Jane Iredale PureMoist LipColour SPF 18

4.0

40 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 8.5%. Other Ingredients: Castor Seed Oil, Isopropyl Jojobate, Jojoba Esters, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Candelilla Wax, Beeswax, Grape Seed Extract, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Flavor, Borage Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Bisabolol. May Contain: Hydrated Silica, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Carmine, Red 30 Lake, Red 7 Lake.


on 9/28/2013 3:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This used to be labeled spf 18, however is no longer labeled as having any spf protection.

I am not sure if this is due to having been reformulated (to exclude the zinc oxide that was listed as the active spf ingredient in the older version) or if it has not been reformulated, but they simply no longer want to go through the testing required to advertise as having spf, or if it's just a marketing thing (for instance to get consumers to buy the lip drink as well, which is still labeled as providing spf). Reviewing the ingredients list shows that Zinc oxide is still listed, however it's not clear if it's in a high enough concentration to provide the spf it used to provide.
If this no longer provides UV protection, then I think there are many *much* better lipsticks out there - what made me buy these in the past was that they were the only lipstick with good/stable UVA protection on the market that I could find.



on 9/24/2012 9:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I can't even begin to express how disappointed I am in this lipstick...where do I start? I was hopeful after reading these positve reviews but I couldn't disagree more. I have a major problem with dry lips, they are constantly chapped and peeling, even in the summer. I would love to wear lipgloss and lipstick more often but most lip products dry out my lips even further and lipsticks will show every dry spot on my lips, making it look very unattactive. I have a lot of drugstore lipsticks/lipgloss that I don't use because they are too drying. So I thought I would splurge, invest some money and buy a lipstick that is moisturizing so that I actually use it instead of having it sit in my drawer. 1st of all, this lpstick is not moisturizing. I thought it would have more of a slip to it but it feels like a typical lipstick. I have to add a separate lipbalm underneath to get any moisture. 2nd, the color is a disappointment. I bought Erin and it is a frosty hot pink lipstick, not what I expected. I thought it was going to be a soft pale pink lipstick. On the site that I purchased it from, dermstore.com, all they said was it was a cotton candy pink which is a pale pink to me. Erin was one of the few that even had any description whatsoever, the other shades didn't even have any description at all. It is hard to tell just from the picture what exact shade of pink this was and I couldn't tell if it was shimmery. The JI website is even worse, they have no shade descriptions at all and they only say some shades are matte and some are shimmery, which is very odd and a bit idiotic of a company that you can only buy online. I'm sure there are locations where you can buy it in some areas but not any by me. I don't think the hot pink color would've bothered me as much if it didn't have any shimmers but this one does, it's actually verging on frosted. Why anybody would make frosted lip colors in 2012 is beyond me. Honestly, this reminds me of a cheap drugstore lipstick. I have a pale pink frosty lipstick from Maybelline that I didn't like and this reminds me exactly of that one, which really irritates me. Some of the matte finishes might be pretty but for $20, I'm not willing to try again. The only plus I see is that this contains physical sun protection.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

These lipsticks are amazing. My problems with most lipsticks is that they are not moisturizing. Pure Moist lipsticks are moisturizing. I own Carmen, Nicole and Sarah.
Carmen is a nice sheer berry color whose color can be customized by layering. Two swipes and it looks like a stain and if you add more a nice deep berry lip.
Nicole is a creamy red orange that can also be layered for a deeper color. I love that this color gives you a just ate a popsicle effect and they are incredibly moisturizing.
Sarah is a pink-bronze and it the sheerest of the three. It has become my go to lipstick.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2011 9:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

If you are looking for luxe lipstick that is made from completely non-toxic ingredients, this is definitely the one to pick. It's rich and creamy and feels high-quality, all around.

I have this in two colors, but the one to rave about is Carrie. How is it possible that a bright red lipstick is so ridiculously easy to wear? Based on a review by a previous reviewer with similar coloring, I ordered this online and was shocked when it exceeded every expectation. I'm super pale and blond/strawberry-blond, and a lot of red lipsticks look really terrifying on me. This red looks fresh and young, and I can put it on using the subway window as a mirror and not goof it up.

I personally could do without the slight vanilla smell, but I'll put up with it for a lipstick of this quality with safe ingredients. I also like that when it wears off, it seems to do so uniformly, so I have a pretty fading stain to my lips instead of a garish ring. All in all, a winner - I will definitely repurchase and probably try lots of other colors.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2011 8:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have this in "Carrie" a soft, yet rich cherry red and I am in love! This is the perfect everyday red without running in danger of a too serious or stiff red mouth, which I found classic red shades like Mac's Ruby Woo or Chanel's Passion gave me. The consistency is creamy, smooth and the colour also fades evenly. I have very fair skin with a slightly yellow undertone and this gives me the perfect red pout.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/28/2010 7:14:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have this in Kelly, a perfect soft pretty orangey peach. I actually leave this in my car here in the Florida heat in the 90's and get this: it does not melt or go rancid! It looks beautiful. The colors are fantastic but do NOT go by any chart on the internet, because they are not a match at all. They have about eight peach and corals each with tiny variations so you can really get exactly the shade you look best in. The formula is perfect, not dry and not too sheer. I have very pigmented lips and have a hard time finding lipstick that covers my natural color but this is very highly pigmented and does the trick beautifully. And it lasts for hours. No fragrance. I can't say one bad thing about this except that the cover of the case falls off easily.
In fact I find the actual stick to be big and unattractive. But the lipstick itself is perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2010 9:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love the Rose color. I am very fair, blue gray eyes, brown hair. I like it best applied with a brush, and I use a little light pink gloss that came with my JI lip gloss set called Fascination, which is my favorite gloss set. Rose is a mauve/pink/rose color and is close to the color in the Fascination set, but not drying like the really long wearing stuff is. Sometimes I put Buxom gloss over it in Trixie and it changes it to a soft rose that is more neutral and takes away the plum. I used to have a ton of different mauve, pink, and plum lipsticks but this is my favorite. I just change it up with different glosses. Even clear gloss makes it very pretty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2010 8:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

Product full name: Jane Iredale PureMoist Lip Colour SPF 18.

There are thirty-odd shades, of which I'm using Brett and Carmen. Perfect YLBB everyday lipstick with physical-only sunscreen (SPF 18, zinc oxide).

The Brett shade appears (on me anyway: see pics at end of review*) as a reddened berry that's just sufficiently darker than natural lip colour to enhance, no more. A cross between Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey and Lipstick Queen Medieval.

Carmen is a similar tone, slightly lighter-weight--needs several swipes (comparative pic at end of review). More sheer and slightly more plum, less warm orange-brown-red.

Ashley is lighter too, but too brick on me; the other pales are even more golden-orange or beige (Sarah, Sharon, etc.). Rose is a beautiful pink, too pink on me, would be nice on a pale brunette. Also several gorgeous deep plummy shades, would be great on darker skin, and lovely corals. Indeed, several of the shades that look more pink/red and cool-toned tend towards the peachy-orange in person, so on warmer-toned skin and looking for corals, JI's world is your oyster. Word of warning: well worth trying out before buying, as online swatches are pretty far from reality, and some shades that look darker in the tube are lighter (or, like Carmen, more sheer) once actually applied. And vice versa for the paler-looking ones.

Nicely moisturising, some taste from peppermint, otherwise nothing inoffensive to report in the ingredients.

Unlike the JI lSPF lip balms LipDrink and H/E for men, there's no lemon (which may be photosensitizing). So if you're looking for a physical-only lip sunscreen, maybe try out one of the lighter tones available: Ashley, Julia, Sandra, Sarah, Sharon, etc.

I got this after extensive research online (especially, of course, here on MUA) to replace my beloved now-discontinued Aveda Lip Tints, as an everyday lippie with sunscreen.

Packaging: simple gold twist-up classic lipstick tube. 3.4g. Decent cruelty-free company. No bismuth oxychloride; fulll ingredients at end of review. Available from some salons and spas, and online. Price: CAD22.50, somewhere around USD18.00-20.00.

INGREDIENTS: Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 8%.
Ingredients: Castor Seed Oil, Isopropyl Jojobate, Jojoba Esters, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Candelilla Wax, Carnauba Wax, Beeswax, Grape Seed Extract, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Flavor, Borage Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Bisabolol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Carmine, Red 30 Lake, Red 7 Lake.

* pic in profile and here if you click continue: shot in natural light, worn here over Weleda Everon lip balm and Vanicream Lip Protectant SPF 30 (TiO2). As you can see, no whitening effect.

Comparison of Gingerrama-approved lippies for everyday redhead use:

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2010 2:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The cap to this lipstick is about five sizes too big for the tube, so unless you enjoy having a smushed lipstick and destroyed pocketbook, I have t recommend you pass on buying this product.


on 12/6/2009 4:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Have insanely sensitive lips and this brand does not sting, which is a miracle. Bought it in the lovely light pink Sabrina shade & am very pleased. Locally it was over $20, cheaper on eBay.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
74 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Jane Iredale Products

image

Handi Brush

123 reviews
image

Moonglow

50 reviews
Back to Top