MAC • Select Cover-Up • Concealers

rated 3.7(824 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 alleksamusic on 12/12/2014 7:23:00 AM more reviews by alleksamusic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this concealer after I run out of my L'oreal one, which was already too light for me as I got suntan now. I love the texture and the way it looks on the delicate skin around my eyes. This product will work for ladies who want to brighten the area under eyes just a bit without a heavy camouflage. Before using mac concealer I put cream or gel around my eyes to moisturise the skin. Would buy again, but probably also will look for something which would have an SPF protection and nourish a delicate skin under my eyes at the same time if this product exists.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Neyaat on 12/8/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Neyaat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer! It's medium coverage and looks very natural, but still covers tho. I have it in NW40 and use for my under-eye. But the color is a little bit to pink for me so i'm changing it to an NC color. A little bit goes a long way! The packaging makes it easy to use the right amount of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 labellavita123 on 11/22/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by labellavita123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first concealer from MAC that was passed on to me bc my mom that I bought it for didn't want to use it. Not as heavy duty as some Korean brands to cover her sun spots. ANYWAY I lost my Pro Longwear concealer from them so I found this again & wow I love it so much more than the PL! I feel like it covers all the redness on & around my nose completely with one go. And it sets perfectly. Like within a minute. Which is perfect bc I am in a hurry in the mornings! PL takes forever to set & it shifts around to look really nasty sometimes! It's a little too dark for me but it's ok bc I go over it with Aveda mineral powder. That's the only area of my face I put liquid makeup on & it has actually helped with my blackheads weirdly. Loooooove Select Moisture!! >> Pro Longwear

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EmmyK on 11/17/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by EmmyK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The first concealer I tried from M.A.C, I purchased NW20 and felt that once outside in natural light I could see the colour but NW15 was far too light. It was a shame as I wanted to like this so much after hearing how great its natural skin finish was, and how it was like applying skin-on-skin it was that natural, the colours just run "off" for me, I find it works best on Asian skins or darker skins for a brow contour.

It has a nice light texture, velvety soft feel and nice to apply on skin, I would recommend to blend the edges with your ring finger to melt the product to a seamless finish as sometimes it can sit or feels quite powdery. It is still hygienic to a point, best for under-eye application or extra coverage on blemish-free skins. Also needs a little shake as the product can separate.

It was not the one for me so I will not be re-purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 10/9/2014 11:40:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I typically wear NC45 at MAC, but I have Select Cover-Up in NC42 because I don't use it to conceal imperfections. I use this as a replacement for brightening around my eyes, lightening under my eyes, & to make my cheekbones look better. It's obviously way too light to clean up after I fill in my eyebrows. The reason I don't use this concealer to, you know, conceal is because my blemishes & oily skin need something thicker & with a fuller coverage. For those of you who use Pro Longwear Concealer, this is noticeably thinner than that—it's borderline watery. I do like the tube & think it's awesome not only because it's sanitary, but because I can control how much product I use. It's all right, but I won't go out of my way to buy a second tube. It costs $19 for a 10 10 ml / 0.33 oz tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 justjennieereviewingg on 10/1/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by justjennieereviewingg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this concealer. I have a lot of dark acne scars and i feel like this always helps cover them up more than any other concealer i have used . the only con i would have to say is it makes me a bit oily if i use it under my foundation but if i use it over it sets perfect for hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KrystineVu on 9/20/2014 9:18:00 AM more reviews by KrystineVu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My first review ever on Makeupalley though Ive been through soooo many skincare and makeup products. I chose this to review first cos I have to say I ADORE THIS CONCEALER! Why?
- It covers my acnes and acne scars perfectly.
- It looks natural like hell.
- It feels soo light on my face, I even feel like wearing no concealer at all!
However, it does have weakness. I tried using this to cover my dark circles, but the product did settle in fine lines. Its not a big deal actually, cos this one is not designed for using under the eyes. STILL 5 LIPPIES!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 buytoomuchmakeup on 9/9/2014 11:33:00 AM more reviews by buytoomuchmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to concealer when my pro longwear concealer doesn't cover enough, this will hide any darkness you have going on under the eyes. When I use this on my own I can get away with wearing it without moisturizing my skin before applying. It looks perfect yet natural, definitely one of my HGs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KBennettxo on 7/22/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by KBennettxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is perfect for under my eyes, I love it. But it doesn't blend right sometimes and it's quite obvious I'm wearing concealer on my spots sometimes when I'm wearing foundation. But it is a good quality concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acciohashi on 7/17/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by acciohashi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
medium to full coverage
easy to blend
very natural matte finish
lots of product
thinner TEXTURE(not coverage), feels light on skin
doesn't exaggerate flaws
suitable for slightly drier to regular to moderately oily skin w/o need to prep
no pore cloggers
packaging doesn't waste product
minimal risk of creasing
doesn't look like makeup
long wearing and wears well
fragrance free
easy to build up
no pore cloggers/thick emollients

Cons:
drier skin and very oily skin will still need prepping
on drier areas, like under eyes, you will need to blend more and moisturize more if you want to build coverage, because it does settle into lines a bit if you want to add more product
It creases if you're prone to it
limited shade range, no shades for fair skin or very deep skin, needs more in between shades
NC35 is a bit too peachy for olive skintones and NC42 is a large shade jump

Neutrals:
price, pretty medium, USD$18.00
no SPF
you may have an unhealthy fear of some ingredients because a beauty blogger(not a biochemist) told you, and that(or any [true] ingredient allergies) is at your discretion
may not like the liquid texture
ingredients will not harm skin, nor will they add any benefit

[UPDATE: 9/29/14]
(My skin has taken a slightly less yellow tone. This concealer applies yellower than it first did and seems to blend to a darker color. It may be that I'm paler but the actual blend on my very tan arms is darker and yellower than it looks. It looks like or color but blends and sets to a darker color.)

I have the shade NC35, I would have liked an NC40 or some color correcting shades so I could mix, but these shades are nonexistent. NC35 is too peachy. I would have made the shade jump to NC42, but the MAC "artist" was arguing with me. If you use the Studio Finish concealer in NC35, this is much lighter and not as yellow. The texture also doesn't have those thick pore-clogging emollients and this is much less cakey. It's not full coverage at first swipe but definitely buildable to full(not just moderate) coverage. Since this shade is slightly peachier, it makes my under eyes look more ashy(I need a yellow neutralizer for my red purple undereyes), but it doesn't enhance redness. If you have severe discoloration, I recommend that you color correct that first (though you should always do that) and that'll help application and you won't need to use as much concealer(as opposed to using a grease paint type product like MAC Studio Fix). It didn't catch on my dry areas and absorbed some oil. My skin looked smoother with it on. The texture is very pleasant to work with and a little goes a long way. If you're deciding between MAC concealers, this is the only one I can recommend to suit most skin types that won't make skin worse. However, it would be nice if MAC had more shades.

By the way, a thicker texture only means more coverage if it were a more dated formula. This thinner texture still gives very good coverage and won't clog pores and makes skin look better, not like you put vaguely skin colored clown makeup. It's easy to build and also to sheer out.

Even when only spot concealing, it looked very skin like. I especially recommend this for raised blemishes.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Concealers products