Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

4.4

292 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Extra-virgin coconut oil.


on 5/1/2015 3:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this on my skin to remove makeup. To those of you who are saying that it broke you out, I do not recommend LEAVING this on your skin. It is a very heavy oil and will clog your pores without a doubt. However, it is amazing at removing makeup; it even removed Benefit's They're Real, which if you have ever used, you will not how hard it is to remove. I go over with my cleanser straight away and it has never broken me out.

This is lovely as a hair mask. Coming from an Asian background, it is common to use oils on your hair. I have been using this since a young age and it has helped the condition of my hair a lot. I am always straightening my hair which has caused it to become quite damaged in the past and coconut oil is probably the only reason I have hair left!

I also mix it with sugar and a few drops of vanilla essence to make a lovely homemade lip scrub!



on 4/29/2015 3:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

NOTE*** if you have acne prone skin do NOT put this on your face. Not once...not EVER. It WILL make your skin break out. I used it in the winter (like an idiot) for extra moisture thinking that at 27 my breakouts were finally under control....months later and I swear my skin is still recovering. Hair is a different story. I put this on unwashed, damp hair and sleep in it. The next day I wake up and wash and condition (you'll probably have to shampoo twice to get it all out...or you can leave some in if your hair is extra dry) and my hair shines, feels thicker and more soft. It's GREAT for hair. BAD for facial skin.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

To eat? I love it. As a beauty product? No way.

As a hair mask-makes my hair dry.
As a facial moisturizer or make up remover-breakout city.
As a body moisturizer-too greasy, never really absorbs, makes me break out.

I love the smell and I wish it worked for me but alas, wasn't meant to be. Gonna eat it instead :)

Oh and I used the cold pressed, organic kind from Whole Foods.


on 4/26/2015 8:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love coconut oil for my hair. It keeps it strong and nourished. I use it as a pre-treatment before washing my hair and it helps me detangle, and also eliminates breakage and hair fall. Not only that but it nourishes my scalp.

I used to love using this as a makeup remover, but when used on the eyes it will blur your vision for a little while. If I wasn't acne-prone, this would be a staple in my skincare regimen. It's a lovely oil!


on 4/22/2015 7:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

You absolutely cannot go wrong with organic all natural virgin coconut oil. No nasty preservatives, perfumes, dyes all the regular stuff you get in everyday moisturisers.
This stuff is amazing, one of the few oil that can actually penetrate the hair shaft and skin.
My hair has went through years of heat damage, style damage and bleaching and as you can imagine it is fried to bits.
Regular applications of this oil give it a bit of LIFE back, it brings back softness and some flexibility - lets remember you cannot cure damaged hair though, but it does make it a little bit more manageable.

I have thin fine hair and yes it looks oily once applied but it keep it tucked away in a bun, takes a good shampooing to get out but the results are very worth it.

Application on my skin leaves it feeling very hydrated - there is no oily feeling like you get with olive oil or the sort. It is a fresh feeling and smell and anyone with sensitive skin can rest assure that it won't irritate because there are no hidden nasties in it.
I am a true believer in natural products are the way to go, there is no miracle ingredient hidden in an expensive bottle thats chemically made, your body is all natural so treat it that way.
You can use this anywhere on the body also.
My sister done the oil pulling where you take a table spoon of this into your mouth for 20 minutes and i can say her teeth are several shades whiter. Best product ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2015 8:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I LOVE coconut oil. It has a variety of uses, and I always depend on it for most of my beauty and skincare needs. After I shower and let my hair slightly air dry, I apply coconut oil to my hair, slowly massage my scalp and then comb through it. Then I braid my hair into 2 separate pieces (if you get what I mean?), and leave it overnight. When I take out the braids in the morning, I take a shower and rinse it out using my shampoo (Nature's Gate). My hair feels softer, silkier, and less frizzy (I live in a very humid place). My hair is quite thick, or maybe there's just a lot of it, and it's very wavy so I find coconut oil to help it the best. I also use it on my face as a moisturizer after I use my african black soap or a all-natural CTM method using honey (cleanser), ACV -with water mixed with it of course- (toner) and coconut oil (moisturizer).

I also sometimes allow steam to open my pores with the coconut oil on my face so it gets in there (as it is also antibacterial) or just apply it after rinsing off my indian healing clay mask. I heard some people get a skin reaction to coconut oil as it is part of a purging process but I never had that- then again I was using natural products about a month before trying this so maybe thats the reason why? Anyways, with any natural product you may find yourself breaking out or other skin reactions because the skin is reacting to a transition/purge. All in all, I will be using coconut oil for years to come!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This goes into about almost every beauty DIY and the results are amazing.
1. Lip scrub - combine coconut oil, honey and raw sugar. Lips feel soft, plump and removes dry skin.
2. Coffee scrub - combine ground coffee beans, coconut oil, honey, raw sugar, baby oil, extra virgin olive oil and mix to form a paste. Skin feels amazingly smooth!
3. Hair mask - massage into roots and throughout the ends of your hair. Leave in for 30 mins and rinse out. Hair shiny, smooth and is great for dry scalps.
I got the organic coconut oil in jar form from my local Chemist Warehouse for $10. Super affordable and last long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best makeup remover anyone could ask for! If products with the words "makeup remover" in the title aren't doing the job, pick up a jar of this life saver. And it can be used for way more than that. It can moisturize your skin and hair, you can cook with it, basically EVERYTHING!
Definitely go out and buy this!


on 3/16/2015 5:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this stuff is just as awesome as people say. I use it as a makeup remover, a shaving "cream" and a hair mask (and in cooking of course!).

Makeup remover: I'll use this whenever I have waterproof mascara on (almost every day in the summer). I just take a little chunk, rub it between my figures to liquify it then gently rub it over my eyes until I can't feel mascara on my lashes anymore. Then I'll wipe it away with a washcloth or just wash my face like normal with my cetaphil cleanser. Takes off all my waterproof mascara without irritating my eyes or pulling out all my lashes.

Shaving: Pretty self explanatory. I rub a bunch of it over my legs/arm pits, shave like normal, then wipe it away with a wet washcloth. It's moisturizing and works just as good as any shave cream I've used. I only use this outside of the shower or tub because when you wash it away it can make any surface your standing on very very slippery and I don't fancy falling on my face in the shower.

Hair: I haven't totally perfected this aspect of coconut oil because I suck at doing hair masks regularly so I can never tell the coconut oil actually makes a difference or not. My hair usually feels softer and looks a little shinier after a coconut oil hair mask, but it will only last till the next shampoo. If I ever get into the habit of doing a weekly hair mask with coconut oil I'll edit this review with the results. But basically what I do is cover my hair from the ears down with liquified coconut oil, then use a comb to go through all the hair from root to tip, then leave it in for 30 minutes to an hour, the rinse it out in the shower and shampoo/condition like normal. I've heard of some people using coconut oil as a leave in, but my hair is way too thin for this and it would just be a big greasy mess.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2015 6:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loveeeeee coconut oil for ny hair and hair growth. I apply it to my face at night also. I warm up some in a bowl then add alittle bit of regular deep conditioner to help make apply easier and rub on scalp and hair leave it on for as long as i can. And i wash it twice afterwards. I do this once a week and i loveeeee it best conditioner ever.


Back to Top