Clairol • Herbal Essences Breaks Over • Shampoo

rated 3.6(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 KittyLovesGingers on 12/1/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by KittyLovesGingers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love how these smell,and I love that the bottles fit together in the shower and look all cute.
I don't use these every day, as I do think they have a tendency to build up and weigh your hair down, so I usually wash with them once a week and see a big difference. The conditioner is more moisturising than Hello Hydration and really helps heat or climate frazzled hair.
Also, it's nearly always buy one, get one free in Boots so it's a total bargain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 9/26/2012 12:33:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Herbal Essence's Breaks Over (also known as Bye Bye Breakage and Breakage Defender) is a strengthening hair care line made up of three products, a shampoo, conditioner, and a 2-in-1. Unfortunately this line isn't available in the US. Herbal Essences calls Breaks Over "an anti-breakage potion to help prevent styling damage". This anti-breakage shampoo claims it'll "treat each strand with a potent potion for strength against styling damage that'll lead to less breakage so your hair can be strong". The jasmine and sea silk infused formula is meant to help you feel inspired by the ritual flower baths taken by Javanese brides to be. Not fully short what pre-marital bathing has to do with strengthening hair care, but whatev, I'm sure Herbal Essences' heart is in the right place. Both the shampoo and conditioner contain 300ml, a little less than the American bottles contain. I bought the set for $12.50 at a chemist in Blacktown Westpoint. I normally wouldn't have paid that much for anything by Herbal Essences, but I don't know if I'd ever find Breaks Over again, and it'd make a nice edition to my Herbal Essences Review Series. I think my boyfriend actually paid for these, but I can't recall. Herbal Essences products are not tested on animals. This hair care duo was made in Thailand.
Breaks Over's packaging is no different from any other Herbal Essences' shampoo and conditioner bottles. The shampoo bottle is made of translucent cornflower blue plastic and stands up right. The conditioner bottle is made opaque plastic in the same color and stands topside down. Each bottle is recyclable. Both bottles have a green pop up dispenser. The dispenser on my conditioner bottle got cracked on the trip back to America, causing it to leak a little, but I can't fault the company for that. The front of the bottle features the name of the product and it's tagline "I'm a love potion for bad hair breakups". Plenty of playfully worked product info can be found on the back of the bottle along with directions, company info and full ingredient lists. I wish the international bottles had the fun facts and little tips that are included on the American bottles. Little things like that make me happy.
The scent of Breaks Over is explained as such: "jasmine flowers are often thought of as soothing and peaceful because they bloom at night, when the aroma is most intense. Think of moonlit gardens of jasmine in ancient Indian paintings. That's the scent of love." Ok Herbal Essences, if you say so. To me, Breaks Over smells just like Hello Hydration, which is a coconut based scent. Either way, Breaks Over smells fabulous and the scent stays in the hair for a while. I love it.
The shampoo is a light pearlised, thick blue shampoo. I always say it, but I prefer Herbal Essences gel formula shampoos, but I actually really like Breaks Over's creamy formula, it's very nice. I don't need to use all that much to cleanse my long, thick hair. The shampoo alone is quite moisturizing. It lathers nicely and rinses out easily. The conditioner is the same color, with a smooth, thick, creamy texture, almost yogurt like. This conditioner spreads evenly through my hair and I don't seem to need a ton of it to coat my chest length hair. I usually go through conditioner super fast, but I seem to be using the shampoo and conditioner at a similar pace. This conditioner seems to help detangle my knotty hair. This hair care duo has been working wonders for my hair. Its much smoother and silkier. My hair tends to tangle and get matted horrible, and while that's still happening, the situation has become a lot more manageable since Breaks Over came onto the scene. My hair feels and looks really healthy and I'm loving the overall results. Best part though? Breaks Over doesn't strip my henna colored hair at all. Woot!
I really like Herbal Essences' Breaks Over shampoo and conditioner. While I don't have very damaged hair, this line seems to be helping my matting issues, and it's pretty moisturizing. This shampoo/conditioner duo definitely makes up for the fail that was Dangerously Straight/Touchably Smooth. I love the scent of this hair care line and I love the way it doesn't strip my color even more. I'm going to be sad when I run out, hopefully Breaks Over becomes available in America or Australia soon. I will definitely repurchase it if/when I can. If Herbal Essences sells Breaks Over in your country, I certainly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sourskittleash on 8/26/2012 2:29:00 PM more reviews by sourskittleash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Only used this a few times but really like it - leaves my hair clean and shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mccfrausto on 10/16/2010 10:22:00 PM more reviews by mccfrausto

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do not like the smell, reminds me of when I used to use Suave coconut shampoo, it smells just like that. Works well so far, my thin fine oily/dry hair seemed smoother and lustrous. I used both the shampoo and conditioner. I wish that they'd just sell shampoo formulas and their fragrance seperately.. I would choose the Drama Clean Scent and put it in every single item I use, including this shampoo.

Update: I do not use this anymore.. I've switched to fragrance free.. Much healthier for dry scalp or sensitive skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 viiixxxen on 5/17/2010 2:26:00 PM more reviews by viiixxxen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, must say I usually don't buy Clairol stuff because the company as a whole test on animals, but Herbal Essences is not tested and some products are even vegan. I wish Clairol would end all the testing, because this shampoo and conditioner are definetly winners!

The smell is AMAZING. And when I say amazing it's not just like "oh, nice smelling hair." It's REALLY good smelling hair all day long! My hair is fine, with very oily roots and I live in a umid weather, so i was very skeptical about this working for me - however, this makes my hair so soft, smooth, doesn't weight down it in the winner (it's a little havier for the summer) and my ends never slipt! When the weather is a little bit more hotter, i usually use this one day, and the other time i wash my hair i will use Drama Clean Shampoo, also from HE.

Anyway, I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a shampoo and conditioner that helps prevent damage, leaves hair soft, delicious to smell and with a really nice, not heavy or greasy, feel.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AngelOnFire on 2/2/2010 10:47:00 AM more reviews by AngelOnFire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For starters, I have fine, just-over-shoulder-length hair that isn't treated chemically. Low maintenance, really. I bought both the shampoo and conditioner from the Break's Over range, and both products suit my needs nicely.


A small amount of shampoo cleans my hair nicely, whilst the conditioner conditions and detangles well, and that's it. I noticed that I have a little less breakage and split ends, but I don't know if this product range has anything to do with that. The bottle is awesome, it's easy to squeeze out exactly as much product as you need. The coconut meets mango smell is gorgeous, but I'm less enthusiastic about the colour (I mean, blueish lilac?) because it seems not very natural to me. Like blue M&Ms :-)


Overall, this stuff is pure bang for buck, but don't expect salon performance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenfae on 11/24/2009 4:43:00 PM more reviews by goldenfae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Smells wonderful and looks pretty. Very rich for my thin, straight hair. Made it soft and silky and I almost never needed conditioner or detangler. But I don't think it agreed with my skin much and I'm afraid creamy shampoos will weigh my hair down and clog my pores so I'll try something else before I go back to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zanderae on 6/16/2009 5:37:00 PM more reviews by zanderae

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this better than I thought I would. If I had long hair I wouldn't use it, because it seems to be rather drying, but I have short hair that I cut frequently (and don't use conditioner either because of that) so no harm done. The scent is fantastic and the lather feels great....I would buy it again, and have done so, but if/when I grow my hair out I'd only use it once in a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lana86 on 6/16/2009 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Lana86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i wanted to try this for a long time and yesterday i just tried it.
it dried out my hair!!!!
i had high hopes for this, but it seems that herbal essences is just not for my hair type.
(i tried the old formulas as well, and they were also very drying.
:(
very disappointed...

the only thing that i liked about it: the levander colour of the formula wich is very pretty.
and for me the smell is just too harsh and overpointing.

i will pass it to my boyfriend, and try the conditioner as hair mask maybe i will have more luck with that...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CombatWombat on 5/12/2009 3:18:00 AM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Perfectly acceptable for a cheap shampoo. It's a cream shampoo with ALS, so I find it more drying than HE's clear shampoos. I do use this with its matching conditioner, which is very rich and pretty well compensates for the drying shampoo. Smells fine. Nothing to write home about, but definitely serviceable, and if you need an inexpensive s/c set that detangles well, this might be one to consider. Does not weigh down hair, but will build up if used too many times in a row. Might repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Shampoo products