Unlisted Brand • Betsey Johnson • Fragrances

rated 3.9(125 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LydiaGee on 10/25/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by LydiaGee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The bottle is stunning. I use it for decoration as well as a scent lol. The fragrance is floral and musky...a heavy scent but amazing. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 10/2/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A complex & delicious fruit-floral-amber-wood-praline gourmand EDP. There are others on the market in the same family, but I think this one is really well-constructed, and I like it a lot (wearing it now). It's *spicy*-sweet -- reminds me of the original Vince Camuto EDP, actually.

Came out in 2006, now discontinued, but still available at Marshall's (where I got mine yesterday) -- plus at other discount stores and etailers:

Notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes -- Pear, Grapefruit, Black currant, Tangerine
Heart Notes -- Freesia, Lily-of-the-valley, Red apple
Base Notes -- Amber, Musk, Praliné, Sandalwood, Cedar

Inspired by seeing Betsey herself (age 72) dancing on "Dancing With the Stars" in recent weeks, I got a 3.4oz bottle of the original Betsey Johnson EDP for around $22.49 at Marshall's. The 1.7oz was $14.99. A great buy, esp for a strong, lasting EDP.

I had also recently seen a couple of young YouTube reviewers name this among their Top 10 faves -- and reviews online were quite positive. This perfume has been discontinued, but Betsey also later launched a "Too Too" and "Too Too Pretty" which may still be in production, I don't know.

I had to buy it unsniffed from Marshall's, but it was inexpensive so not a big risk. I wasn't disappointed with the BJ scent at all -- it's very flavorful, complex, interesting, intriguing, flavorful, and delicious. It is sweet & gourmandy, but's also spicy and has good balance -- the sweetness being offset by amber & woods.

The bottle is beautiful, esp with that pink "head-dress" at the top (reminds me of a Vegas or Ziegfeld show girl) -- and it looks great on a vanity. It's on the strong side -- it's an EDP, and you do get your money's worth, for sure! Spray carefully, and I find it gets better on skin the longer it dries down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PaleInComparison on 4/2/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by PaleInComparison

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this perfume. The smell is very sweet, almost childish, not in a bad way but in a playful way that is very much Betsey Johnson. The blackcurrant, floral, and musky notes are a real winner when they settle and combine with my body chemistry. My best friend tells me that this perfume reminds her of old women and I have noticed that many women do not like it- but men seem to love the girly, sweet scent. This is not a light perfume but can be applied carefully for a less lingering effect. The bottle is adorable and unique, despite all the complaints in these reviews about it being "tacky" it is very much Betsey Johnson and I think it reflects the perfume well.

I was gifted my last bottle with a bonus body wash, which smells just as good as this perfume and pairs perfectly with it. I don't always use them together but when I do I smile all day at how I smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silkpuppet on 3/31/2014 11:37:00 AM more reviews by silkpuppet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While I really enjoy this scent, there are a few things about it worth noting. This fragrance can definitely be cloying and headache-inducing. It is a very sweet and synthetic gourmand that shares similarities with Jessica Simpson Fancy. As an Angel devotee, I think my threshold for obnoxious, cloying scents is pretty high, but this perfume is almost too much for me. The pear note is quite prominent in both BJ and Fancy, but BJ has a woody, musky quality that makes it more dark and complex than Fancy. The amber makes it very sultry and the candied praline note kind of plays on top throughout. If you gravitate toward tooth-achingly sweet scents, you will probably like this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 schristi2800 on 1/2/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by schristi2800

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first I hated this fragrance, but one day I decided to give it another try. Wore it around and I received so many compliments on how yummy i smelled. The scent is very long lasting on my skin. The black currant n this perfume is the strongest note

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 11/9/2013 9:55:00 PM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE it! It is a sweet, powdery, musky scent! I can't get enough. Lasts all day on me. I get complements all the time. This is a gourmand fragrance, not a fresh, crisp scent. So any of you into the fresh, flowery scents probably wouldnt like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 10/23/2013 8:21:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This bottle is pure kitsch and I love it for that. It's a chunky little thing that you can grip in the middle quite comfortably with this huge pink topper, so very BJ style.
I own both of her perfumes and each are polar opposites. When I'm in the mood for a true foodie perfume, no hesitation in reaching for Betsey Johnson. It's a sweet delight that I enjoy. It's strong, and I love it for that, but I can make it lighter with the right application. It all depends on how I want to wear this perfume. That's what I really appreciate about this gourmand.
Musky along with woods that goes on for hours? What more could I ask for? It's fun, carefree and a great pick-me-up.
Cooler weather preferred if wearing in public, otherwise, wear it to your hearts desire and spritz away. Grapefruit, pear and apple slices garnishing a plate of chocolate pralines...that's what Betsey Johnson is all about.
Top Notes: Black Currant, Grapefruit, Pear, Mandarin Orange.
Middle Notes: Freesia, Lily-Of-The-Valley, Red Apple.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Musk, Cedar, Praline, Cashmere Wood.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Law08 on 9/19/2013 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Law08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Thought I loved this but and I kinda still do not as much as I thought but I normally am not sensitive to these things but this gives me the worst headaches every time finally sold it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MOPIGGY on 6/5/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by MOPIGGY

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smells like Praline & Sandelwood, very yummy! like a French pastery. I don't smell much of the other notes, sorry. The bottle is pretty tacky tho, the topper is like a wand you blow bubble with :-p yuck, but still puts me in a bit of a youthful attitude when I put it on :-) whatever

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 4/17/2013 2:03:00 AM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Iam like the previous reviewer; I liked this at first, but once I got home & used it....didn't care for it at all. This perfume does not smell bad by any means, it's just not anything that catches my attention. The bottle this comes in is so small, so you also do not get much for your money....which was another turn off for me. I ended up throwing this perfume away. I obviously, will not be purchasing this again. & I honestly don't remember what I was thinking when I bought it in the first place. Oh well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products