No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Extra Virgin Coconut Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.4(263 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 dk_patel on 11/27/2014 11:37:00 AM more reviews by dk_patel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I discovered the benefits of extra virgin, organic coconut oil after I had a surgery. I applied it to the scar and found that it really helped heal and soften the scar. After that I found that it's awesome for my skin overall! I use it most days after showering. At bedtime I use it on my face which has become dry in certain patches, and it works great! I even have adult acne and it does not break me out. I also like it on my hair to smooth down frizz or fly aways. I have thick, curly hair so it actually moisturizes well since I need products that are heavy in moisture. The only downside to this oil is that it hardens under 70 degrees so it's harder to use in the cooler months. What I like most of all about coconut oil is that it's natural and chemical-free. Our skin is our largest organ so we should be careful about what we're slathering on it every day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Missylou80 on 11/24/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by Missylou80

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE COCONUT OIL!!!!!!!!!!! It leaves my skin and hair so soft! I use coconut oil to take off my makeup and it leaves my skin soft and supple. I also use it as a night time eye cream and I kid you not, no more dark circles! I use a coconut oil hair mask about once a month and my hair is soft and healthy for a whole month! It is worth the not-so-expensive investment! I also use it for baking and my morning coffee (try it!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 minusthegirl on 11/13/2014 8:54:00 PM more reviews by minusthegirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As a mixed girl with insane curls, I thought my hair would LOVE coconut oil. Oh no. Instead of making my hair less frizzy or easier to handle, it just.....makes my hair look greasy and disgusting. I have fine hair, so maybe this was the issue. I can't even use this in my deep treatments-my hair will be so greasy and stringy and disgusting for days afterwards that it's not worth it.

On my skin? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH.

Oh, what a nightmare. I have combination skin and decided to use this to cleanse, mixed with a little bit of honey. I woke up in the morning with the most blotchy, reddened, evil looking face.....I think this triggered my rosacea that I suffered from back in high school. I thought it would be a nice treat for my dry areas, and I only used it sparingly on my t-zone. Regardless, i had such badly clogged pores and my skin broke out so horribly that it took me almost a month to recover from the experience. Even my boyfriend was concerned because my cheeks were so red and raw looking. I've never had a breakout that bad before.

Coconut oil and I stay away from each other now. Btw, the brand I used was the Trader Joe's brand that comes in a glass bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 littlesparrows on 11/12/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by littlesparrows

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

*EDIT: I added a review for this product under Extra Virgin coconut oil under "lotions/creams" as well as this one, because I had used it mainly for skin moisturizing. It details the problems I had with this oil which caused some very bad bumps on the legs and arms, similar to the cystic acne problems people have experienced on their facial skin. This oil really did a number on my skin.*

As much as I love the scent of coconut, I just cannot use coconut oil for skin or hair. So many people have great results, but it just is not going to work for me.

I have very dry skin and dry, naturally curly hair that tends to frizz, so I thought coconut oil would be so good for both. I will say that initially, when applied on the skin on the face and body, it feels so moisturizing and smooth and the same goes for hair and scalp- my skin and hair just soak it up. And then it all goes wrong. I wash the oil out of my hair and use a good moisturizing shampoo and conditioner and even doing this, I am left with a frizzy dry mess of hair. I wake up in the morning after putting oil on my skin at night and it is all dried out and dull. It is worse on the face- dry, clogged pores, dull, just awful. So much for coconut oil as a beauty product. But for cooking it is amazing- great to saute shrimp or any seafood and use it in homemade chocolate chip cookies, just substitute half the butter the recipe calls for with coconut oil- delicious!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 billa2010 on 11/6/2014 7:10:00 PM more reviews by billa2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

love coconut oil! I've been using it on my hair for as long as I can remember but only recently tried using it on my face. I can't use this everyday otherwise my pores become clogged but it works great every once in a while (couple times a month) as an overnight hydrating mask. My skin always looks amazing the morning after I've used this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amoore on 11/1/2014 1:09:00 AM more reviews by amoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am such a fan of coconut oil. I use it as a daily body moisturiser, hair treatment and for removing makeup. My boyfriend has started using it instead of shaving cream as he kept getting a shaving rash - he's loving it. The best thing about coconut oil is that's it's all natural - no chemicals or preservatives. I will always use coconut oil!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lalama13 on 10/25/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by lalama13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have used coconut oil everyday.
- oil pulling in the morning and evening, after brushing my teeth.
- OCM for face every morning and evening.
- facial massage in the evening, while taking a bath
- hair, once for a while.
- eating it by itself or in tea or food
- cooking


it is amazing, and good price when i can find them in holland and barret half price, or in costco for a huge bottle.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 10/20/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Coconut oil for the face? No way! Too pore-clogging for my liking. But it's ideal for the hair and can be used in place of a serum, for dry hair ends or to tame flyaways. I use it for my hair ends once or twice a week when I'm due a hair cut - the smallest amount possible, warmed between the palms. As I have fine, bra strap length hair I have to be careful not to overload my hair and pure coconut oil is one of the few oils that my hair can tolerate as a leave-in. I can't tell you how great it is for people who 'can't do' oil - it's HG material for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ecall1 on 10/16/2014 2:47:00 AM more reviews by ecall1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This oil has changed my life (or at least my hair)! Really. I use a bit on the ends only after shampooing and conditioning. It helps detangle and fight frizz. My rough blow dry looks smoother and my hair is silky and stays shiny after flat ironing. A little worked through the ends of 2nd day hair that's pulled into a ponytail looks groomed and healthy rather than flyaway. Maybe my hair has just been really dry my whole life and just needed some oil. I thought I'd hate it or it would break out my problematic skin, but I love it. I rub the extra oil on my hands after doing my hair and my skin feels soft.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 10/15/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Coconut oil is horrible for my skin. Gives me cysts, pimples and clogged pores. Never worked for my hair either. I also can't stand it on my body- too oily, doesn't sink in. We just don't have a good relationship.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Cleansers products