Smashbox • Photo Op Under Eye Brightener • Concealers

rated 2.8(207 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sterlingK on 8/28/2014 1:29:00 PM more reviews by sterlingK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

I didn't think I would like this. Got it in a smashbox set and wanted some of the other items this was one I wasn't interested in. This is not a concealer, I use it after I apply foundation but before I apply my concealer. It brightens the eye area, great for days when I clearly did not get enough sleep and I'm rocking the dark dark shadows under my eyes. It reflects the light and makes me look much less tired. I let it set a couple of minutes before I pat some concealer over top and for something I didn't want I sure am glad to have it some days! Wish it was cheaper lol. Would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pinkqt on 7/26/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by Pinkqt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product was a waste of money. What's this even supposed to do? It's so sheer it can't be used under the eyes if you've got dark circles. I tried to use it on my cheek bones and brow bone for a halo glow but when I patted the product into my skin, it totally disappeared. I wonder if I got one that was watered down but I highly doubt it. I think it's just like this. The packaging is cute with the brush and all but I wish it was a squeeze tube instead so I could just mix it with my heavier foundation to lighten it up a bit and get a subtle glow if any. Don't bother getting this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roxygirl234 on 7/7/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by roxygirl234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I pair this with Tarte concealer under my eyes! Love it. Helps brighten and stay out. I really like the dewy effect as it makes my skin look healthier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shae1 on 5/1/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by Shae1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This isnt actually a concealer, therefore it doesnt crease anything, nor will it cover. It adds a bit of brightness, and makes you look bright eyed and bushy tailed. So just a little pick me up after a long night out.

If it is used correctly, then it is swell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heidimarien on 2/26/2013 2:05:00 PM more reviews by heidimarien

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up on a whim while shopping the other day. I have my fair share of highlighters and brighteners but I really loved the texture and consistency of this one. Alone it moisturizes and reflects light away from under the eye; then I popped some concealer over it and BAM! Beautiful coverage with a fantastic lightening property.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cydni on 2/22/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by Cydni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Its watery & very opaque. When used under my eyes it did nothing to actually brighten or improve (my eyes are deeper set w/ slight darkness). I had high hopes since smashbox hardly ever disappoints & I've had great luck with other eye illuminaters in the past but sadly this one is prettier in the tube than on your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Hermanspottypants on 2/17/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by Hermanspottypants

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

meh
party pooper alert

ineffective in brightening my dark bags
save your moola for something else

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 1/20/2013 1:53:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my second tube already so its very obvious that it works great on my medium/dark skintone. This is simply an undereye brightner and is not a concealer. I apply it over my correcter before I set it with powder. Or sometimes when I go without any foundation or bb cream I apply just along my orbital bone and it gives me a more refreshed look. A little goes a long way as it took me an entire year to finish off my first tube. Very happy with the results I receive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 moggy01 on 11/10/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by moggy01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have used Smashbox in the past and have always been impressed by their quality of cosmetics. This under eye brigthener however, did not deliver.
I bought it to diffuse my dark circles, I knew it wouldn't erradicate the problem, I wasn't expecting miracles but I thought that it would atleast brighten under my eyes if used in conjunction with my concealer. It did not.
The product comes in a 7.1ml plastic tube with a screw wand which has a smal brush attached at the end to apply the product. It's a very light sheer creamy illuminator - seems water based but I'm not sure if it is or not.
It has quite a sharp cosmetic scent for a light small product but it wasn't irritating for my eye area.
The colour is a very pale peachy pink with very fine silver glitter particles within the product, the glitter isn't instantly noticeable as the product has more of a sheen rather than sparkle. The product itself is sheer once blended, I wouldn't say it's buildable and one colour suits all.
I also found that after you open the product and have used it after a very short while you get build up around the wand which is dry and sticky, so i have to clean it before use which results in a lot of product waste. I personally didn't like the product and failed to use it for something else i.e as a highlighter for brow bone as it just does not deliver. It is now in the bin ;( I wouldn't recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 laapointe on 9/26/2012 11:32:00 PM more reviews by laapointe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I did NOT like this product at all.. it is soooo watery ! It makes my under eyes shiny and the coverage is nonexistent... When i have dark circles, they're usually very light but this ''concealer'' can't even cover it, imagine what it would do on very dark circles.. I don't recommend this product to anyone and it is very expensive considering the results. Maybe you could use it as an highlighter but i did not try it and considering the watery texture, i'm not sure about the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Concealers products