviting, clean, mouth-watering, non-plasticky (which really wins it points with me). This is not indolic or dirty in any way. Lasting power is only average, but I like that there is a small size for touch-ups. This is one of my favorites in the "pretty" or "day" categories.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* daruma on 2/25/2009 4:23:00 PM more reviews by daruma

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

As with most of the Le Labo range, if you buy this because you want a soliflore or even predominantly jasmine fragrance, you are going to be disappointed. To me, it's primarily orange blossom with a hint of very fresh, green jasmine (of the sort you find in Sarrasins rather than A La Nuit) in the background. It's a very pretty, uncomplicated, summery smell with amazing sillage and excellent staying power. I don't get the household product smells comparisons mentioned in other reviews at all - to me, the thing it most reminds me of is the edt version of Iris Nobile (but with that hint of jasmine) and with the considerable benefit of superior staying power. I'm pretty sure that this will be my first Le Labo FB - it's just so wearable.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CYIMBROKE on 7/1/2008 7:33:00 PM more reviews by CYIMBROKE

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my Holy Grail scent. I'm on my 5th bottle. I will not go deeply into scent descriptions since it has been covered so well in previous reviews.
This scent evokes a feeling for me. When I wear it I feel happier, energized, uplifted.
I always get compliments on this scent. I will forever have it in my collection.
I'm also fond of their Neroli fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rljp on 4/23/2008 9:49:00 AM more reviews by rljp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love jasmine scents and after reading the reviews below, I imagined there had to be a tiny amount of the indolent fragrance, but honestly, there was not even the tiniest amount of jasmine detected here. The top note to me had a bit of a tuberose scent, which could have easily been the jasmine, since they are white flowers, but it quickly faded to a more muskier vanilla. It's a light fragrance which is nice, but I believe I've smelled this perfume somewhere before. I was expecting to be wowed, but I'm left really disappointed. It's a nice fragrance, it's a floral with a powdery citrus in it, but it's not for me. If you do not like jasmine perfumes, then this one might be for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SophieH on 9/2/2007 3:11:00 PM more reviews by SophieH

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

On first spritz it smells *exactly* like honeysuckle. If you want to smell Jasmin 17, go drink a drop of honeysuckle nectar. Quickly it becomes more complicated, with a fresh neroli note on top, and a dollop of "creamy" underneath (amber, vanilla, sandalwood, musk), but it always retains that core, almost solifloral (and I do not mean jasmine) simplicity. It ends up smelling maybe like household products (specifically Orange Action), maybe like Marc Jacobs Blush (if I remember Blush correctly), maybe like that ever-so-generic "whatever" on a stumbled-upon perfume strip at the mall. I wish I could like this more, as Le labo are definitely some of the hippest perfumers out there, but it is what it is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rpolisk on 5/4/2007 10:14:00 AM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in the discovery package i ordered from le labo (along w Rose 31 and Neroli). I have to say that I am completely smitten. Admitedly, saying so brings forth the kind of shame one feels when admitting to loving reality TV, Twinkies, or cheap novels. It's that kind of a guilty pleasure. It is a very simple, sweet, almost child-like scent which more than once reminded me of something made for babies or young teenage girls. It is absolutely not meant to be in the least cerebral or even interesting in the way of so many beauties out there. However, there is something about the initial whiffs of neroli and orange blossom softened by a very gentle vanilla (which fortunately doesn't last too long on me) that is simply happy-making. The drydown is actually my favorite part, as the sandalwood brings forth the tiniest bit of *dirty* into this scent which could so easily become whipped cream in a bottle. The overall result is that I feel giggly and girlie when I wear it, but in a good way, not in a *mutton dressed like lamb* way. Two more things: one: this is an absolute man-magnet, in a very amusing way. I've noticed exactly the same effect on men when i've worn the heavily vanilla-scented Jonathan product Dirt cream in my hair. Two: This scent, while making me actually want to spring for the bigger bottle as a summer staple, made me revisit the Ormonde Jayne web site and make up my mind to finally lay down the money for a bottle of Champaca. Jasmin 17 is a very pale imitation of that much more complex and gorgeous creation by the London perfumer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Le Labo products

More Fragrances products