MAC • Fluidline Eye-Liner Gel in Ostentatious • Eyeliner

rated 4.2(49 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 elizabeth2279 on 4/8/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by elizabeth2279

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

A great neutral brown liner for those of us with fair features who can't quite pull off black eyeliner. As with most fluidlines, it has wonderful staying power and can be smudged while still wet. Others have mentioned the blue/green shimmer, but I don't see it in my product. I wish this wasn't a LE as my pot is starting to dry out a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Willowmere on 12/26/2010 10:11:00 PM more reviews by Willowmere

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is sadly a Limited Edition product. However I love it so much I searched high and low until I finally found a back-up. This is my HG everyday work gel eyeliner. I am NC20, Asian, black hair without highlights, dark brown eyes. For some reason this gel liner colour is so perfect for when I do not want to draw attention to the fact that I am wearing liner, but instead want to accentuate my lashline and brown eyes. I find black gel liner to be too harsh for daytime wear and makes me look older and too made up.

Ostentatious a cool-toned beige brown. There are flecks of blue and green but they really are not visible unless you were to wear this as a cream shadow on your lids (which looks great by the way, but given that this is a limited edition product, I cannot waste it as a shadow). I actually find it to be a misnomer since this colour on the eye is not ostentatious - it is in fact extremely elegant and conservative. LOL

The formulation is excellent. I have been using the same pot almost everyday for the past 2 years and it is still as smooth and creamy as when I first purchased it. The line created stays crisp for the whole day and does not slide around my lid (even without primer). Love this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sass111 on 10/17/2010 6:51:00 AM more reviews by Sass111

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great shade of brown, like others have said a taupey quite light brown. Excellent for us fair ones, I wear this so often when I just need a little definition on the top lid without looking full on made up. It never smudges and last really well like all the fluidlines. Easy and fluid to apply, I find fluidlines abit easier to apply than BB gel liners, though I like both products just as much. I just love this shade, wish it wasn't limited edition. Probably wouldn't work for darker skinned women as I guess it wouldn't show up or could be look dull against a tan....but perfect for my fair skin. I added the photo above with all the eyeliner swatches, ostentatious included.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aperfectegg on 11/8/2009 2:20:00 AM more reviews by aperfectegg

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice neutral taupe brown (a little too neutral for me) that would be good for everyday use on the right eyes. Don't love it -- don't hate it -- just feel sort of neutral about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swampbird on 5/31/2009 7:02:00 PM more reviews by swampbird

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

fluidlines are wonderful, and this is my very favorite color. so sad it was LE. medium taupe brown with subtle blue/green shimmer. gorgeous, foolproof daytime look for green eyes. classic, sexy, easy to use! what's not to like?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pianadark on 3/8/2009 10:23:00 PM more reviews by pianadark

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Got this at CCO. I think this eyeliner is really interesting due to it's blue-green sheen, but the more I wore it, the more I realized I needed a darker brown. This stuff just made my dark brown eyes look tired. I think it would look better on lighter eyes, it has a smokey look to it. I'll stick to blacktrack.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadg2 on 10/26/2008 12:42:00 AM more reviews by ninadg2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have a lot of fluidlines, my basic everyday is Dipdown but Ostentatious certainly gets used a lot and can't be replaced by any of the other colours. It's got a softer look and a unique colour that makes my brown eyes look almost smokey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lapa on 10/23/2008 2:25:00 PM more reviews by lapa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been meaning to write about this product since forever so after using it again today I knew it was time. This is, by far, my favorite everyday gel eyeliner. I have blue/green/hazel eyes & the combo of brown and subtle green shimmer just lights them up. It is so versatile that most of my shadows benefit from using it. I will use Ostentatious forever or until my original + two backups dry up, whichever comes first!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 charmax on 7/7/2008 7:46:00 PM more reviews by charmax

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really do not see any blue/green shimmer my product what-so-ever, not in the pot and definitely not when applied. The colour well described as a grey brown which is dark enough to make your eyes pop and neutral enough for day-time. I wear this to work on my upper lashline with a neutral shadow to my browbone (UD Sin). I apply this with the MAC 208 small angled brush.

A great toned down liner for daytime wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aligirl on 4/30/2008 5:13:00 PM more reviews by Aligirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Slightly tauped chocolate brown with a slight blue-green iridescence to it. My only complaint is that I wish the iridescence was just a bit more noticeable but it's good enough to keep it from being your average brown. Otherwise a great everyday liner that's not as harsh as black can be. Definitely something to check out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products