Olay Definity Intense Hydrating Cream

3.4

83 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Niacinamide, Isobutane, Propane, Acetyl Glucosamine, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polyethylene, Polyacrylamide, Panthenol, Polysorbate 20, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dimethiconol, DMDM Hydantoin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Laureth-4, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Disodium EDTA, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Laureth-7, Fragrance, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Morus Alba Root Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Soluble Collagen, Methylparaben, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Mica.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample of this a few years ago. I didn't like the consistency and scent at first, but I used it because it was a free sample. It made my face glow! I wound up buying it. I had to stop purchasing it because I didn't have the money for it, but now I'm buying it again. It's great at evening out my skin tone. I have a lot of dark spots, acne scars, and this makes my skin look great. Try it!



on 8/15/2011 6:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have really soft skin with a few barely visible blemishes and under eye circles . Thanks to Olay Total effects that I have been using for quite some time now. Decided to try this one after so many good reviews.

Well, this one was a disaster. My skin:
1. got more oily & rough
2. sensitive to sun.
3. complexion got darker
4. my otherwise barely noticeable blemished and dark circles were very prominent.

Did nothing good to my skin! I had to stop using it after a week. Honestly, this is a crap for me and a waste of money.
Total effects did wonders to skin but this one....a big big disappointment for me. The jar sits on my vanity.. don't know what to do with it (expensive one, so its hard to throw away).
I'm back to my Total effects and might not try the Definity series any time soon!


on 7/28/2011 4:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

A good moisturizer for dry climates. It does what it says. I have oily skin and my face dosent feel oily after using it. I would give it 3.5 lippies

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Olay is my preferred drug store brand, but this cream disappoints! I love the gel-like texture of this cream and my face does feel refreshed and moisturized; however, the cream just sits there on top of my skin and rubs off onto whatever comes in contact with my face - even hours after application.


on 1/21/2011 12:27:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This product does not have a consistency that would dispense well from a pump, and anyway, I like the jar. I apply this cream after I have cleansed my face, so my hands are clean, and only the tip of one finger goes into the jar to remove about a dime sized amount, which I dot over my face and neck and then lightly spread and let it dry. This is not "cream" as in "oily," and there is no need to rub it in much. It feels light on my face and has an elegant scent. I've used it every night for two weeks (maybe three). I have had no breakouts or irritation and my skin is more luminous and it feels like rose petals.


on 12/18/2010 2:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This cream is super heavy with silicone. It is similar in texture to foundation primers, but it has more of a creamy feel as opposed to a gel.
It is really moisturizing, and didn't irritate my sensitive skin at all. I found my skin to be a lot more hydrated and somewhat more even toned after two uses. My winter dry patches virtually disappeared.
It started to clog my pores after a few days, so I have stopped using it. I am sad since it worked really well under makeup. It's like a moisturizer and primer in one.
It has a strong scent to it which I didn't like, I think perfume is unnecessary in a facial moisturizer.
I also don't like the jar packaging, it would do better with a pump style container.
I think it's a bit overpriced at $30 CAD, but it does go on sale every once in a while. The jar would last a long time, you only need a small amount to spread over your whole face.
If you are sensitive to silicone (dimethicone) don't bother with this, otherwise if you have dry skin give it a try.


on 11/7/2010 1:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for over a month now, halfway done, and I've noticed good and bad results. I don't know if other people are experiencing the same results, but it feels like this moisturizer is "drying" my skin out even more after using it.. BUT the weird thing is that it's actually a good thing in a way, b/c my skin feels like it's renewing itself. After I use a face scrub to buff off all the flaky dry skin, I see that SOME fresh new skin has grown in replace of it. I think that is how this moisturizer gets rid of "brown spots" b/c this moisturizer sloughs off your top layer to reveal younger newer skin. I normally have oily skin, and to have dry skin b/c of this moisturizer is very unpleasant and I do not like having dry skin at all! The first week that I started using this product, my skin became super dry and the foundation I was using made my dry skin look even worse, my skin was so dry it got to the point where I was able to peel off the dry skin! Another problem that I have w/this product is that b/c it has a silicone feel to it, I think it's also breaking me out in places that I normally don't ever break out it. Primers also have a silicone in it and it's not good to use a primer EVERYDAY before your foundation b/c your skin will not be able to breathe and you will break out. The packaging is also bad b/c it doesn't have a pump, so you're constantly digging your fingers into the container to get the product which is not very sanitary. So in my experience, the moisturizer had no moisturizing benefits, broke me out, but did get rid of some brown spots and sloughed off dead skin.. but I would much rather use other products that will get the job done without breaking me out in the end n causing dry skin.


on 4/29/2010 2:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

THE BEST! I have been using Olay moisturizers on my face for 20 years. I switched from regular Olay to Definity a couple years ago (I am 46). I have had girls in there 20's asking for my "beauty secret".


on 4/27/2010 10:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am writing this review for both the Olay Definity AND for the "dupe" CVS version. I have used them both and could not find one bit of a differnece...all the way down to the smell, they were the same in my book. I recently (3 months back) started a skin routine with my dermatologist that began to dry my skin out quite a bit...I often turn to Clinique DDMG, but it wasn't quite enough this time around. This moisturizer, as thick as it is, at the same time, feels light as air once I apply it...I take a healthy, scoop out (size of a nickle at least, sometimes a quarter) and apply all over my face. It leaves a lovely sheen, if you want to call it that on my skin, and dries to feel like silk! I adore it! Best of all...it doesn't clog my pores or break me out! It helps my makeup (i use cream concealer and BE foundation) go on even smoother...

Now that i finally tried the CVS version, I likely won't go back to the Olay version...no reason to when i had identical results.

The price (if on sale) is up to $8 cheaper, i believe....so, worth it in my eyes...this also makes me want to try other CVS/Olay dupes....

Negatives: packaging...knocked a few lippies off for that...MAKE IT IN A PUMP!...Any lotion that goes on the face should just be in a pump, period...am i wrong!? :-)

Negatives: price...knocked a lippie off there as well...still pricey, but still worth it.


on 3/23/2010 9:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The smell is strong - but doesn't last forever. If you are sensitive to smells though, this will be off-putting.
I have acne-prone skin - and though I love how this product made my dry skin feel, it did break me out...
I wrote an email to Olay asking about this product and acne - they said that it wasn't dermatologist tested and isn't non-comedogenic...
There you go.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top