Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Milk

2.6

102 reviews

30% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Isohexadecane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Triethylhexanoin, Isononyl Isononanoate, Butylene Glycol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Sucrose Cocoate, PEG-100 Stearate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), PEG-5 Soy Sterol, Panthenol, Jojoba Wax PEG-120 Esters, Caffeine, Sucrose, Cholesterol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Linoleic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, PEG-150 Distearate, Carbomer, Potassium Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide 7/9/2013


on 5/25/2015 6:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Lately my skin have been flaring up with acne and along with that have come a lot of scars. Scars that require an artillery of makeup. For that reason I have been considering some sort of makeup remover that I can use before my regular cleanser just to make sure I really get it all off. I was looking for a sulphate-free, non-fragrant and non-irritating cleanser that would not leave an oily film on my skin. This one said “take the day off” and “residue-free formula” plus it was rated as one of the best cleansers at beautypedia so I took a chance, I thought. Well it was actually a risk I am not going to take again. The cleansing milk felt quite thick on my skin, I put it on a dry face and let it sit a minute. Then I splashed my face with water and tried to rub it off my skin for a bit but i could still feel a greasy film sticking on my face and in my pores. I wiped a cotton pad over my face and guess what, it got tinted beige. Perhaps one needs a washcloth along with the cleanser to really get the makeup off throughout. Well the extra rubbing and swiping required only irritated my already redness-prone skin further… Worth to mention is that this thing stung like hell around my eyes. I wouldn’t buy this thing even if it was on sale. It didn’t work for me and I’m just a bit unhappy that I spend that amount of money on a barely to be mediocre cleanser.



on 4/5/2015 4:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It clocks pores and it stinks. It is a heavy and fat cleanser and the smell is terrible. I will never buy this stuff again. It smells like the milk passed the EXP. date years ago.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used both the Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm and Cleansing Oil in the past. I loved both of these products and found that they took my makeup off very well. I saw that they had the Cleansing Milk at Sephora and wanted to give it a try. I have used it for several weeks now and it is safe to say that I cannot stand it. It burns my eyes, hardly removes my makeup, and has a strange smell. I will definitely be going back to the balm or oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2014 8:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I can't find any reasons for buying this mediocre product. The cleansing balm and the eye make-up remover of the same line are both excellent, choose them instead.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2014 5:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is awful-I regret buying it and won't buy it again. It feels harsh on the face and stings my eyes like crazy. It also doesn't remove eye makeup well at all. I've used the TTDO balm and eye/lip makeup remover and they're both fantastic. My favorite make up remover is DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and I will return to that ASAP. Its pump bottle is more hygienic than the TTDO balm's jar, plus it takes up less shelf space. If this were a really great product, I'd be ok with the hefty price tag, but in its current formulation it's hardly worth it. Would not repurchase.


on 6/24/2014 8:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm seriously surprised at the bad reviews for this product. I'm wondering what everyone's method for using it is as mine works pretty well for me. I rub this all over a dry face and let it sit for a few seconds, I then take a muslin wash cloth with warm water and wipe it off. ALL of my makeup is removed and that's saying a lot because I have very severe acne scaring and use a ton of heavy foundation. This also removes all of my mascara. It does look like it leaves a bit of an oily film on the skin but I follow up with my cleanser and all of that is removed leaving my face hydrated and smooth. The bottle is a nice size and it has a pump that locks which can come in handy for traveling and no messes. The price is decent for the size and quality of the product. I'll continue to keep using this product.


on 5/15/2014 8:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I accidentally bought this product instead of the balm. For the first few times I used it I was unimpressed, it didn't really take my make-up off and I had to use another product.

I read a few reviews about leaving it on my skin for a couple minutes. I decided to do this and left it for about a minute while I ran the hot water. It was a total difference! I always use a clean warm wash cloth so it came off quite nice and I didn't feel it left any residue. I really enjoy that it's light weight and comes off easily with a washcloth

Overall, I wouldn't buy it again simply because it just isn't the best I've tried

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2014 12:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is an ordinary makeup remover and it totally doesn't deserve it's price tag. It does remove makeup but you need to swipe it a few times and I find that after 4 times my skin feels quite sensitive and I still have makeup on. I've tried massaging it into the skin and remove it with a cloth but it doesn't melt makeup at all and I find it more effective when used with a cotton pad. Because I don't trust this makeup remover I always wipe with some micellar solution and guess what? After all that (gentle) rubbing there is still makeup on my face.
It promisses not to leave an oily residue but it totally does. Personally I don't mind cause I ALWAYS cleanse my face after removing makeup.

I'm almost done with this product and it will be a happy day when I actually finish it and take it out of my life, once and for all. Needless to say that I won't repurchase this but I'm very curious with Cleansing Balm from the same range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2014 1:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

PROS:

-removes makeup effortlessly (even waterproof!)
-not drying

CONS:

-breaks me out
-stings my eyes like crazy

OVERALL:

Returning it ASAP and never looking back.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2014 10:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I think it is a pretty good product. The key here is to apply it with your hands to dry face and spread it around nicely, LET IT SIT FOR 5 MINUTES, then splash warm water on your face and the oily mess will turn into a milky/watery white stuff that rinses off pretty good. I have combo skin and use about 4 pumps. It sort of remind me of their cleansing balm only it doesn't leave my skin parched dry afterwards.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top